3.8

Created with Sketch.
76 reviews
71%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

What I don't like about this is that it bleeds once it's been on your lips for a long time. I ended up giving it away.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This lipstick came in a little set with others. I finally got to use it for a 1920s/ Great Gatsby theme party. I wanted to use a dark lipstick and this worked like a charm. It's a lovely shade of burgundy. I had no issues when I applied it, it went on even and smooth. It seems to have some kind of shimmer, almost metallic, but it does not contain any glitter (at least from what I could tell). It's a gorgeous color, I would pair this with a smokey eye look.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

i love the colour and especially the cute packaging, but the taste was just reaaaaal awful, it taste was some kind of awful chemical. it was a real shock cause the smell wasnt that bad, it smells like cherry gum? but the smells just arghhhh

About reviewer (8 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOther, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I recently bought six of Urban decays lipsticks online since they are having a sale. I wanted to buy one for quite a while but didnt because they were so expensive full price. Im not sure if i have a bad sense of smell but i really dont smell any thing too strong when i wear this lipstick. The color is beautiful on my skin (im pretty fair) and its very creamy. It goes on nicely. the only thing is that it doesnt have very much staying power. it fades fairly quickly within an hour. Since it was on sale i decided to stock up thought because i love the color and consistency. Im also not too fond of the packaging. iTs cute and cool looking but its super bulky.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

The best way to describe this shade is literally, blood red. It's a bit too gory for me, I was looking for something with more depth (something like NARS Christina). I also didn't like the packaging, with the sword sticking out. And the flavor/smell were nothing pleasant. From this experience I've decided not to buy lipsticks from Urban Decay. It went back and I haven't missed it for a second.

About reviewer (76 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

This is my favorite red lipstick ever. I find that if I put one coat on when I'm getting ready then a second coat on in the car it gives a bit more darkness and depth. There is a definite staining effect so if I'm out for a long time and not able to re-apply I will still at least have some color, but I love re-applying it...I think mostly due to the fact that I am addicted to the scent of it. I think you would either love it or hate it because it's very distinctive but I definitely like it. The packaging I'm kind of ambivalent about. In a way I wish it were more compact but then it is very well made and sturdy and kind of cool looking. People definitely look when you're applying it though. I wish I could find a pink that kind of went on in the same way.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I wanted to love this lipstick, I really did. When I swatched it in the store it looked like a good, vibrant pinky red - not a true red as they claim, but a good colour for me nonetheless. I wasn't sure about the packaging - it seemed a bit over the top and quite tacky, but the little sword did make me smile. What ultimately made me buy it was the scent - I know a lot of reviewers before me have hated the smell but to me it has a parma violet scent - absolutely yum. So I buy it, and get it home, and this is where reality kicks in. Where to start? The colour I'm sure it would look lovely on some people but it's definitely not red, and on me it's a violent, shocking, acidic cranberry. It absolutely screams blue murder on my face. Don't get me wrong, I am not afraid of strong vibrant lip colour - I adore berries, true blue-reds and plums, but this stuff went on like clown makeup, quite different from the swatch. How can that be possible? I claim responsibility - should have tried it on my lips in the store, but I'm squeamish about tester lippies. I can just about get away with using it as a stain, which I occasionally do, and it does have a pleasant creamy texture if nothing else. Anyway... The Packaging As I say, I wasn't so sure about this. As others have already said it is bulky, somewhat tacky and the sword, which I had liked, just becomes an annoying pointy thing once in your pocket or bag. And here's the thing. If the sword breaks off, you can't get at your lipstick AT ALL. This happened to me quite quickly, and the only way to fix things was to glue it back on with super strength epoxy resin glue. I have little faith that this fix will last so I may melt some of this lippy into a pan and use as a lipstain before the packaging becomes totally unuseable. The smell/taste I have to admit I still adore the smell and will periodically take this lipstick out just to sniff it. Why it smells so different to me than to anyone else I have no idea, I just have to count myself lucky. I can agree with everyone else on the taste though. It is truly vile. I really really cannot believe that UD still persist in making lipsticks that taste like rat poison, it must be such a deal breaker for so many customers. I could have forgiven the lousy packaging, I could have forgiven the unsuitable colour (my fault, after all), but that taste? Forget it! I can't buy another UD lipstick until the formulation changes. I haven't the heart to award this only one lippy, but I'm not entirely sure it deserves two.

About reviewer (88 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I wanted to buy this, I would have bought this on account of the beautiful deeep shimmering scarlett, ruby jewel like shade. And how can you resist UD's great packaging with the dagger at the end of the case, the beautiful lucent cover and shiny lavender case? It's so cute. After testing this out with three applications on my lips the color of GASH was lovely so deeply vibrant, and glam. The problem was the TASTE.The taste was a terrible chemical taste. AWFUL, nothing like Creme Caramel or Creme Brulee, it was complete gross chemical taste. My other two did not taste like this. This would be a great product if it were not for the taste, I tasted my lips while wearing this and the deal was OFF.It was bad.

About reviewer (250 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I love this red: it's a deep berry/blood blue tinted red. I'm very pale and this colour tends to work for me int he winter in a vampy kind of way. In the summer when I get a little colour it brings a little more warmth to my face. Blue-toned reds are good if you don't have perfectly white teeth and I admit as a coffee and tea lover I have issues with this. Gash is one red lip colour I can wear that doesn't make my smile look awful. I would say while I love it it's probably not for the shy or anyone who is vampire/flapper/art deco/goth averse because it is DARK. But I kind of like that sometimes. I'm not loving the redesigned Urban Decay packaging, the sword on the bottom just seems weird to me.

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I got this as a deluxe sample. This was a huge dissapointment. I love urban decay but this made me never want to purchase another lip product from them again. The pigmentation is excellent but this color is way too deep for me- that doesn't affect my review it was just the wrong color for me, could be beautiful on someone else. Its a super dark, vampy cranberry color with a fair amount of shimmer. The scent of this lippy is disgusting. It has this caramelly smell thats really strong. It gets fainter the longer you have it/ the closer to expiration it is. By then its replaced by a chemically scent with a dash of caramel. Its really moisturizing but I found it to be too greasy. It tastes bad. I couldn't keep this on for too long because the scent and taste. It was actually gag inducing. It left a pretty stain on my lips though! It applies smoothly and is long lasting but that doesn't make up for all of the flaws with this lipstick.

About reviewer (191 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown