Everyday Minerals Intensive Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

Filtered by skin tone : Olive
Everyday Minerals Intensive Foundation  [DISCONTINUED]
Everyday Minerals - Intensive Formula Medium Beige

4.1

39 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Zinc Oxide

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 6/17/2011 5:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Wow!!!! I love this stuff - it is amazing and worth every penny. I have oily skin and have tried so many different powder foundations (MAC Studio fix, Estee Lauder Double Wear, Givenchy powder foundation, BE Matte, Bellapierre, Lancome, Sheer Cover, Benefit, Nars) and liquid ones (MAC Studio fix fluid, Clinique Superfit, Nars Matte) in my quest to find the perfect one to keep my skin looking matte and flawless all day. I have finally found my HG foundation in EM!!! I have good skin but do prefer a slightly more medium - full coverage and this is perfect. The coverage is buildable, so you can apply a bit for medium coverage or some more for full coverage. I got my order yesterday and couldn't wait to try it - i wasn't sure what shade i would be and as the price is so reasonable - i ordered the golden medium, light olive and medium olive shades. I have to say that the range of shades are fantastic - there is something for everyone i think. I have tried the shades individually ans as they are from the same colour group, i reckon i can use all of them individually and mix them if i want for a perfect match. I also know that these colours will last me all year round which is brilliant. I feel like i'm going on a bit, but i just want all the oily girls to know how amazing this stuff is. After moisturising i apply Benefits Dr Feelgood and then this with the EM flat top brush (which is now another HG product for me!!!). I then set with the EM Yellow Bamboo powder to finish. The results are beautiful - flawless coverage that lasts and keeps oil at bay.

I am so happy with this :-) xxx



on 4/4/2011 9:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using EDM for a few years and I LOVE IT!!! I have acne prone skin so coverage is important to me but my skin also needs to breath. This product delivers on both counts. Even if I do have a spot EDM does not further irritate it like liquid foundations can. The intensive formula is highly pigmented, matte finish giving you full coverage but your skin still feels light. Sometimes I forget I'm wearing make up at all! It is important to moisturize well as it is with all mineral make up because you will not be happy with the results if your skin is dry and flaky. The intensive formula is recommended for photos as it does not have the "sparkle" in it that some of their other formulas have. The full size pots are very generous and lasts a long time so don't be put off that you have to pay shipping, you will still come up on top with this product! EDM has such a wide range of colors it's very difficult not to find a perfect match. The product goes on quickly and easily. It's very easy to blend all the way down into your neck and chest area to give you an even appearance. Overall I cannot fault this product.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 3/18/2011 5:00:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Well it's time for EDM and I to part company. I've been using EDM foundation for many years 5+ and was sure I would never use anything else. It went on smooth, lasted all day, didn't look like I was wearing makeup, no caking, perfect. I liked all the foundation formulations too (apart from pressed) and used them for different looks (o'glow for a natural look, semi for work, matte for evening and intensive in the summer etc). I stocked up (took advantage of the bulk buy discounts so I have not had to reorder since they changed their ingredients.
So I ran out and ordered another lot, and to my horror it's completely different! It goes on evenly but looks like a mask (bought all the formulations, even o'glow looks fake) and then after about an hour it goes caking and blotchy and I can see patches, especially on my nose, where the makeup kind of congeals, yuk. I tried using primers and finishing powders to prevent this but to no avail.
I emailed EDM asking if they still had any old stock or if they would consider making a batch [as I know from this forum and elsewhere that many of you don't like the new formulation with lauroyl lysine] but they never replied (not surprising given their customer service!). So I felt I should share this experience as I think many readers may purchase EDM based on reviews of the old foundation - which was awesome.
I've moved on Silk Naturals which hasn't been around as long as EDM and is (so far) very good indeed. Can't get a good colour match from any others e.g. Lily Lolo so this was the obvious choice. I used EDM golden medium in winter and olive medium in summer so need yellow and green undertones).
I hope this helps!

9 of 9 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For me, what is most fabulous about this foundation...is no bismuth oxychloride. HURRAY! My mineral foundation does not itch! This foundation evens out my skin tone like no foundation ever has- and it looks natural. It looks like my real skin- not skin with foundation on it- but clear glowing skin...even if I have blemishes underneath. It makes redness disappear on me. I kind of feel like it's a magic eraser for my face lol!

The price blows me away..it's $12 ..which is a fraction of what other foundations cost. The sifting jars are nice. You can close the sifter part, then screw on the top- so when you open it up again..you don't have product flailing everywhere. (I wish mineral eyeshadow came like this)
I will buy this OVER and OVER again. I have been wearing/covering with mac for years..but this foundation has changed my skin for the better! I want to yell it from the roof tops! HA!

For reference I'm a mac nc25 (on the lighter end)...I use EM fairly light neutral...and it is a perfect match! If you are a darker nc25 this may be too light for you.


on 12/2/2010 6:28:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Reasons why I don't like it:
- Looks powdery (On a scale of 1 - 5: 3)
- Pores look a lot more obvious (On a scale of 1 - 5: 3)
- Not that great of coverage (On a scale of 1 - 5: 3)

I usually use a mixing medium when I apply to get rid of some of the 'powdery' look. I had a hard time buffing it into my skin .. it kind of leaves patches .. I'm starting to wonder if my Physicians Formula and Maybelline Mineral Power was actually better than this ..


on 10/31/2010 3:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My Holy Grail--a god send! This is the only brand of foundation that has been able to hide my acne! For bad acne days I layer this little by little using the Bare Essententials Full Flawless Face Brush. For a less powdery finish I swirl the brush in the foundation first and then lightly mist the brush with Fix+ by MAC.

No other liquid or mineral brand of foundation hid my acne. I became very depressed and didn't want to leave the house because nothing concealed it. I no longer have that issue!

P.S. I'm olive skinned like some Latinas, biracial, middle eastern, and Asian girls. The color I use is Olive Medium.
Extra tip: For red inflamed acne days I use the Mint concealer by Everday Minerals BEFORE I apply the foundation ;)

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 1/25/2010 7:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Okay, so when I originally tried this product the first time, I used my bareminerals kabuki brush. It looked cakey and the coverage wasn't impressive by any means. I then tried it with a flat top brush, and the coverage was much better. It came off really quickly though, which deterred me from using it. But I figured out the solution to making this look fabulous!

Begin with a moisturizer, followed by a primer (I use the monistat chafing relief gel). Then I spray the flat top brush 1-2 times with a mix that I made consisting of 1 part glycerin, and 3 parts water. I dip it into the powder and begin applying it to half of my face, and then spray the brush again, dip, and apply it to the other half. This prevents it from looking cakey and makes it as long lasting as a great foundation! I know this method sounds a little tedious, but definitely try it out before giving up on the product. I really think you'll be pleased with the results :)

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 1/14/2010 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I quickly found my perfect shade by mixing two colors. I LOVED its over all coverage when used as my primary foundation: My strategy is to wash, moisturize and wait a couple minutes, spot treat acne&acne scars with Revlons Concealer Stick, spot treat leftovers with EDM Multi-tasking Concealer powder with a small concealer brush (pat in, don't rub in!!!!) use the foundation then blush &finishing powder.
Pros- Simple ingredient list didn't worsen my acne, the color selection is large, drugstore prices, excellent coverage when used properly.

Cons- For the first hour of wearing it you look cakey and terrible, then it sinks in and you look great for 4-5 hours, touch ups/blotting are needed after those hours for EVERY skin type; but overly doing either of those tends to make it looks patchy, cakey, terrible again?! :-/


on 11/22/2009 7:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love intensive. Awhile back I broke out horribly trying OCM (used it too often..) and I had acne all over my cheeks which I never used to have. Eventually the acne went away (with the help of prescription cream from the dr) but I was left with severe scarring. Mint concealer, multi-tasking concealer and my foundation (at that time Olive - Sweet Almond wasn't out yet so I mixed Light Olive with Sunlight concealer to get the right shade) in intensive kept me from living as a hermit.

If you apply it wet it might be too cakey / powdery for you so I apply mine with a rosewater glycerin spray (50 % rosewater glycerin, 50% water). Lately I've noticed my scars have finally disappeared so instead of applying my foundation the usual way I mix it with my moisturizer and apply it like that. In areas that I need a little more coverage I add a sprinkle of multi-tasking so my foundation / moisturizer mix.

1 lippie off for the lid. If you bang your foundation into your lid it'll eventually crack and fall apart.. I use a small ceramic dish now.

Would DEFINITELY repurchase. In fact I have about 4 containers of foundation left ^^


on 11/22/2009 9:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm changing my review of this Product after using it for over a month. I'm giving a 3 because all the formulations make my face look shiny after a while. At first, I didnt mind it because I usually have dry skin. But after a while it makes me look like I have oily skin, which isnt ver attractive. The coverage is great and it goes on really well and doesnt break me out.


Back to Top