Lancome Hydra Zen

Lancome Hydra Zen
image 1

3.5

139 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Isononyl Isononanoate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Dimethicone, Glyceryl Stereate, Stearic Acid, Stearyl Alcohol, PEG-8 Stearate, Synthetic Wax, Cyclopentasiloxane, Lecithin, Sodium Chloride, Hydroxypalmitoyl Sphinganine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Paeonia Suffruticosa/Paeonia Suffruticosa Root Extract, PEG-100 Stearate, Eugenol, Ethylparaben, Triethanolamine, Crithmum Maritimum/Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Silica, Cellulose Acetate Butyrate, Polyphosphorylcholine Glycol Acrylate, Polycaprolactone, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Poloxamer 188, Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Dimethiconol, Limonene, Linalool, Benzyl Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Propylene Glycol, 2-Oleamido-1,3-Octadecanediol, Capryl Glycol, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Myristyl Alcohol, Moringa Pterygosperma Seed Extract, Ceramide 3, Geraniol, Farnesol, Disodium EDTA, Rosa Gallica/Rosa Gallica Flower Extract, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Octyldodecanol, Citronellol, Dextran Sulfate, Amyl Cinnamal, Parfum/Fragrance


on 5/5/2016 11:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Been using Hydra Zen - for dry skin since it launched more than 10 years ago. It was the only cream that worked for my super dry skin. They have changed their packaging a few times through out the years, but not the cream itself. However, they have changed the ingredients recently - causing tingling sensation, redness and very itchy. Had to wash it off straight away.

The most frustrating thing is the Lancôme counter in London I've been to, do not have the Hydra Zen for dry skin on display for sampling and they insist everything is the same except the packaging. I literally had to argue with them that the cream is pink not white, so it's not the same. And one of the Lancôme lady at John Lewis in Brent Cross argued with me that it's the same, all the ingredients is the same, and when I told her I recently bought two jars at Heathrow airport T3, and the cream is pink, she then said "we just added more rose ingredients to make it more calming, that's why it's pink"!!! Shocking...giving out wrong information to the customers.

I had been to different Lancôme counters in London, Fenwick at Brent Cross, John Lewis at Brent Cross, Boots at Brent Cross, Debenhams at Westfield, Boots at Westfield, Debenhams at Oxford Street, Boots at Oxford Street, Boots at Piccadilly Circus... none of them seems to be aware of the changes, and in fact, giving out wrong information to the customers by saying ingredients is the same. All of them was unable to show me the new cream is white.

I stupidly believe the Lancôme lady at Debenhams at Westfield the two jars I bought at heathrow might be defects and bought two more jars from her. She reassured me that it's white, its the old formulas, and told me once I open my cream, I would not be able to get a refund. And that's the reason why I had to go around in London to all the diff Lancôme counters, apparently none of them received any samples from the head office and they are not allowed to open a jar for display. In the end, I had to open one of the jar I bought at Debenhams, and of course, it's pink!!!

The Lancôme UK website is even showing the wrong picture of the Hydra Zen for dry skin, it is showing a jar of "cream-gel". For dry skin, it should be "rich cream". Made an official complaint to Lancôme and they are willing to refund one of the unused jar I bought at Heathrow, and I managed to get refund for the two jars I bought at Debenhams.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

Nope, not moisturizing enough for dry skin.
There are a lot of cheaper drugstore/ high end products that work better imo.
Will not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


To Read all 139 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 3/10/2016 7:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I just bought this moist. Cream, I so so so love it, My skin is usually soft but this cream makes it even softier. Worth buying!


on 12/27/2015 7:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a really nice basic moisturiser in a pot. But that's kinda it.
Pleasant, subtle scent. Provides good hydration and has a light texture and is not greasy at all. Very good for summer days, though in winter you might want something more thick and nourishing. Didn't irritate my sensitive skin and it genuinely felt like a splash of water on the face.
If you want a non-greasy moisturiser that does the job, this might be for you. Although there's probably just as good ones at a lower price point.
I liked it a lot, but not enough for me to repurchase. Wouldn't frown if I get it as a gift though, it'll get used up, especially during the summer.
Sits very well under make up too!


on 11/3/2015 5:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used the Lancome Hydra Zen anti-stress moisturising cream (with SPF 15) for almost 8 years with pleasure and loyalty. However, since last week I had an allergic reaction to the cream when I bought a new jar. They have changed the packaging over the years, but I assume that the ingredients have not been changed. Currently, my face and neck are itchy, have little red bumps and is very dry. My whole face feels like a sandpaper and I never had this before! My skin is usually smooth, soft and have no blemishes or impurities. I wonder why I suddenly have an allergic reaction because I have not changed anything in my daily care routine. When I studied the ingredients carefully, I have found out that it contains a lot of parfum, alcohol and parabens, which may cause skin irritation. Therefore, this cream is not suitable for a sensitive skin. I went to the pharmacy for advice and they recommended Eucerin (which is fragrance- and paraben-free). I have stopped using Lancome Hydra Zen now and it's a pity because I still have 2 full jars at home (since it is quite expensive). I hope my irritated skin will improve after using Eucerin. Personally I would not buy this product anymore but it's up to you whether you want to try. Every skin reacts differently and in the beginning this was a great product, otherwise I have not used it for a long period of time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I got Hydra Zen Neurocalm moisturizer for Christmas and was very excited about it, because I would not normaly spend this much money on moisturizer. At first it felt good on my skin (not great as I expected and hoped for), then my skin started to feel a bit uncomfortable (even though my skin is not sensitive at all). The perfumation is quite intense, maybe that's why my skin feels a little irritated. I had to stop using it during winter, because my skin is always so dry and this one is not enough. It's quite good during summer - I think my skin got used to it and looks brighter and pores are invisible somehow. Anyway, it's not my favorite product. The price is too high and quality is just OK. I wouldn't buy it again and wouldn't recomend it. There are many more cheaper and better moisturizers.


on 3/26/2015 3:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i think this moisturizer goes on the skin beautifully , it has a thick consistency but it doesnt make your face appear greasy at all and makes your skin feel soft. However this moisturizer made my skin break out and i noticed that when you wear this as a base under makeup , towards the middle of the day you can feel your face getting more greasy and then your make up starts to slip and slide. The only moisturizer that is fantastic to use under your makeup is cetaphil moisturizer it remains my hg moisturizer. I tried lancome moisturizer because i received it as a gift but i would never buy this product.


on 1/19/2015 8:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This review is for the Hydra Zen moisturizer with spf 15.

I gave this cream 3 stars. It is mediocre for me. It applies thickly and is difficult to blend. But on the positive side it has never caused me any "pilling" (when the product rolls into little balls, especially when applying base). And my skin feels soft, has not broken out more than usual, and has not had any dry patches (cold dry air right now). I probably will not repurchase, but will finish the cream on my face. I am on a quest for the perfect face cream, and want to try something new next time.


on 4/13/2014 4:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The best moisturizer I have ever used. In general I'm a massive fan of Lancome, and this has to be the best product I've ever used from them which is saying a lot. Before I never used to religiously use a moisturizer but now I will use nothing else but this. It feels light on the skin, but deeply hydrating. My skin always feels so healthy and plump after application and always looks very dewy and luminous. It's non-greasy and fast absorbing, and a little goes a long way. It's very very soothing, and incredibly gentle - perfect for sensitive skin. It's amazing, cannot recommend enough!


on 2/1/2014 10:18:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is quite thick but not oily or greasy. It did a good job in giving me enough moisture without breaking me out.

Back to Top