Le Labo Jasmin 17

No Image

3.7

15 reviews

46% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 1/23/2017 11:56:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I received my official Le Labo sample of Jasmin 17.
Wow ,this is a beautiful balanced white floral. I do smell the jasmine right off the top of the scent with a few salty indoles as well. For me this is an interesting full bodied jasmine scent, quite a soliflore on my skin.
The tenacity is not so great on my skin though compared to Santal 33 and The Noir .
If you absolutely love jasmine then I recommend you at least try this one out. However, I think Serge Lutens A La Nuit and Tom Ford's Jasmine Rouge are perhaps better .
A sample is all I need of this. As much as I love jasmine and own Jasmine Rouge .. I do not need this in my collection.

***For your information : I order direct form the Le Labo online site.

Their customer service is really not up to standard. They do not act upon requests through their concierge service, they do not reply or act upon their Proust questionnaire and their invoices online when purchasing are not v clear at all. Be sure to double check the quantities you order on their site before pressing ' order' or pay . It is v easy to end up paying for 2 bottles instead of one. It is an expensive mistake that has happened to me.
I find their service v disappointing. The online shopping experience with Le Labo is not as good or clear( transaction -wise ) as ..let's say Luckyscent.




on 12/31/2012 7:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

smells more like orange in APOM or Elie Saab, than jasmin...
a great scent really, would'n mind to have it in my collection...very feminine twist of jasmine flower but as I noted-more orange/neroli sweetness than jasmine....
Pure Poison anyone.....?

EDIT: O.M.G, this is fantastic...utterly fantastic....this kind of sweetness is absolutely unfamilliar to my nose...it is a fresh,zesty but also (goddamn it!!) amazingly soft and floral jasmine...
I like this one A LOT...whish list immediately!!!!

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 7/26/2011 2:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

First of all, I want to say that I feel very lucky to have purchased my 50ml bottle for $145 USD (and therein, very lucky to be living in the US) because this perfume retails for a stinkingly horrid $260 AUD for 50ml in my lovely home country and that is just nasty. I would not pay $260 for this fragrance, but then again I didn't wince at $145 so I suppose I'm becoming numb to fragrance prices - the more I sample and read, the less shocked I become.


To me, Le Labo has done something wonderful when they put their noses to this one. There is a lot of orange blossom, which explains why I'm all over it like white on rice. There's also a whopping smack of frangipani, which was really the icing on the cake; it's a gorgeous heady smell, the essence of summer growing up in Australia's tropical north. It's a light and absolutely inoffensive fragrance and I agree with a previous reviewer - sometimes that's all you need. Unfortunately for me, I ordered based off a dabbed-on sample, and I think it loses something in spraying... or rather, gains a nasty, almost stanky bathroom note as it fades. Not truly fecal, but no longer bright and sparkly. A little bit dirty, I suppose. I avoid this note by reapplying every few hours and so when I wear it, I get the beautiful sparkle of orange blossom, the smooth vanilla-jasmine-icecreamy drydown and a touch of woody ambery musk before it detours into Pooptown. Layer it with something unabashedly citrus and you will avoid that unfortunate end - Jo Malone Orange Blossom or Il Profumo Mandarine are safe bets.


All in all, Jasmin 17 is a radiant, soft and simple blend that works hard for the money - on my skin, at least. It's not overly young or old, too soft or too loud. It doesn't scream sexiness but it is sexy in the way it wears close and smooth to the body. It smells like a perfectly dressed woman who knows exactly what suits her - she is put together in the most refined and unassuming way. If this were porridge, Goldilocks would love it because it's not too much of anything; it truly is just right. It is overpriced, but I like that Le Labo offers a range of sizes and products in all of their scents so you can wear it how you like it, and I imagine a trip to their stores would be a lot of fun. Is it a gimmick? Most definitely, but this is a perfectly lovely fragrance from a nicely done brand and I'm almost 100% sure you won't smell Le Labo on many people.


4 for Price, 3 for Packaging (mine leaked in transit, but the bottle looks and feels comfortable and well made) and a 4 overall.

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 6/17/2010 3:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is another nice, polite office kind of fragrance. And there is a very real need for those in the world but, unfortunately, Jasmin 17 is so polite it doesn't have any personality.

