L'Oreal Elvive Smooth Intense

L'Oreal Elvive Smooth Intense
Elvive Smooth Intense

4.3

24 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

What about the Anti-Frizz version (see picture)?L'Oreal Paris Elvive Smooth -- "Intense Smoothing" Shampoo 1101514 PT5 INGREDIENTS: AQUA/WATER/EAU, SODIUM LAURETH SULFATE, COCO-BETAINE, LAURETH-5 CARBOXYLIC ACID, SODIUM CHLORIDE, AMODIMETHICONE, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE, COCAMIDE MIPA, PPG-5-CETETH-20, SODIUM BENZOATE, POLYQUATERNIUM-10, PEG-55 PROPYLENE GLYCOL OLEATE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SALICYLIC ACID, PEG-60 HYDROGENATED CASTOR OIL, LINALOOL, HEXYL CINNAMAL, ARGININE, GLUTAMIC ACID, BENZYL SALICYLATE, BENZYL ALCOHOL, LIMONENE, SERINE, HYDROXYPROPYLTRIMONIUM HYDROLYZED WHEAT PROTEIN, AMYL CINNAMAL, CITRONELLOL, ARGANIA SPINOSA OIL/ARGANIA SPINOSA KERNEL OIL, ALPHA-ISOMETHYL IONONE, METHYL COCOATE, SODIUM COCOATE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, CI 19140/YELLOW 5, CI 14700/ RED 4, CITRIC ACID. F.I.L. D54884/2

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 5/2/2018 5:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Holly Grail Status! This is a review for the L'Oreal Elvive "Smooth Intense SMOOTHING" ( not the "smooth" version) shampoo in the clear pink bottles with the clear shampoo. This shampoo is beyond amazing, leaves my hair frizz free, soft, conditioned but clean, no squeaky clean dry roots or dirty roots like when I use non sulfate, no cocamidopropyl betaine that makes my hair fall off in rolls, no haircolor change, no itchy scalp, smells delicious, I am amazed because I have so many problems with frizz, dry hair, itchy scalp etc etc etc plus I live in high desert and hard water that makes hair look horrible, I usually go for pearly/creamy shampoos because those don't strip my color but this shampoo didn't change my color at all or dried my hair out, next time that I go to the supermarket I will stock up on this absolute gem, I am buying as many bottles as I can.

Edit: Tried to find it at Walmart and they don't have the exact one that I am looking for, I can only find it at Kroger/King Soopers.

Edit: Unfortunately this shampoo took a bad turn, my hair started to get really dry (wheat protein) with really gunky roots, my hair started to fall out like crazy, it will fall off even if I touched my hair, my hair bands were wrapped in hair and combing after the shower was a nightmare, rolls of hair.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.



Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was so happy with the old version of this shampoo, in the black bottle... the shampoo and conditioner were so nice and my hair actually was looking pretty good.... and now this! They changed the formula, and the fragrance of the newer version of ‘Smooth Intense’ is disgusting to me. It’s so strong. The shampoo seems to leave my hair more damaged and dry looking, even when using the conditioner. (The conditioner is strong smelling, too).
I wish I had stocked up on the old version, I can’t find any of it.


on 3/23/2018 2:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Holy grail status. Do NOT let the low price fool you, because these are the most amazing smoothing, frizz-reducing products I've ever used. For background, I am in my early 40s with extremely coarse, thick, naturally wavy hair that is color-treated & tends to be dry & prone to frizz. I also prefer to wear it straight & sleek, so it gets a lot of heat styling. I ask a lot out of my hair products: smoothing, color retention, hydration. After reading katidid0's review below, I purchased the Elvive Smooth Intense shampoo & conditioner (pink bottles) at Target for $3.99 each in February 2018. I live in Texas, and we've had a pretty fair amount of humidity lately. I use this shampoo & conditioner followed by my regular styling products (I do not use the Elvive serum, just usually a similar smoothing blowout cream and a spray-on heat protectant). I am honestly shocked at how well these products work. My hair gets as sleek & silky smooth as it has ever been, even with much pricier products & sulfate-free shampoos, and even from professional salon blowouts. I wash usually twice weekly, and I can easily go 3-4 days with my hair still straight & smooth. Normally if I wash/dry/straighten on humid days, my hair still comes out with a little bit of wave & frizz, but not so with these products. I often have had to re-straighten 2nd or 3rd day hair & bangs if we've had a humid evening, but since I switched to these products, I think I've had to do that maybe once. Now, the humidity seems to have zero effect on my hair. Last weekend I was outside during a light misting rain with no umbrella, so the top layer of my hair got pretty damp, which normally would cause it to frizz and get wavy. Nada. It stayed completely smooth and straight. The shampoo is clear, which normally means drying, but it isn't drying at all (the shampoo actually feels slightly oily, but in a good way). It is not sulfate free, but it also does not strip my color. The conditioner is thick & creamy, rinses easily. Both have a nice, light, almost citrusy-fresh scent. I do think if your hair tends to be on the oily side or very fine, these may be too heavy for you. For me, they are holy grail. I don't know what's in these products that makes them so special, I don't see anything spectacular in the ingredients list, but I'm sold. I cannot over-emphasize how much these have transformed my hair. If your hair type is similar to mine and you crave the silky smooth look, give these a try.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 1/22/2018 1:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was on a budget and still so the price and also the reviews were tempting. Don’t get me wrong because this is not the case with all L’oreal shampoos but this one didn’t work for my hair it ended up looking greasy and felt heavy.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 1/19/2018 10:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

