3.8

Created with Sketch.
45 reviews
64%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a glorious delight of a fragrance...in fact, I love the entire Merveilles line---and while they are all similar and share family traits, they are all quite different enough from each other to justify owning every one. What makes Elixir special? The peru balsam mixed with caramel, resins and incense. A spicy citrus treat, yet almost a gourmand as it warms on your skin. Rich tonka, vanilla, patchouli and amber ground it--but never in a heavy way. This one is so beautiful I almost can't describe it. I get the occasional whiff of expensive soap, especially when I spray the back of my neck. Suitable for men or women, this one is just divine. It lasts all day on my skin, as well. A+ Notes: peru balsam, vanilla sugar, amber, sandalwood, tonka bean, patchouli, siam resin, caramel, oak, incense, orange peel and cedar.

About reviewer (705 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGray



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I cannot live without it. Absolutely adore it ❤️❤️❤️

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesGray


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I think you have to like gourmands to like Elixir des Merveilles. While the opening is intriguing, I mostly get a very boozy orange vibe overall. A bit like fermenting sangria with tons of oranges in it. I think that the Un Jardin series is better crafted than anything Hermes has come out with lately.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I don't usually care for gourmandes and the idea of a foody Eau de Merveilles seemed a little odd to me. It was love at first sniff but I am now glad I didn't buy a big bottle. This is JCE alright but not as transparent as his Hermessence group. I have to remind myself the this is the nose responsible for First by VC&A. Returning to the elixir, I find it a trifle indigestible. Nice amber fougere drydown but the orange syrup palls after a while. I feel like I have eaten too many orange creams. Nice but not for everyday.

About reviewer (325 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I purchased this a couple of years ago and, despite receiving many compliments when wearing it, I decided I didn't really like it and had stuck in a box of things I planned to part with. Working my way through the box recently, I re-tested and now I love it. I'm not sure if my taste has changed or if it's the season. I know I had been wearing it in the colder months, thinking it a heavy fragrance, but actually it really sparkles in the heat. Prior to buying Elixir I had owned the Eau. I didn't like that one at all... it was too linear, unbelievably long lasting, and I found it intensely cloying in the end. This one has more variety and evolves over time, which makes it more interesting for me. I don't like gourmands, and I don't think JC-E does either, which is why this is almost a gourmand - orange, vanilla, tonka ('chocolate') - grafted onto Terre d'Hermes. The basenotes are really quite masculine, which is what put me off to begin with. They felt cold and flat, slightly bitter - but as I said, this seems improved in the warmer weather - more like dry grasses slicing through what would otherwise be too densely sweet. It must be vetiver and patchouli - a dark chypre/fougere accord. At any rate, very pleased with it now and glad I kept it.

About reviewer (154 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Elixir de Merveilles is truly a unique fragrance, and should be at least sniffed. I normally can't wear citrus in the least bit--it immediately turns to floor cleaner upon hitting my skin. Needless to say when my fave SA suggested I try this, I was leery. My fears were for naught though, as the orange peel in EdM is less being hosed with orange juice but more taking a bite into a bittersweet chocolate-dipped orange confection. The orange is prominent and at first blast a little sweet, but it immediately scales back as the dark chocolate note melds with it. As the scent dries down the chocolate disappears and is replaced with salty caramel with a backdrop of bitter, dry woods. A dash of vanilla and tonka adds a hint of sweetness to what has become a nearly masculine fragrance. Intriguing. All in all I find Elixir de Merveilles a bit mercurial, and borderline bipolar as it straddles the line between sweet-gourmand and austere-masculine. Being a stereotypical Gemini this is perfectly fine. I've received many compliments on EdM, and it will remain at the forefront of my scent rotation despite my heavy oriental leanings.

About reviewer (284 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Tan, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I see Elixir des Merveilles as a logical gourmand extension of Eau des Merveilles: they are related as far as I’m concerned. Both fragrances could easily be unisex, and both depend strongly on wood accords. Elixir opens sweetly gourmand – with an orange-flavored vanilla and caramel notes – to my nose the caramel takes prominence, but the other elements are clearly identifiable and adequately represented. There is even a wood undertone to the opening accord, and the use of wood in this fragrance is reminiscent of the wood in Eau des M… but this wood does not provide such a unique and, possibly, exotic presentation… here we have a modest sandalwood / cedar with a sophisticated resinous background which retains some of the opening’s caramel gourmand character. It’s not an overly sweet fragrance and definitely not girly… and it’s a comfortable wear

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

While this is fairly nice when first applied, dry-down is like a man's (cheap) aftershave. Too bad because the bottle is pretty. I'm sorry to have wasted $$$.

About reviewer (92 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

LOVE this! It does citrusy orange completely rich and lush and decadent! There is so much going on initially that you are like WOW i have to take a shower but then it developes and it turns into exactly what you would expect a fragrance from Hermes to deliver. Others did a great job explaining the notes so I wont go into that, secondly I couldnt do as great a job as some have with that. i have this in the edp and i have 24f in epd. the am choice between the two will be hard:)

About reviewer (181 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 years ago

I LOVE this fragrance so much ! Many people ask me : wht is your fragrance ? when I wear it . It's increadible !!! ( sorry for my bad English! )

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue