ORIGINS Automagically eye lining pencil

ORIGINS Automagically eye lining pencil

4.1

15 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

cyclopentasiloxane - synthetic beeswax - disteardimonium hectorite - arachidyl behenate - microcrystalline wax - oryza sativa (rice) bran wax - tocopherol - ascorbyl palmitate [ /- mica - titanium dioxide (ci 77891) - iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499) - blue 1 lake (ci 42090) - chromium hydroxide (ci 77289) chromium oxide greens (ci 77288) - ferric ferrocyanide (ci 77510) - manganese violet (ci 77742) - ultramarines (ci 77007) - yellow 5 lake (ci 19140)]

Start your review


on 9/14/2018 10:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Really like this liner. Mostly because it doesn’t irritate my skin. Have repurchased several times.



on 7/19/2015 8:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not for those with oily lids... Everything about this product is wonderful, except that it smudges horribly. It may be because I have skin on the oily side, plus warm weather, but I think the beautifully smooth and creamy formula facilitates the smudging. I have this in Fudge 02 which is an absolute gorgeous brown, perfect for pale skin and with no red undertones (if you don't like black liner). Again, easy to swipe on because of the creamy formula. The twist-top is nice, but the tip will need to be reshaped constantly into something vaguely resembling a point.

I so wanted to love this because it didn't irritate my very sensitive under-eye area. Many products make my waterline red and puffy! I may try this one again in the winter to see if it'll help combat smudging... :(


on 12/4/2014 11:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried a lot of liners, this is the absolute BEST.


on 1/8/2013 12:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

The BEST eyeliner for your inner rim/ waterline.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I tried almost every makeup brand and bought dozens of different eyeliners (Waterproof, kohl, etc). They either made my eyes burn, would bleed excessively to the outer corners of my eyes, barely even appear on my rims, or needed re-application at least every hour.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
THIS It glides on so smoothly, doesn't irritate my eyes, doesn't bleed excessively, and stays on my lids for hours! It slightly runs after a few hours to my outer corners, but it's very light and barely noticeable. It also twists up so no sharpener is needed. The Jade and Smoke are my fav colors.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/2/2012 5:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Very gentle eyeliner that glides easily across the lids. Love the color jet black. Easy to remove and it stays on all day. I have oily lids and I do not believe in primers. In fact I refuse to purchase products that need a primer underneath to work. I believe a product that is of good quality should perform well by itself. This product does just that. The only issue is sharpening. You need to use the tissue to re-shape the point once it gets dull. Otherwise you can get a thin or thick line depending on your style. I love the fact that it doesn't take too long to apply this either.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 9/9/2011 10:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Great, non-irritating, subtle pretty eyeliner - very blendable without being smudgy, the width of the 'pencil' (really more of a crayon consistency) is perfect, taking the guesswork out of the line-width on your eyelid. It has a blendy-sponge type thing on the other end. It's foolproof. The color is what really got me - I have it in fudge, which is a nice smoky greyish-brown, not too frank on my pale skin/blue eyes. I suspect the other colors (particularly mushroom) would be nice too. First eyeliner to not irritate my eyes.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/6/2011 10:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

1. Easy to use
2. stays on well
3. Great color-fudge- deep brown/black
4. Its by Origins
5. only con- when I order it from Origins.com, it breaks very easily and I go through it so quickly. Instead, I have to make a special trip to the mall to stock up because theirs seems fresher.

Because it costs 14.50 per stick and I am making a special trip to purchase it, I tried to use Bare Minerals eyeliner in espresso. It is .50 cheaper and its very easy to get at my local JCP. Well, wrong. Its just ok. The color is my main complaint. I love the deep brown I get from origins and its perfect for an every day polished look. I am olive skinned with brow hair, brown eyes and black eyeliner during 8-5 m-f just usually feels too harsh to me. Sometimes in the winter when I wear a lot of black, grey and cooler colors then its ok. I normally do not leave the house for work without eyeliner so a good everyday one is a must. I have sensitive skin and that includes my eyes. I am trying very hard to use all natural products due to this. I also believe very strongly that there are too many chemicals in everything we use these days, so going natural wherever it makes sense and is easy for me is something I am striving for daily. Anyway, The Deep Brown color called "espresso" from Bare minerals is too red and it makes me looked washed out. So, since the economic crunch is hitting me pretty hard, I will go ahead and finish it out- probably with lots of brown eye shadow over it!!
For my money- the Origins one wins hands down. I got tired of paying for it and recently even bought my "old HG"- Revlon colorstay brown liner. Their color is great, but the formula is leaps and bounds away from origins. Revlon's is hard and more like trying to use a Crayola crayon on your eyelid! This Origins ones just glides on so smoothly. I truly love it and I gladly declare it as my new HG! Did I say too much? LOL!!!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 12/30/2009 7:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

UPDATE (2012-02-17): BOYCOTTING RE. CURRENT ANIMAL TESTING FOR CHINESE MARKET

UPDATE (03/2010): down a lippie in comparison with current favourite, Laura Mercier's cake eyeliner in Mahogany Brown.

Lovely twist-up self-sharpening eye pencil, with smudger at the other end. Very like Clinique Quickliner in use, effect, and price; and the packaging is nearly identical. The range of shades and the ingredients are slightly different (see end of review for comparison: less of the more irritating reds than in the Quickliners).

There are various muted naturals. Mostly browns and greys. I got Mulberry: a reddish-plummy-brown, midway between the Clinique Quickliner softer russet-browns - Shy Brown, Roast Coffee - and Grape (significantly more purple). Very nice indeed: used with black mascara, produces a gentler effect than black eyeliner, but more visible than a very light brown. The red-plum undertone - and it is an undertone, it's subtle - works well with green-gold in eyes.

But if you're looking for a stronger plum-purple, though, the Clinique quickliners in Grape and Violet would be recommended, or else Estee Lauder's automatic pencil (advantage: cheaper snap-in refills are available) - Plumwood is close to Mulberry, Plum Grey is close to Clinique's Violet as a sort of blackened-lilac, and Aubergine is a stronger purple. Or the plummy liners from Urban Decay, Korres, Tarte EmphasEyes, Benefit, Sephora own brand, Mac, and many others (depending on individual eye tolerance; and some are a traditional pencil rather than the waxy twist-up type).

Back to the Automagically - used for tightlining, application is very easy. Smooth texture, but does stay put, and zero irritation to report - and I have been through some irritating eyeliners in my time, especially those with red and purple tones. As with the Quickliners, I found the smudger useless (for tightlining, anyway) so got rid of it, using pliers. Keeping the clear cap on the end.

Automagically can be removed with no trouble, along with rest of regular eye makeup, using oil (jojoba/mineral/safflower/sweet almond mix). While it continues to work well even when stumpy and blunt, it's simple to sharpen the end: just run the edge on a tissue or the side of your hand - no need for sharpeners. My first big gripe on packaging is actually that smudger - I chopped it off, though I guess some may use it on the upper eyelid. My second gripe is the cap, which, like on the Clinique Quickliners, cracks very easily then the liner dries out. Hence (as this just happened, sigh) down to a 3 on packaging. Still, a 5 overall as one of the best eyeliners yet used.

Like other Origins products, cruelty-free; ingredients look pretty vegan, too (inc. synthetic beeswax). As with many of their other products, the packaging proclaims that it's "formulated without: parabens - phthalates - propylene glycol - mineral oil - PABA - petrolatum - paraffin - DEA - synthetic fragrance - animal ingredients".* MUAers looking for "greener" products, do keep Origins on your list. Sensitive and irritable fans of Clinique makeup, give Origins a try. Bearing in mind that buying their stuff sends a strong message to the parent company, Estee Lauder, that customers are interested in products that are both "green" (and otherwise more ethical - ingredient sourcing, vegan, etc.) and sensitive-skin-friendly.

INGREDIENTS: cyclopentasiloxane - synthetic beeswax - disteardimonium hectorite - arachidyl behenate - microcrystalline wax - oryza sativa (rice) bran wax - tocopherol - ascorbyl palmitate [+/- mica - titanium dioxide (ci 77891) - iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499) - blue 1 lake (ci 42090) - chromium hydroxide (ci 77289) chromium oxide greens (ci 77288) - ferric ferrocyanide (ci 77510) - manganese violet (ci 77742) - ultramarines (ci 77007) - yellow 5 lake (ci 19140)]

CLINIQUE QUICKLINER INGREDIENTS (for comparison): cyclopentasiloxane - synthetic beeswax - disteardimonium hectorite - arachidyl behenate - microcrystalline wax - bht [+/- iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499) - titanium dioxide (ci 77891) - mica - blue 1 lake (ci 42090) - bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163) - chromium hydroxide green (ci 77289) - yellow 5 lake (ci 19140) - manganese violet (ci 77742) - chromium oxide greens (ci 77288) - carmine (ci 75470) - aluminum powder (ci 77000) - ultramarines (ci 77007) - ferric ferrocyanide (ci 77510)]

*[To be fair, I don't think I've ever seen phthalates in an eyeliner, and there's plenty of other good companies around that are fragrance-free (synthetic or otherwise).] continued >>

4 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 10/16/2009 7:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My qualifications for a eyeliner were:

*vegan-friendly
*minimum amount of sharpening
*easy to put on
*non-irritating
*dark enough black color
*lasts at least 8 hours without smudging

All these were fulfilled with this eyeliner. My favorite part about this product is that it goes on very smoothly, making it a snap to use in short mornings. I have read that some people need to sharpen their pencil sometimes, however that has never been the case for me, just twist up for me...another reason why I love this eyeliner.

My eyelids do tend to get oily on warmer days, but this eyeliner still stays late into the night, then there might be slight smudging. However, when I used a primer, it never smudged. So if eyeliner or even eyeshadows seems to always run on you, I would suggest getting an eye primer since that's a skin issue, not a product issue. Still, I find this lasts longer than most pencil eyeliners that do not irritate my eyes while being a breeze to put on.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 6/5/2008 2:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love the color of this, a sort of taupe grey. but it hardly shows up when i use it. if i swipe it on my hand it's perfect, but once i try to use it on my eyes it turns practically invisible.


Back to Top