Stepping away from the actual juice a moment, I would like to comment on the "Le Labo attitude", aka Ultimate Perfume Snobbery. Smelling the various fragrance essences they keep in dropper bottles is pretty cool...but actually having them blend the perfume with alcohol on the spot? Come on. I mean, maybe I'm wrong here, but I thought fragrances were supposed to macerate before being sold to the general public (perhaps the flip side of this is that my Jasmin 17 will ripen as it ages...interesting thought). Also, the whole personalized label thing? I could totally do without it, especially if having good old generic labels lowers the astronomical prices in any way. And the SAs? They were friendly but could totally be better trained...but this is supposed to be a fragrance review and I'm turning it into a rant. I apologize.

Especially since I didn't give Jasmin 17 three stars for nothing: I actually think it's an okay fragrance for those jeans and tee-shirts, too wholesome for traditional perfume kind of moments. Granted, I honestly don't have many of those yet, still, they must be scented.

The sillage is minimum (again: office fragrance) but the longevity is excellent or so I find. It doesn't really change much from topnotes to drydown but that's always been okay with me. As others have stated, the name is misleading but who really needs another jasmine soliflore (and I'm a total sucker for jasmine, btw)?

The bottom line: in this genre of work-friendly fragrances, I would recommend En Passant or any of the Artisans (except for maybe their Al-Oudh), which all have more depth and personality than Jasmin 17 and might actually be a better value for your money, too. And how often can you say that about a Frederic Malle scent?


on 11/4/2009 4:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I smell more tuberose than jasmine as such although i detect a fair amount of orange blossom too. this is slightly too green for me, I can see why ppl are saying its a fresh youthful smell but its too white floral for me.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 9/9/2009 12:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This fragrance is feminine without being frilly. I smell some smooth, round jasmine and orange. It has a very appealing juicy quality, and can be worn by anyone who just wants to smell good. The SA told me that when men come to Le Labo to get a fragrance for a woman, they almost always pick this one. I'm not surprised. It's the ideal fruity-floral: inviting, clean, mouth-watering, non-plasticky (which really wins it points with me). This is not indolic or dirty in any way. Lasting power is only average, but I like that there is a small size for touch-ups. This is one of my favorites in the "pretty" or "day" categories.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/25/2009 4:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As with most of the Le Labo range, if you buy this because you want a soliflore or even predominantly jasmine fragrance, you are going to be disappointed. To me, it's primarily orange blossom with a hint of very fresh, green jasmine (of the sort you find in Sarrasins rather than A La Nuit) in the background. It's a very pretty, uncomplicated, summery smell with amazing sillage and excellent staying power. I don't get the household product smells comparisons mentioned in other reviews at all - to me, the thing it most reminds me of is the edt version of Iris Nobile (but with that hint of jasmine) and with the considerable benefit of superior staying power. I'm pretty sure that this will be my first Le Labo FB - it's just so wearable.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 7/1/2008 7:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my Holy Grail scent. I'm on my 5th bottle. I will not go deeply into scent descriptions since it has been covered so well in previous reviews.
This scent evokes a feeling for me. When I wear it I feel happier, energized, uplifted.
I always get compliments on this scent. I will forever have it in my collection.
I'm also fond of their Neroli fragrance.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 4/23/2008 9:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love jasmine scents and after reading the reviews below, I imagined there had to be a tiny amount of the indolent fragrance, but honestly, there was not even the tiniest amount of jasmine detected here. The top note to me had a bit of a tuberose scent, which could have easily been the jasmine, since they are white flowers, but it quickly faded to a more muskier vanilla. It's a light fragrance which is nice, but I believe I've smelled this perfume somewhere before. I was expecting to be wowed, but I'm left really disappointed. It's a nice fragrance, it's a floral with a powdery citrus in it, but it's not for me. If you do not like jasmine perfumes, then this one might be for you.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 9/2/2007 3:11:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

On first spritz it smells *exactly* like honeysuckle. If you want to smell Jasmin 17, go drink a drop of honeysuckle nectar. Quickly it becomes more complicated, with a fresh neroli note on top, and a dollop of "creamy" underneath (amber, vanilla, sandalwood, musk), but it always retains that core, almost solifloral (and I do not mean jasmine) simplicity. It ends up smelling maybe like household products (specifically Orange Action), maybe like Marc Jacobs Blush (if I remember Blush correctly), maybe like that ever-so-generic "whatever" on a stumbled-upon perfume strip at the mall. I wish I could like this more, as Le labo are definitely some of the hippest perfumers out there, but it is what it is.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.

Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1420 Reviews
Poison Girl
Poison Girl
13 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
159 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
La Vie Est Belle
195 Reviews
Back to Top