L'Oreal Elvive Smooth Intense

L'Oreal Elvive Smooth Intense

4.2

13 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 3/23/2018 2:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Holy grail status. Do NOT let the low price fool you, because these are the most amazing smoothing, frizz-reducing products I've ever used. For background, I am in my early 40s with extremely coarse, thick, naturally wavy hair that is color-treated & tends to be dry & prone to frizz. I also prefer to wear it straight & sleek, so it gets a lot of heat styling. I ask a lot out of my hair products: smoothing, color retention, hydration. After reading katidid0's review on the Elvive shampoo, I purchased the Elvive Smooth Intense shampoo & conditioner (pink bottles) at Target for $3.99 each in February 2018. I live in Texas, and we've had a pretty fair amount of humidity lately. I use this shampoo & conditioner followed by my regular styling products (I do not use the Elvive serum, just usually a similar smoothing blowout cream and a spray-on heat protectant). I am honestly shocked at how well these products work. My hair gets as sleek & silky smooth as it has ever been, even with much pricier products & sulfate-free shampoos, and even from professional salon blowouts. I wash usually twice weekly, and I can easily go 3-4 days with my hair still straight & smooth. Normally if I wash/dry/straighten on humid days, my hair still comes out with a little bit of wave & frizz, but not so with these products. I often have had to re-straighten 2nd or 3rd day hair & bangs if we've had a humid evening, but since I switched to these products, I think I've had to do that maybe once. Now, the humidity seems to have zero effect on my hair. Last weekend I was outside during a light misting rain with no umbrella, so the top layer of my hair got pretty damp, which normally would cause it to frizz and get wavy. Nada. It stayed completely smooth and straight. The shampoo is clear, which normally means drying, but it isn't drying at all (the shampoo actually feels slightly oily, but in a good way). It is not sulfate free, but it also does not strip my color. The conditioner is thick & creamy, rinses easily. Both have a nice, light, almost citrusy-fresh scent. I do think if your hair tends to be on the oily side or very fine, these may be too heavy for you. For me, they are holy grail. I don't know what's in these products that makes them so special, I don't see anything spectacular in the ingredients list, but I'm sold. I cannot over-emphasize how much these have transformed my hair. If your hair type is similar to mine and you crave the silky smooth look, give these a try.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.



on 12/2/2013 7:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This the first review i have ever written on this site, but had to after trying this product. I have been using this conditioner for a few days now, and am already seeing improvements in my hair. My hair has a lot of frizz on the top layer, but remains silky and soft on the bottom layer. I never use heat, but somehow in the last year it has developed this strange characteristic. Anyway, this shampoo tamed the top layer, and made it so smooth. The conditioner does NOT weight your hair down, which is also a plus. I am left with frizz free, shiny hair until the third day when it gets oily again. The bottles are very professional looking, and the smell of the product is nothing special, but isn't unpleasant (like the last shampoo and conditioner I had - schwarzkopf ultimate oil shampoo - don't try this). The price of this conditioner is also cheap, as I managed to get mine for $2.99 at Priceline. Overall, I am very happy with this product so far..... All good things come to an end though. I'm hoping this doesn't apply to this amazing product.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 8/25/2012 1:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very thick curly hair, I love the brand Loreal but i dont like this prodcut because the condishner is not thick, and i have to put alot in my hair to that my hair would not be tangled.


on 7/29/2012 5:21:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

even though i don't have particularly frizzy hair, lately, my hair has been feeling really fine and dull - this conditioner makes my hair, smooth, silky and shiny and i absolutely love it!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Other

After using this, my hair smells great, is soft and defrizzed! Just one problem: my hair is wavy/curly and I find that after using this with the shampoo my hair goes quite limp especially on one side of my head. So my hair looks kinda weird, one said straight, one side curly. Reading the reviews I'd say it could be the shampoo.


on 6/14/2011 2:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Highly recommend for wavy frizzy hair. Sometimes when its rainy I dont bother ironing. Leaves my hair silky and wavy, less frizzy. Does what it says on the bottle.


on 12/7/2010 7:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

First of all: given that no conditioner can perfectly get rid of frizzies, this is one of the best and cheapest conditioner that can help to fight frizzies and makes ironing not necessary. The finish will not be the same and it will be not humidity proof like when ironing, but if you want to give to your hair a rest or on those days when you donít need the perfect superstar mane, this is one of the best solution. Better than many expensive ones I have tried. I have checked the formulation and I have found out that it is similar to many masks/conditioners of Kerastase and líOreal Professional.
UPDATE: They have changed the formula in Summer 2012 and it is not longer that nourishing but still one of the best out there.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

if ever i run out of my salon conditioner, i always run out to get this. it's cheap, is not to heavy, leaves my hair shiny. the only problem is i can't tell the difference between any of the l'oreal conditioners as they all seem to do the same thing! this one is okay, not their best!


on 5/22/2009 5:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i love this conditioner. it conditions my hair very well.In South East Asia, the official name of this product is L'oreal Elseve (Elvive). this made my straight hair smooth & non frizzy. definitely doesn't leave any residue on my scalp. i love the scent too & its reasonable price. i use it with the shampoo & the hair mask as well.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This worked so well on my hair! I have tried a ton of conditioners but none of them have helped my hair this much, since i started using it (about 3 weeks ago now) my hair has been so much softer and more manageable and its not expensive which is great!

I'm definitely going to buy this again!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Back to Top