3.8

Created with Sketch.
140 reviews
62%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Ah, a beauty! If you have a soft spot for jasmine you can't go through life without A La Nuit. Yes, it's a soliflore, the most realistic jasmine perfume I've ever smelled. Not green, not a white floral bouquet, not virginal or shy; just pure true to life unapologetic jasmine. Smells like peaceful summer nights with the bush nearby in full bloom. The opening can be slightly overwhelming but it calms down soon afterwards. I prefer to spray somewhere lower on my body and not the wrists as I enjoy it more wafting around than up close. That said I'm not sure why you should buy A La Nuit instead of jasmine oil since you would get exactly the same result and longevity s mor the greatest either. Still I enjoy the perfume very much and I'm happy to have it in my collection.

About reviewer (944 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

This is my first Serge Lutens fragrance, and I am absolutely thrilled with it. I love soliflores, because there is nothing like the smells of nature and I absolutely love flowers and their scents. Chief among the scents I love is jasmine, and white florals in general, so of course I gravitated towards this queen of all jasmine perfumes. The opening of this perfume is so lush and loud it is almost too much to bear, like having a million jasmine flowers pushed in front of your nose suddenly. But the fragrance calms down somewhat, and this is the part I enjoy the most - a true, fresh, sweet jasmine that is not cloying at all but almost perfectly resembles the smell of real jasmine. Shortly after buying this perfume I got a little jasmine bush, and I compared the smells of the blooms to the perfume and they are virtually indistinguishable. It is like having an instant shot of true jasmine whenever you like. I don't find the perfume indolic at all - I don't smell any rot, or decay, in this perfume. It has perfectly rounded edges, and is pure and clear. I couldn't be happier with my first foray into niche perfumes, and although the bottle was expensive, I am very happy with my purchase. This is a big perfume, a proud statement which perfectly projects confidence and beauty.

About reviewer (113 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Medium, Cool

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

A la nuit is the only jasmine I have that definitely doesn't turn urinous or funky on me; no indoles that I can smell. It goes on slightly synthetic and screechy if I spray, so I prefer to dab. If you spray, you get the immediate reaction, OMG what have I done and is it too sweet? In either case, I don't get moth ball indolic effect. (Sometimes I do get a mothball effect when I spray tuberose criminelle, but not when I dab). On my skin, a dab of a la nuit mellows out quickly into a honeyed sweet jasmine soliflore. Google produced the following suggestions when I searched scent layering and lutens: chergui and a la nuit (which I would not have thought of) and either MKK or Ambre Sultan and a la nuit or a rose soliflore. It's my understanding that lutens officially encourages layering and suggests combinations of up to three perfumes. I don't have occasion to wear this often but I am glad it's in my collection. Therefore my 50 ml is probably a lifetime supply. Sometimes I wonder if it smells generic mainstream. Then I think well, it's a big jasmine. I believe Serge lutens suggests layering Chergui and A La Nuit. I never had the inclination to try the combo, and now that my 50 ml of a la nuit has shattered on the granite floor, I don't think I will repurchase. But, I have a lot of bottles of perfume and jasmine is not my soliflore of choice. I do have many manufacturers samples of creed, including jasmal, which I seem to prefer. I get the impression Jasmal is less sweet, less loud than A la Nuit and also more 'dense.' I also get the sense that Jasmal is less mainstream pleasing. But, I believe that many reviewers have mixed feelings about Jasmal due to skin chemistry issues.

About reviewer (517 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

When I walk the dog early in the morning or late at night, I get hit with the beautiful smell of night blooming jasmine sometimes and that what this perfume is - pure jasmine in all it's glory (which also means it borders on too sweet). I only have touched the surface of Serge Lutens scents but the few I have tried are either very complex or straightforward like this one. Nothing mysterious about what it is - so if you like jasmine, this is a great scent. I gave it a 4 as it does not last long on me and it is fairly faint which is probably good as too much of a good thing can be over powering!

About reviewer (139 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Gorgeous quintessential jasmine floral, completely intoxicating and divine...when too much humid floral is never enough...aah yeah...

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

A la Nuit is the quintessential jasmine soliflore showcasing the Queen Of Night Flower in its sweet musky glory . Gorgeous addictive opening of honey -white-musk and of course all jasmine, the indolic ( fecal - like ) factor is kept in check making this scent highly wearable. The punch is in the opening notes and it soon quietens down to a soft musky jasmine . It is a very realistic jasmine ,very romantic ,quite dreamy. Signature scent worthy for those whom adore jasmine. One lippie off because I wish the scent continued a bit longer with the addictive opening notes . Though depending of skin type and climate, A la Nuit may prove to be a bigger longer lasting scent . I love it.

About reviewer (463 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

As with all Lutens it's either a love or hate relationship it seems. For whatever reason his fragrances evoke a very intense yes or no in the wearer. I have sampled many of this line, own a few, and while I can appreciate them for the art that they are, most I would never wear. A la nuit is one I do quite like and I do wear. For whatever reason on me it is a very soft, almost soapy jasmine and I mean that in a good way, a very, very expensive soap that leaves just enough of the scent to linger and float on the breeze without overpowering those in it's wake. There is nothing cloying or overpowering with my chemistry. Just softly sexy, with enough sweetness to really ramp up the mmmm factor! On first spray I get a burst of jasmine, think summer monsoon, a bit humid, and a breeze floats over the jasmine and it's scent drifts in the wind. The heart notes are soft and sweet with the honey coming into play, to it's final stage the green, crisp, fresh jasmine that stays true to the flower. Nothing chemical here on me. Very clean and linear in this stage, but very nice. Lasts for hours and stays true.. While I can't say I love this frag, I can say it's very wearable and quite pretty. I would recommend trying a sample first, as with all this line.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


2.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I bought a la nuit and used it for a couple of weeks and returned it to Barney's for another SL scent. A la nuit smells nice but it just does not have any lasting power people said they could only smell a faint scent of something on me.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I got a lush jasmine that thinned unacceptably as it dried down and developed that dreaded indole/mothball note. Jasmine has been done a whole lot better than this. It was linear and plain on my skin with that unfortunate mothball scent. Good thing for Lutens that other people got better results.

About reviewer (1714 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

The Jasmine in this one is very evident and whilst I do tend to like floral perfumes, I find there is a very fine line between a great floral and smelling like an old lady, this one for me personally was just too reminiscent of what my Gran used to wear years ago. I did however toy with buying this one, it was a toss up between this and nuit de cellophane, I chose the latter because it was just that little bit more unusual. I love the Serge Lutens range because not everyone wears them, a lot of my friends have not even heard of them, which means I will always smell differently to eveyone else which is far better than smelling the same.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue