3.5

Created with Sketch.
1011 reviews
60%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I'm convinced there is probably no perfect, HG mascara for EVERY person, since lash length and thickness often help determine the outcome of the final look. That said, I am a fan of L'Oreal Voluminous in Carbon Black, since it delivers on more than one level. I have long, fairly dark lashes, but since they aren't too thick, they could use some volume. This mascara helps increase volume and decent amount of length without making my lashes clump up or stick together too much- if I over apply, I simply go through with a metal lash comb. I also like the consistency- wet enough to apply smoothly, but not so much that it's runny and difficulty to layer. I find that it does not dry out quickly, and I use it pretty much every day. Lash separation is pretty good, so I can get a nice fanned out look, as long as a take care when applying. I usually apply over essence lash primer (which I've reviewed), and they go well together for a final, eye-popping look; since it is very dark, it does stand out, but in a good way. I find that I do not have to struggle with removing with a foaming face wash, which is a big plus, since it doesn't contribute to excess lash loss. I have repurchased before, and will continue to do so.

About reviewer (84 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I bought a two-pack of this mascara on Catch after reading the reviews. It looks amazing when you first put it on but within two hours I look like a raccoon! I’ve tried setting powder and setting spray and nothing works. And it’s definitely not a waterproof as it claims. Big thumbs down from me.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Smudges to high heaven.

About reviewer (621 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Dark, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I've used this for several years. It's something you need to replace every month because otherwise it will dry out, flake upon wearing, etc. I find if I put some powder under lash lines it stays put, but if I don't, it will definitely give the raccoon eyes. For the price it is worth buying every month. It separates the lashes and gives great volume and length. What else is there in a mascara??

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

OVERALL: DO NOT RECOMMEND I was looking for a drugstore dupe of my favorite high end mascara (I swear by Chanel inimitable). This one was nice in some respects but overall I WONT REPURCHASE because it gave me raccoon eyes and went all over my eye, smudging upon application. Probably one of the worst mascaras I've tried PROS - Price; affordable - I like the wand - Nicely separated the lashes (didn't clump) CONS - Gave me raccoon eyes. This is pretty major for me and I won't repurchase any mascara that does this - More of this mascara ended up on my undereyes than on my actual lashes. Horrible!!!!!! - Smudged upon application on the upper lid too, thereby ruining any eyeshadows/liners that had already been applied

About reviewer (154 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Smudges and gets under my lash line.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This mascara adds lush volume-and then flaked repeatedly during the day under my eyes. I kept wiping the flakes off and removing my foundation/under eye concealer along with it. The mascara is extremely black and gives thick lashes-but the flakiness is not worth it to me. Too bad-I liked the look of my lashes while it was actually on.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

HOLY GRAIL. I have tried them ALL. High end. - Dior, Lancôme, smashbox, benefit, geurlian, Mac, everythinggg and for 6-8 bucks this mascara beats them all. Honestly, it’s just as good as high end mascaras giving volume, fullness, length, dark black colour, and great wand with the ability to layer for multiple coats. Packaging is also nice. So good. You can’t go wrong.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Wonderful application, gives volume and length. Great color. Unfortunately, by noon, it smudges and transfers on my upper lid and under eye area and it looks just horrible. Will not recommend for summer time / heat waves, oily skin types... Will not repurchase.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This has become my favorite mascara out of everything I’ve tried! No mascara gives me the volume and pigmentation that this one does. The spoolie is the perfect, average wand that makes application easy. It has great pigmentation and makes your lashes really black. Overall, this mascara is amazing and I will definitely purchase it again!

About reviewer (201 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown