MAC 15-PAN

Filtered by eye Color : Brown
MAC 15-PAN
15-PAN

4.7

80 reviews

96% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 5/13/2017 11:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have really been out of the loop of all things MAC for many years. I have the current palettes as well as the old school solid cases and all sorts of zpalettes, you name it. I like MAC though because they seem the most sturdy and budget friendly. (My goal is to get my go-to makeup condensed into one duo palette. 😭)

Our housekeeper threw out all my inserts so I recently went to the MAC site to purchase more. I was pleasantly surprised to see they have new (to me) inserts, the prices have dropped and now you can squeeze 18 pans into one palette. Its pretty great that you can mix and match between shadows and blushes without having to juggle multiple palettes. I always felt that depotting blushes into a lone palette made them all mlre fragile.

That said, and I have googled this and found nothing, it seems like Urban Decay (and coastal scents) single shadows don't fit anymore! That is a real shame... i loved having everything in one place, secure with inserts. This kind of forces me into having a freestyle palette whether or not I want to. I tried forcing them in with no luck. (Please DM me if you have any insight!)

All and all, good deal, love it. Wish more pans/brands still fit! But I will work with it.



on 3/3/2017 11:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

And 10 years later, I've returned to update this review (oops). If I may, I'd like to take a moment to roast myself for committing a crime against the reviews that are actually helpful yet end up being buried underneath ridiculous reviews like the I one I originally submitted. Not only was it probably a fake, I didn't even have it in my possession at the time of the review! That's like a cardinal sin on the makeup board and reviews like that irritate me to this day.

So obviously a long time has passed now and much has changed for the better, including this basic yet invaluable tool. The husband is now my ex and finally out of my life (hallelujah), I would NEVER buy makeup or tools like brushes and palettes off eBay and MAC finally swapped out the solid black lid for a clear plastic one. Does anyone else remember the days when you had to label your palettes because you didn't know which was which otherwise?

This is still a fantastic tool many use to organize and protect our eyeshadows, blushes and whatever else you fit in it. It used to be that you only had two options if you wanted an insert for your palette: the 6 pan blush insert or the OG 15 eyeshadow pan insert. Recently, MAC added a handful of new inserts as well as different sizes of palettes for our organizing pleasure. Of course I'm not saying you NEED any insert, many people depot everything they can and forgoing the insert allows them to fit more into a single palette like the oddly sized and/or shaped pans. As for me, the inserts are a necessity and it's what i use in my two palettes. They separate each pan and hold it securely which helps to keep my palettes from looking like a thrown together collection.

Which is good.

Because they were.

Don't judge, I'm sure I wasn't the one who stocked up when MAC dropped the price of the eyeshadow pans :)

If I have to be pressed to find fault with my palettes, it's that the clear cover WILL get scratched and look cloudy with regular use. I don't doubt that there are people that take superb care or their palettes and my props to you. This 'issue' if it even can be considered one would not turn me off from the product. Repurchasing has already been repeated multiple times and should be expected in the future as I am always adding to my collection.

Imagine how happy you'd make a teen daughter if you gave her one of these palettes partially filled or fully stocked as an introduction in makeup. It really is a classic staple for anyone, from the makeup connoisseur to those just being introduced to all things cosmetic.


Original 2007 Post: I have been reading so much about depotting eyeshadows and putting them in a palette so I thought I had to jump on the bandwagon! Believe it or not, my husband actually bought mine for me off of Ebay (so willing to spend a couple of dollars for one since I am no where near a MAC store) and I can't wait to fill it up. I can definitely see how this makes it easier. It is sort of a pain to have to reach and fish for an eyeshadow. Makeup is not a carnival game LOL. I'll come back later when I receive it!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love love love. I pop out the top so I can fit more shadows. I have Mac refills/singles, nyx singles and urban decay eyeshadows in my current palette. Def would repurchase more.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/25/2011 11:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have nothing but AMAZING things to say about this palette. De-potting my eye shadows was a great decision. This makes me feel confident that they wont be damaged when traveling and it looks very sleek. There is nothing like looking at all your beautiful MAC shadows arranged in a palette :]


on 6/26/2011 7:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I finally finished filling my 15 pan palette (with Paradisco - a new favorite) and I must say I love to just sit back and look at all the gorgeous colours! I'm glad I bought this palette and would recommend it to anyone. Only one colour mistake (Cranberry looks hideous on me), which I think are pretty good odds considering the shades were all purchased online. My only con is that it gets so dirty. A makeup wipe does a great job of cleaning and it's back to being as good as new! I would definitely repurchase...but I'm hoping that this will be enough eye shadows to last me for awhile. ;-)


on 6/24/2011 10:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This palette is great if you pop out the 15 pan plastic insert out of it. You can put a lot more pans of various shapes and sizes that way. It's all black and looks pretty good. It makes a great palette to keep at home/storage. With that said, I would never take this traveling because it's a bit on the flimsy side as far as traveling goes. However, if you're just keeping this on the vanity it's fine.

I took a lippie off because it would be great if it had a clear top so you can see your colors. Also, while it's not terribly expensive, it probably costs them 20 cents each to make one, so part of the one lippie off is for the crazy retail markup on this. I would buy this again when I run out of room on my other 2 palettes, but I don't think I'd travel with it.


on 5/14/2011 8:46:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love these! They make eyeshadow storage a breeze. WILL REPURCHASE!


on 3/14/2011 6:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I only have one at the moment, but looking forward to getting my next one as I've almost filled up my first one. The palette is nice and slim and I haven't had any troubles with it so far. I don't mind there not being a mirror as it looks more professional without one in my opinion though I wish it had more than 15 slots which I know you can take the insert out, but I think it looks less organised. I also wish the magnets were in the palette like the Stila ones rather than on the eyeshadow pans.

Overall, it does what it's suppose to do and I shall keep purchasing them, I just have some personal preferences.


on 11/12/2010 10:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love my MAC 15-pans. I've filled up 3, and have enough shadows for a 4th one, which I need to pick up ASAP. With so many shadows, the only solution is 15-pans. At first I was hesitant, thinking they would be too large and cumbersome to use on a daily basis, but I've become a pro at handling them (pardon the pun). They're super sleek and thin, which is a very important consideration for me. I don't mind that they don't have a mirror - when I travel I swap a few shades into quads. The only issue is that you can't see the shades inside - I've solved this by putting a tiny sticker on each one, in the colour of the shadows inside. this makes it a breeze to find the palette I want, and they're all there, easy to find and easy to use. I can't live without my pro palettes! And don't forget about all the B2M's from depotting the shadows :) Just remember, the bottom of the palette is metal, so you will need magnets on the shadow pans. This is opposite of some others, such as Stila, where the palette is magnetic and the pans are metal.


on 10/12/2010 8:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love having a palette, before I owned one I would always stick to the same colours as it's so fiddly opening and closing all the different eyeshadow pots. I love being able to see so many colours at once, it makes it easy to put colour combinations together. I have taken out the 15 space insert part as I had more than 15 shadows and wanted them all to fit in. The shadows all stay in perfectly ok. I reckon you could get about 24/25 shadows in there which is obviously more space saving than buying another palette. I would definitely recommend depotting your current eyeshadows and putting them in your palette, I looked on YT first to find out how to do so and its actuallly really easy. Then you can back to mac your old pots and get some new lipsticks! (My MAC counter accepts eyeshadow pots with no pans.) if you are thinking of getting one I would 100% recommend that you do, makes life a lot easier in the morning. Just be careful not to drop it! Xxx

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Back to Top