MAC Cosmetics Frost - Ricepaper

MAC Cosmetics Frost - Ricepaper

4.5

354 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Zinc Stearate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol [ /- Silica, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Carmine (CI 75470), Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288), Ferric Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140)]

Start your review


on 12/27/2018 3:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is not as white or frosty as Phloof! and def not as intense as Nylon. I love how discrete Ricepaper is. I can put this anywhere and not feel over the top. Ive tried Nylon and felt it was way too bright and stark. Phloof! was very pretty pinky fairy-like but still a bit loud for daytime wear. I gotten Ricepaper and now i can say ive offcially stopped searching for my perfect highlight. Its a very natural sheen and matches my skintone perfectly. I am nc20 C1 and it blends in with my skin but adds a gentle ethereal glow. I love this because it looks natural but also makes me look glowy from within. I can use this on the cheekbones as well as eyes. Its not as pigmented as the others but i like it on the subtle side. My favorite ways to use this is in the inner corners with a dark burgundy brown smokey eye(Texture, Brown Script and Embark/Costa Riche). Or popping it in the center of my lids with a goldy cooler brown daytime look with Cork in the crease Def repurchase.

Edit- if you find this not as pigmented or bright i suggest using it wet! Fix + would work and it just intensifies it but it does not look harsh at all. I use the Urban Decay finger brush.



on 8/29/2017 12:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

MAC has been d/c left and right. I periodically check mac website for no reason other than to make sure they are still carrying this national treasure.

This is my ALL TIME favorite eyeshadow!!! I will love it til the end of times.

I'm nc20, neutralish. Love this in the lid, as an inner corner highlight, under the brow. Wear it alone, wear it to warm up a look. Whatevs. It's perfection.

Variety is the spice of life but if I could have only one eyeshadow ever for life it would be mac ricepaper.

Fun fact! It's actually the first mac shadow I bought.

Went in for nylon, left with this.

Mac ricepaper if you're reading this know you are special and loved, you yellowy champagne butter perfection you!

8 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 5/8/2017 3:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think everything about this shade has already been said i.e. yellowish-gold-ivory. I'm NC20 skin tone. I find this shade to be very subtle and I needed multiple layers (i.e. it has poor pigmentation compared to other Mac e/s in my collection). It also feels quite stiff. I do think for someone with my skintone, this is great as a highlighter or as a subtle wash over the lids.

A combo which I do like for a subtle wash of color (great for work) is Ricepaper on the lids, Satin Taupe on the outer v and Wedge as a transition to blend it all out. I borrowed that from another user here, VanRaamsdonk.

I probably won't repurchase this because I have too many similar colors and with better formulas than this.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 5/5/2017 10:09:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This shadow was once a staple in my collection but has since been replaced by a more pigmented shadow of the same colour family Nylon. Rice paper is a light yellow-cream colour with a frost sheen. On application is much sheerer than Nylon. It's a pretty ethereal colour, excellent as a highlight shadow. It's a good starter colour.


on 6/24/2016 12:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Another favorite MAC eyeshadow of mine apart from Soba - I love this for almost the same reasons. It is the perfect eye brightener on me. I adore Ricepaper all over my lids for a crisp eye, it makes me look so awake. On me it goes almost a gleaming gold that's very subtle yet opens up my hooded eyes. Top with liner and mascara and I am good to go. Otherwise I use it as my base color for all the other neutral browns in my collection. However, I find Ricepaper is also brilliant with bright colors and I've been loving it with orange eyeshadows too.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 6/14/2016 10:50:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Im an nc15 in mac and i was looking for a browbone highlight for the summer so i picked up ricepaper based on the good reviews it has here but when i went ahead and applied on my browbone IT DOES NOT SHOW UP!! And i went pretty heavilly with it but it just wont show up. Is just an useless eyeshadow for me and we don t have back to mac here in chile so it will just go to the trash

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

There's nothing really wrong with Ricepaper but, on the "Exciting Highlighter Scale", it barely registers a blip.

I really only purchased this shadow because MAC lowered the prices on their Pro Pans (my preferred "format" anyway). I'd known of Ricepaper's existence since I first got into makeup but I had quite a collection of highlighters that I really like so never really bothered to get it even though I know a lot of people rely on it and love it. But it was always in the back of my mind and the new lower price has been enough for me to start madly buying up all those "back burner" shadows. When I first tried to get Ricepaper, it was sold out; a few days later, it was restocked and I grabbed one. For a "frost", I find it rather dull and, given the name, I find it far more flesh toned than I was expecting. I guess I thought it would be more like Dazzlelight or Nylon. When I see swatches on line, it looks so much more shimmery and just more like what I was expecting/hoping for. I can't believe I got a "dud", so maybe I have to fiddle with it a bit more to get the true colour to show through but, as it stands now, I wouldn't repurchase.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 9/11/2015 8:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Best highlight colour for my nc20 skin. Not too in your face but still noticeable.
One of Mac's best eyeshadow, I reckon.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ricepaper is the PERFECT highlight for my skin tone! Because my skin has yellow undertones, the yellow hue in Ricepaper just blends in with my skin and adds a SLIGHT glow to my inner corner and brow bone, and doesnt look like a highlight at first glance. For reference I have over the years tried Shroom, White Frost, Phloof!, and Nylon, but this is by far the best because it doesn't pull silver or white on me. I have very almost hit pan on this and will definitely repurchase!
The only downside to this, is that it isn't very buttery. But the colour is worth it for me.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 5/30/2015 11:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have deep set eyes, and I use this on my lid and in the inner corner of my eye. It's a gorgeous colour against my NC30 skin (almost like a 'my skin but better' look - a light golden champaign colour). I do have to apply 2+ layers of it though as it's not extremely pigmented. But once I've layered it (and used primer underneath), it stays on a long time.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Back to Top