(I am reviewing the current product that is in a pink container, but pretty sure it's the same thing)

AT LAST. I first bought this product a few years ago when I was in France. My hair had become dry and frizzy; I tried several different shampoos with no luck until I found this and its matching conditioner.
After one use my hair looked significantly better; after several uses my hair was transformed. For reference, I have long, fairly thick wavy-curly hair. I use a decent amount of the shampoo (sometimes adding in a clarifying shampoo) and a lot of the conditioner (like a palm’s worth) and comb through my hair in the shower then clip it up and leave it on for about 5 minutes. I cannot overstate how much this transformed my hair.

THEN alas! I moved back to the US and I could not find it. I bought the L’Oréal shampoo in the corresponding amber colored bottle but it wasn’t the same. I tried a variety of shampoos from Suave to Fekkai and none did what this shampoo did.
But last week I discovered that it IS in the US!!! It’s a pink bottle and it’s marketed with “kera-oleo” not Argan oil but it has Argan oil in it and is either the same product or very similar because my hair loves it! After only two uses my hair is already almost back to being smooth, shiny, and frizz-free. I’ve also discovered that using a bit of Deva Curl Heaven in Hair as a leave in with it works great. As does Bed Head Ego Boost.

I am so, so happy to have found this product again and wholeheartedly recommend it. My hair has gone from frizzy and dry to smooth and shiny. I’m able to go two or three days without washing and if there ever is a bit of build-up I’ll use Neutrogena clarifying shampoo or some apple cider vinegar. But seriously, even my scalp is more moisturized. I don’t know why this shampoo is so amazing and so cheap but man do I love it. <3

4 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 6/17/2015 5:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of my favourite shampoos. It left my very tough hair nice and silky after use.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 6/1/2015 8:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely loved this product. My hair condition was dry and frizzy and this product made a difference straight away. A week after using this shampoo and conditioner I stopped straightening and blow drying my hair. My hair was in much better condition and my mother in law, who takes daily medication which makes her hair a frizz ball, even started loving this product. Definitely give it 5 stars but because I like to experiment with products I'll definitely see myself buying this again one day

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 9/7/2014 7:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this shampoo a couple of years ago and couldn't remember if I liked it or not. When my shampoo (herbal essences hello hydration) ran out, I was excited to try something new as it was not working for me.
I wanted to try this product again from reading all these amazing reviews. It took maybe 2 weeks for my hair to get used to the product. But my god! My hair has never been so healthy and soft.
I straighten my hair quite frequently, and no frizz, split-ends, dryness. It still feels like I just got my hair cut!

This product is amazing and i definitely recommend it

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this shampoo! It's amazing and has saved my hair so much, what a wonderful price too!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Omg!! This bottle of shampoo saved my hair from the very hard water of London and Paris. I'm from Canada where our water is super soft, and soap and shampoo bubbles easily and rinses off well leaving your hair soft and silky. Well during my vacation in London, I noticed that every time I showered my hair would feel straw like after. It was stiff, sticky and breaking easily. It wasn't silky smooth anymore. Then I found out London has hard water and the high amounts of magnesium and calcium in their water turns hair into straw, dry and brittle. Now I'm in Paris and their water is also hard... *sigh* but after tons of researching online, I found out argan oil is good for hair that's exposed to hard water. I then went to Carrefour (French grocery store) here in Paris and bought a bottle of this product ( it's called l'oreal elseve Liss- intense, huile d'argan) and voila!!! After one use my hair is 80% back to normal. I did notice though that after washing/ shampooing my hair 2x it felt slippery and had to rinse it really well. But omg!!! This stuff is a lifesaver!! If you're in Europe and the city you're in has hard water that's turning your locks into a sticky, straw like mess buy this stuff. It really works!!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top