AG Hair Cosmetics AG Sterling Silver Toning Shampoo

AG Hair Cosmetics AG Sterling Silver Toning Shampoo

3.7

43 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Ammonium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cocamide Mea, Glycol Distearate, Laureth-10, Lauryl Pyrroudone, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Cinnamidopropyltrimonium Chloride, Dimethicone PEG-8 Meadowfomate, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavander) Extract, Trifolium Pratense (Clover) Extract, Pinus Palustris Leaf Extract, Dianthus Cariophyllus (Carnation) Flower Extract, Panthenol, Silk Amino Acids, Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Keratin, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch, Sodium PCA, Tetrasodium Edta, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Citric Acid, Parfum/Fragrance, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Ext. Violet 2 (CI 60730), Blue 1 (CI 42090), Red 33 (CI 17200).

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 4/16/2018 11:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I’ve purchased this a few times only because it’s the line my salon carries. I don’t love it, and I don’t find it does the best job, especially for the price tag, although I’ve used worse. Have since been using Fanola and likely won’t go back to this. There are better products at this price point.



on 3/15/2018 9:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

First, the few positives: I like the shade of purple as it runs more violettey than some others.
The scent is quite nice.
But that's about it, to be frank. This shampoo is much too harsh for my hair, as in it overdries it like woah. When I'm rinsing it out, I get all these small knots and snarls mid-shaft and ends, which are only remedied if 1) I have time to kill (which is hardly ever), 2) I load on 3x more conditioner than I normally would and 3) stand under the stream of shower slowly coaxing each tiny tangled knot out, heaping on more condish in the process. Ridiculous. And it's not because my hair is damaged or anything - i get regular trims and don't use bleach or anything in my hair. This may not happen for someone with super thick, coarse, stick straight hair, but since I my fine, thin but VERY dense (lots of strands) hair which is both straight and wavey, this is a nightmare.
I also hate that this isn't surface free, which will strip out color and toner in a very short time. Thus, it would appear to increase brassiness once the purple 'poo is rinsed out - if that makes sense.
You can absolutely do better than this glorified overpriced shimmer lights.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/18/2016 6:53:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Very drying, strips out toner. Would probably work better on non colored. Non bleached hair


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I recently changed my platinum blonde hair to silver and ran out of my all-time favorite toning shampoo from Paul Mitchell. Whenever I went to the salon to purchase another bottle, I saw this product right next to it and it was on sale, so I decided to try it. The fact that it was called "sterling silver" toning shampoo and that it had an amazing coconut smell totally sold me.

However, the results were sub-par. I immediately noticed after using this for the first time that my hair color faded quite drastically; I was no longer a beautiful and shiny sterling silver, but a faded pale murky silverish blonde.

I looked online afterwards and found that this shampoo *does* contain sulfates, which is most likely the culprit for fading my hair. (I've never had an issue with any other toning shampoos doing this to me.)

It also made my hair feel straw-like, which is no bueno.

I will be returning this.


2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have repurchased this shampoo 4 times now and will continue to do so forever! I typically have tape in hair extensions and this purple shampoo is strong enough to tone both my natural hair and extensions without being harsh enough to eat through the tape and cause my extensions to slip. I have had extensions slip from using other, more harsh purple shampoos such as the schwartzkopf one. This AG purple shampoo tones really effectively yet doesn't leave my hair dry. It is gentle enough to use for every shower I take because my hair is such a light blonde shade. It does not weigh down my naturally super thin and damaged hair, nor does it cause any additional damage or dryness. Love this shampoo and I will forever repurchase it!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 1/8/2016 7:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

TERRIBLE!! one shower with this shampoo and all my highlights were gone, my hair went from light blonde with highlights to a very flat dark mousey blonde. I returned this shampoo immediately! Shimmerlights makes my hair bright and shiney, this "Sterling Silver" did the exact opposite.


on 12/16/2015 2:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I dyed my hair ash blonde, it started turning orange so I looked online for a toning shampoo.
Even the girl who worked at the beauty surplus store recommended this shampoo. I tried it ( I was really stubborn to make my hair really REALLY ash) so I used it twice or even three times in a week. I screwed up my hair, it didn't get rid of the orange at all, instead it made half my hair FRIZZY and looked liked crunchy gummy noodles! I was so pissed that it didn't even get rid of the orange or yellow for me! It sucked!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 11/15/2015 11:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't think this product is worth it honestly. Not that it's terrible but it works alright but I don't think I'd purchase again. It leaves my hair dry but it might be different for you. (:


on 7/16/2015 2:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This was given to me as a gift, but I would not purchase it with my own money. It tones alright, but not much better than shimmer lights, which is a lot more affordable. For the price I want some serious purple. Anyway, my major gripe is the sulfates. Purple shampoo is for blondes. Blondes have bleached hell out of their hair. Why would you make a purple shampoo that is so damaging?? After going platinum your hair needs major TLC, but this dries out and frays my hair very badly. I just don't understand the thought process behind the formula. On the bright side, this shampoo smells super awesome.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 1/14/2015 2:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My original hair colour is dark brown and I have dyed it blonde for the past year.
This shampoo definitely tones your hair and eliminates the brassiness, and makes the hair colour SO much brighter!
I noticed a significant difference on the first wash.
It is also a very vibrant violet colour and smells so good! So far I have experienced no staining whatsoever.

However, cons are that it does dry out your hair A LOT, does not lather well at all so I have to use more shampoo than I usually use in one use.

Perhaps I need to buy the conditioner that comes with it, but overall the product is really does make a difference in my blonde hair and makes it so much brighter and eliminates the orange tones I dislike.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
Shampoo
451 Reviews
New Wash
New Wash
11 Reviews
All Soft Shampoo
All Soft Shampoo
756 Reviews

Popular Shampoos

Shampoo
Shampoo
451 Reviews
New Wash
New Wash
11 Reviews
All Soft Shampoo
All Soft Shampoo
756 Reviews
Back to Top