3.8

Created with Sketch.
150 reviews
74%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I am surprise that I like this shampoo more than the rest of the series, ie. Moroccan Me Shine, Honey, I'm Strong, Long Term Relationship, None of Your Frizzness and Hello Hydration. Moroccan Me Shine, Long Term Relationship (I prefer the old formula, which is so moisturizing and rich enough to tame my hair) and Hello Hydration are working quite good but sometimes they are too heavy and maybe too rich in protein and my hair ends up very messy and frizzy. This clarifying shampoo works very well as a clarifying shampoo. It really cleans my hair and clear all build up as I am using at least 3 types of hair oils on my hair everyday. Sounds crazy, but my hair is awfully dry and difficult to handle. This shampoo contains (1) tea tree oil which is good for calming scalp and prevent inflammation and (2) cucumber water. So far, there is no breakout on my scalp nor does my scalp feels itchy by using this shampoo. This shampoo does change my thinking that any clarifying shampoo sure will dry out my hair as it strips all the natural oil from it to make it squeaky clean. But this does not make my hair feels worse, but my hair feels cleaner and like back-to-zero and 'undo' my hair like my hair is naked, without any product on it.Instead of causing my hair over-dries and tangles, I can actually comb my hair with my fingers without extra effort and my hair is so smooth and soft. I am so surprise by it. I only need a bit of the shampoo to wash my hair and the result is so satisfying. After air-drying and straighten my hair, it feels so soft and gives it an extra shine and sleek effect to make my hair looks healthy and revives again. I always use a moisturizing shampoo and conditioner after cleansing my hair with this clarifying shampoo. The shampoo smells like green tea, with a hint of tea tree which is very light and fresh and nothing fruity or fancy. So you can expect the scent will not linger on your hair for the rest of the day. I notice that cucumber water is another eye-catching ingredient used by Herbal Essences in their Bio-Renew shampoo/conditioner series, but with a different purpose, as it pairs with green tea for moisturizing purposes. I am always a loyal fans for Herbal Essences hair products. They always smell wonderful with affordable prices, so what is the reason of not buying them? I have already repurchased my second bottle!!!

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

YUCK! I tried several of HE newer line of shampoos in the bright bottles and hated every one. It made my hair dull, greasy feeling, heavy, and made my hair feel dirtier than it did before I washed. I'm so glad they brought back the old formula. The old school stuff is the BEST!

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

My favorite functional shampoo. Very good for day-to-day washing with a hydrating conditioner. I live in a tropical area and my scalp usually gets very oily easily. Washing with this does keeps it smelling and feeling very fresh, like out-of-the-shower fresh. This rating might change once I find something better though. I don't have anything to compare this with yet.

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I'm a swim teacher so I'm in chlorine an awful lot. I also have very long hair and the tips of it are always in the water. I decided to use this shampoo when I heard a colleague talk about how expensive an anti-chlorinating shampoo is, and I thought that this would be a cheaper alternative. It. Does. The. Job! My hair no longer feels lumpy or glumpy like it used to after several washes. I do find that it is drying, which is why I pair this shampoo with the Herbal Essences Hello Hydration conditioner to restore some of the smoothness and shine

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

All I have to say is... I LOVE THIS SHAMPOO!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Tan, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

Excellent clarifying shampoo ! I only wash my hair once a week, so I can use this every time I wash my hair. However, if you wash your hair every day/every other day, do not use this every time you wash your hair. I typically use high end products in my hair, and this beats any higher end clarifying shampoo I have ever tried ! It made my hair feel wonderfully clean and smelling great in the shower, and the results after it dried are just as wonderful. I'm not sure why but my hair had started to feel like it had some serious build up, and was getting overly tangled and just lackluster looking. I could literally feel the buildup in my hair, even right after I'd washed and dried it ! I suddenly remembered using this product years ago, and how it made my hair feel light and fluffy and wonderfully clean without stripping it. It's the exact same as I remember it years ago ! Also it's dirt cheap, I paid $3.00 for mine from target. I use this shampoo followed by a more moisturizing shampoo and a deep conditioner and the results are fantastic :)

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I am such a big fan of this! I used to be in beauty pageants and I put a lot of junk in my hair. Later, when just using my regular shampoo and conditioner, I saw that my hair looked like it was getting what looked like dandruff. I learned that it was buildup from all the hair products I use. I use this about once a week and it really cleans my hair very well without over stripping the hair. I use a super heavy conditioner with it and I'm super happy that my hair no longer looks like I have dandruff lol

About reviewer (18 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Unlike other clarifying shampoos, this doesn't completely strip the hair nor does it leave it with any coating - it simply removes buildup very gently and leaves the hair soft. I don't mind paying a premium for something that works really well, but this shampoo is incredibly cheap. I wouldn't recommend using it within a week of colouring, just in case, but I think I have found my HG weekly clarifier (I wash my hair nearly every day).

About reviewer (480 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Great Shampoo. Smells nice, cleans and lathers well. Left no residue and didn't weigh down my fine, straight hair.

About reviewer (492 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I am so upset. I really wanted to like this product, but honestly I will never buy it again. It smells amazing and definitely made my hair feel clean, but unfortunately it caused my hair to break off terribly on the bottom. After using it about a month, my hair suddenly looked shorter, and by the time I realized this shampoo was the reason why my hair was breaking off on the bottom, it was too late. I used to always get compliments on my long hair, but not anymore since this shampoo made my hair break so badly and become so damage and dry that it became about 3.5 inches shorter! My hair is so damaged now that I am going to have to get a shorter haircut because that is the only way it can be repaired. I am incredibly upset and disappointed in this product.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us