3.8

Created with Sketch.
72 reviews
75%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

This stuff made my hair so dry and tangled. I didn't feel any moisture whatsoever. This is probably good for fine and normal hair. My hair is dry, coarse and color treated and it felt like a tangled eggs nest. I will not be repurchasing!

About reviewer (180 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Other

HairBlond

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

For reference, my hair is coarse, thick, naturally wavy, colored, heat-styled, and tends to be dry. I have recently switched to sulfate & silicone free haircare, which has worked wonders in how manageable my hair is, regardless of whether I wear it straightened or natural. I wash 2-3 times per week and will either co-wash with Suave coconut conditioner or use Pantene's sulfate free rosewater shampoo (another new find I'm loving). I bought the TJs spa shampoo to alternate as a more "clarifying" option after seeing it recommended by "real life + curly girl" Alyson on YouTube. I use this maybe once a week or every 2 weeks when I feel like my hair needs a more thorough cleansing for whatever reason. The shampoo itself is clear & thick, chock full of botanicals, and smells lightly citrusy/botanical. It's pretty concentrated, and you don't need much product. It foams really well and does a great job of getting my hair extremely clean without feeling at all stripped or dry. I always follow with conditioner (currently using Tresemme Botanique coconut milk & aloe), and I never have any issues with dryness. I personally think this product does a great job, and I will always keep it in my rotation.

About reviewer (512 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This shampoo is junk. I bought it due to the cheap price and because I needed a moisturizing shampoo, but it actually made my hair drier and harder to manage. My scalp was also surprisingly dry after using this shampoo. I usually get dry scalp during the colder months when I tend to take warmer showers, but I started using this shampoo in the Spring/Summer, so I don't think it was the hotter water temps. I would return but I'm too lazy to take it back for a couple bucks. I'll keep it in the guest bathroom and will go back to Kirkland's moisturizing shampoo.

About reviewer (1635 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Warm

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I used to have very healthy, thick, straight, Asian hair. Now, as the years have gone on and I have had illness, my hair is thin, wavy, delicate, Caucasian-like. I never questioned this shampoo for years -- but now it has stripped my hair and made it awful. Sorry to say, this is going back and I am on quest to find something gentle and nourishing -- I am thinking face wash (!)

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I bought the Nourish Spa shampoo and conditioner at my local Trader Joe's recently. I have fine, straight hair. I love these products. My hair is incredibly soft and shiny after drying. I also love the soft powdery scent. The ingredients are good and the price was only $2.99 per bottle.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I had this about six months to a year ago and liked it, but didn't love how it worked or the weird collagen undertone to the smell. Not much agrees with my scalp, so I toggled back to it. I think it has been reformulated since. My hair is straight, not terribly dry, virgin, standard Caucasian hair and this stuff works really well for me, but I can definitely see that it would be too much for delicate, dry, or treated hair. But my favorite part? The smell now! I was a child in the eighties and this reminds me of the soft, gently perfumed shampoos of then. It smells like a grandmother in the best way possible and I would wear it as perfume if I could. It's reminiscent of an old Nexxus product called AloeRid, with soft touches of florals and the kind of perfume they used to use in cosmetics. It's amazing. I can imagine Blanche, Rose, and Dorothy using it (not Sophia - obviously she was having a wash and set at the beauty parlor).

About reviewer (140 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGray


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This shampoo is SO drying! Granted, I bleach my hair but it's still in good condition. After one wash with this it turned to straw, ugh. I like the matching conditioner just fine but the shampoo is a no go.

About reviewer (191 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Not one of those shampoos that will make your hair feel dry/squeaky literally, necessarily, but I noticed it seriously dried out my scalp and my hair texture would act like it's dehydrated (my hair gets a certain way when it doesn't have enough moisture). Also, I think it might have increased hair loss, but it's hard to tell. Just generally not any better than something like suave (maybe even worse).

About reviewer (54 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this and also the conditioner that comes with it. Most shampoos I've tried make my hair feel extremely dry before conditioning which I hate. This doesn't though and it smells amazing. It's only $2.99 so you can't go wrong and I love that it's cruelty-free! :)

About reviewer (7 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

If you have "normal" hair -- no dryness or damage -- this shampoo is probably great. However, if dryness and/or damage are issues for you, this shampoo will make them worse. I'm sorry to give this a bad review, because I usually love Trader Joe's products.

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us