2.9

Created with Sketch.
50 reviews
40%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I guess I’m in the minority, but I love this mascara—it’s one of my few repurchase/beauty staples. Makes my long lashes look even longer and thicker, stays on all day without flaking, and as long as I wipe away excess product from the wand with a tissue, it gives me a natural-yet-noticeable fan effect, no spider legs.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel



2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Back in the day, my favorite mascara was Lash Out. A long time ago, I got pointed to Voluminous as a replacement and I think the regular wand of this is better. I can't get the curved brush version to work for me. I like that this is a wet formula and both versions need a few weeks of wiping the wand off as too much product gets picked up. Time helps that but this brush is very full and the curve is small due to the bushy brush and it just makes a mess. I have longer, thin lashes so if I could just get the mascara on my lashes this might work but the brush inhibits that process. I use a couple of swipes and then go in with Clump Crusher to get the tips and try to remove any blobs. Overall, there is just too much work with this and a lot of trying to correct short comings. I give it a couple lippies as I think the formula is good so I suggest the regular wand.

About reviewer (142 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I like this mascara as it makes my lashes look full, long, and voluminous (hence the name). The colour itself though is extremely pigmented and the blackest black I have seen in a mascara. The formula is a little bit too runny for me, which leads to smearing under my eyes, which makes me look even more tired than I actually am. Also, the stopper of the bottle does a very poor job in depositing the needed amount of product on the wand. My lashes sometimes can loose their curl (even after using an eyelash curler) with this mascara, as it applies a lot of product on my lashes in just one coat. I always end up with so much excess on the brush which makes the application messy. It gets on my eyelids and my waterline every time I use it. Even though I like how it makes my lashes look (most of the time), I would not repurchase due to the cons of the product and because there are so many mascaras out there that I haven't but want to try and many others that I would repurchase.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This mascara is really nice, the price and quality is good, the brush is sturdy and easy to use. The formula is creamy and runny, but I prefer formulas like that. It doesn't clump or transfer on my lid. It separates the lashes nicely, gives it some volume and length. I have long thick lashes so length&volume aren't a huge deal. The effect isn't very dramatic, it's a watered down version of it, perfect of every day wear, but your lashes still stand out. Overall, a great mascara.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I'm a long-time user and fan of regular old Voluminous, but somehow I accidentally picked up the curved-brush version instead. Didn't think there would be much difference, but this is so smudgy. More than once I would get to work only to find black smears under my eyes--so embarrassing! I hope it's just a problem with this version and not regular Voluminous.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I've been using Benefit They're Real! and it's a superb mascara but I heard there were drugstore brands out there that are as good or better than HE brands at any price. I tried The Falsies (the one in the purple tube with turquoise trim) and LOVE it, but mostly for nights out as it creates a very bold, very black lash. I needed a reliable daytime-look mascara and I was told to try regular L'Oreal Voluminous, and when I saw this one with a curved brush on sale BOGO50% so I grabbed it. I have straight, short dark lashes, so I prefer a curved brush. I always "wiggle" the brush in the tube (don't pump!) then "wiggle" it at the base on both sides of my lashes, then "push back" on the tips of my lashes in front and hold a moment to form a natural curl. I have never been able to get the hang of lash curlers. I am not one of those people that can slap on mascara super fast; I would put and eye out if I tried that. Maybe that's why I've had more success with this particular product than some other reviewers. This mascara is more of a charcoal color and with a slightly goopy consistency out of the tube, but it goes on very smooth with no clumping on my lashes. Although not as carbon black as I'd like, it is plenty dark enough for a daytime look, and when combined with tightlining on my upper lid it gives my lashes the appearance of lots of volume. Since I'm happy with The Falsies as a nighttime look (and I have two extra tubes stocked up from sales) I will stick with that and use Voluminous Curved for daytime. I will definitely buy again and do recommend to friends.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

EDIT: I had to update my review because my opinion has changed. Now halfway through the tube, this mascara clumps a lot and very easily. I can't get through the second coat without clumps. Placing an order for my Buxom soon... I am not a fan of over the counter make up period! My go to mascara is Buxom by Bare Essentials. It's my fav but it does dry up fast causing me to go through a tube per month. Frankly, I can't afford $20 mascara all the time... So, I've heard good things about L'Oreal Voluminous so I had to give it a shot ($8 bucks how could i not?) I am shocked to say I am very pleased with this mascara. I LOVE the curved wand which works well with my small eyes. It reaches all my lashes with one swipe and is very easy to build without clumping. I like the wet formula because I prefer my lashes to be super dark, long, and full and this formula does just that. It does not compare to my Buxom but for the sticker price it sure comes close. I will purchase this mascara again when I can't get to Sephora.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrown, Relaxed, Coarse

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I'm so disappointed with this product. Usually I'm a sucker for a curved brush and can make pretty much any mascara with one work... then I bought this. My lashes are pretty long, not super super long, but not short my any means. They lack thickness and are blonde on the tips. I usually go for a voluminous mascara. The claims on the packaging of this mascara sold me on it. I was previously using the Colossal Mascara by Maybelline, but it flakes if used on lower lashes so I decided to just try this. Let me tell you, it's claims to be non-clumping and flake-free are false. It does flake - not bad - but still, it does. My biggest issue is that it is a PAIN IN THE A$$ to put on! The brush comes out of the tube with way too much product on it. Even if you clean it off, this stuff is just way clumpy and gets all over my lids and there's no way to control the eyelid smears because of the curve of the brush, the bristles and the ridiculous amount of product on the brush. I'm stopping tonight to get something else. This mascara is crap. I wish I had kept the receipt so I could return it. In the trash it goes.

About reviewer (204 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I should have looked here before buying this mascara, even though I wicked deal on it. The curved brush is a mess...so much mascara to wipe off before you can start application and even then, it's totally clumpy. I might try the straight brush instead, but there would have to be a good sale price attached for me to truly consider it.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I like the L'Oreal Voluminous Mascara with the regular wand, but the curved wand is a disaster! Way too much product comes out and if you don't wipe most of it off it is very difficult to apply (wet and clumpy.) Stick to the straight brush!!

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown