3.7

Created with Sketch.
84 reviews
63%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

This is my holy grail primer. I have dry and sensitive skin and this works wonders before applying my EL Double Wear foundation. In one of the previous reviews I read about it emphasizing dry patches, but I think, if you have dry patches, you need to change skincare routine.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Olive

HairBrown

EyesGreen



2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a moisturizer, a very good one...but not a primer. This is a marketing scam to fool us in believing this "moisturizer" is going to help prime our makeup. It doesn't do anything in providing primer benefits. It doesn't blur imperfections, it doesn't fill in pores, it doesn't extend the wear of foundation and it doesn't provide a better foundation finish. I will say that this feels wonderful on the skin, especially on my very oily skin. It's hydrating and refreshing but not heavy. I like that it doesn't break me out as well.

About reviewer (342 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I don't hate this, but for the price I don't love it either. Does not provide enough hydration for my skin after a couple off hours dry patches come true. It also stings sometimes, but I have eczema sensitive skin. Would not repurchase, I prefer the Smashbox Hydration primer over this one.

About reviewer (350 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Really nice and hydrating!!! Obsessed!!

About reviewer (32 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I'm slightly confused by this. It does make my flaky skin much smoother, however it really depends how well I moisturise beforehand, this primer also makes me crazy shiny and I've never had to deal with that in my life, my skin looks like an oil slick but still flakes up on my t-zone?! Crazy! I swear this has also blocked some of my pores around my nose. However, it does help my foundation glide on, and stay slightly longer. I feel like the packaging isn't good as you have to proper shake this to mix the product and the product divides up if left for a while, however the tube will last for ages so I'm slightly worried it will be a waste of money if I haven't used it all and it divides up. Overall, not entirely sold on this. Will keep using until I find a better hydrating primer.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I am confused. This primer tames my snake like skin. It really does help my makeup last longer (v much longer in fact). But I have this BURNING sensation on my face for a minute or two immediately after apply this. I really like it though... I guess beauty is pain huh :(

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I didn't like this primer, I don't feel it provided a smooth canvas for make up or hydrated my skin.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

This is by far the most lightweight primer I have tried, it's almost like a day lotion in it's consistency. It's not at all heavy or sticky and feels like nothing on the skin. I like that Laura Mercier offers a variety of primers including this one which is hydrating. There are just a handful of primers that I have found suitable for dry skin. Laura Mercier's primers also off considerably more product than other brands making this an excellent value. My makeup not only wears better with this, but goes on smoother as well. I didn't detect a fragrance in this, another plus as I have sensitive skin.

About reviewer (574 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My father went to our tiny Dillards to the Chanel counter to buy 3 bottles of perfume so I told him "make sure to ask for samples!!" & the ladies at (both) Chanel's in this town lurve him so he ended up w this little gem! See it pays to build a rapport w ur local makeup counter SA's & at the little Dillards we go to, the SA's "man" multiple counters hence I think that is how I ended up w this 30ml generous sample! I have oily skin so I wasn't using much for primer (I want to re buy Benefit Porefessional but my $$$ is low), so I've been using this w a very good quality fdtn (Sephora Perfect Mist which is my HG!) & my new LM loose setting powder I did splurge on both of those this month coz MAC fdtn's aren't too gr8 for my extreme oily skin. This primer isn't for my skin type I can't fault that but it's a good primer if you are normal-to-dry. I prefer my silicone-based primers tbh & I will need to use this up b4 hot/humid summer weather (this frugal gal would hate to waste such an $$$ sample!). I'd been using primers such as ELF (basic. Good. Kind of expensive coz of deceptive packaging its price per oz isn't very good! But it does work), Clinique SuperPrimer (too expensive, geared towards normal skin but okay IMO), Loreal LUMI (this is good but I prefer a more matte finish, I'd compare this more to MAC Strobe Cream almost, it's too dewy & shine + dewy isn't pretty), MAC Oil Control Lotion (using this now as a moisturizer rather than a primer which it serves me much better althou it's $$$ coz it's HE), which are all in my collection currently & I did have porefessional a long time ago loved it but was turned off by its price pointe but obvs I gotta invest! Primers aren't cheap!! I may use this as a moisturizer to use it all up coz I'm so oily but I'm totally open to trying LM primer for my appropriate skin type. I would hit "maybe" for rebuy becoz I wouldn't buy hydrating but I'm not very familiar w LM so she must have an oily skin primer? I think the most important things to spend $$$ on for makeup (if you can) is a good primer, good foundation & good setting powder (for your appropriate skin type) I mean there are other important things but if I have to choose those are 3 top things I think I've tried to scrimp on & cannot becoz I have very extremely oily skin; & shiny greasy isn't cute neither is oxidized fdtn or fdtn's that don't cater to offering many skin tones as orange fdtn may be cute on Snooki & some folks do get lucky w inexpensive fdtn shades but the majority of people need a brand that offers many shade selections. Thankfully powder is more forgiving on its shade offerings. Anyways I highly rec'd this primer if you have dry-to-normal skin. It won't do that much for us oily skin types but it def won't dehydrate or over dry your skin. I believe it's oil free. It does not break me out but I do not find it all that helpful only coz I'm oily but I'm still not going to lower its rating by giving it a low number of lippies.

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this. I have really dry skin and I need to wear something light weight in the day. It's perfection!!!!!

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther