KMS California Sea Salt Styling Spray

KMS California Sea Salt Styling Spray
Sea Salt Styling SprayKMS Hairplay sea salt styling spray

3.8

18 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 11/14/2012 11:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This product is just okay. The texture and hold lasts for maybe an hour and then it just leaves my hair limp and feeling dirty. I usually use sea salt spray to get my hair wavy, piecey and thicker. Since they discontinued my favorite (NeXXus Sea Swell Ocean Air Texture Mist), I resorted to this one. It does the job okay but not the best.



on 5/25/2011 5:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I thought this product was going to save me and my limp, fine, wavy hair. It gives me TONNES of body and nice big waves. However, I noticed after using it for a while that my hands started to feel really dry, as though I had been bathing them daily in rubbing alcohol. On further inspection I realized that the alcohol and salt content in this product was FRYING my hair. I still keep the bottle in my bathroom cupboard for special occaisons but I wouldn't DARE use this product on a daily basis.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 7/17/2009 7:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have tried other KMS products and liked them. I did rate this 2 overall as it does add texture to hair. I did like the packaging. But I found this product extremely drying. The second ingredient is magnium sulfate (or epsom salt). Sea salt is way down the list. This product also contains peppermint oil and I do not want my hair to smell minty. I will not repurchase. I loved John Frieda Ocean Waves and have not found a replacement. I do like Sunsilk Sea of Envy wave mist better than the KMS (and much cheaper). My hair is naturally wavy, highlighted blonde.
EDIT to add: I purchased this in Canada from Cosmo Prof (professional distributor/supplier) July 2009

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/1/2012 8:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

It's an okay product. Nothing sprecial really. It's fine to make beach curls with.
I like the sea salt spray from Philip B more because it adds more volume to my hair.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Purchased at Ulta for around $15 and so far just ok - i've been on the hunt for a good sea spray and i don't think is it. I DO like the peppermint scent and the fact that it is not sticky. Don't see too much texturizing, it's very light - would like more definition. My hair is long, fine, naturally curly and is getting straighter with length, thus why i am on the hunt for a good sea spray.


on 8/7/2009 6:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i don't know what everyone is talking about? I bought this product last week at a store called Essentials...I must admit my hair is entirely too straight or maybe is just have no idea how to use it but it doesnt do anything for me... :(


on 5/26/2009 4:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Great for curly or wavy hair, although I'd straightened my hair and then tried this and I looked like I had really messy awful hair. So not sure how it will go for straight hair. I rarely wear my hair curly but when I do I let my hair air dry (I am naturally curly), then tidy the curls later and create depth with my ghd. I then give the curls a bit of a spritz with this and scrunch - it works great for a little hold and gives the curls a natural "lived in" look. I think this bottle will probably last me forever, so I'm not sure if I will even need to repurchase.
EDIT: original review 3/5. Bumped this up to 4 as I've found myself constantly reaching for it when I wear my hair curly. Gives definition and bounce, and just the right amount of "crunch" if you know what I mean.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 7/4/2006 7:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was similar to John Frieda's Ocean Waves Spray and I believe it came out first. Anyway, when I discoverd Ocean Waves was discontinued and going for nearly $40 a bottle on Ebay, I was lucky enough to get 3 bottles of this for $15 + shipping. Similar effect but just not exactly the same. Still an easy way to give your hair a nice summer look when in a hurry in the humid weather. Of course I wouldn't buy it again BECAUSE it's discontinued and I was lucky enough to get a hold of 3 bottles to last me awhile :)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This helps define my curls well. I just spray this on after the show and let my hair air dry when I want my hair natural and curly. I also sometimes spray it at my roots to give me more body when I blow dry my hair out. I will repurchase.


on 7/30/2008 10:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Just to let you girls know I have tracked this stuff down in TJ Hughes (in the UK) for 1 a bottle. I will definately have to stock up!


Popular Styling Products


Elixir Ultime
Elixir Ultime
164 Reviews
Mythic Oil
Mythic Oil
59 Reviews

Popular Styling Products

Elixir Ultime

Elixir Ultime

164 reviews
Mythic Oil

Mythic Oil

59 reviews
Back to Top