Differin Cream

 Differin Cream
DIFFERIN CREAM

3.9

123 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Differin Cream: contains adapalene 0.1% in an aqueous cream emulsion consisting of carbomer 934P, cyclomethicone, edetate disodium, glycerin, methyl glucose sesquistearate, methylparaben, PEG-20 methyl glucose sesquistearate, phenoxyethanol, propylparaben, purified water, squalane, and trolamine.

Where to Buy



Start your review


Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have suffered from acne since the age of 14, up until 6 years ago I went to a dermatologist in Mexico. At the time I had tried everything for my skin and at the time had been using SKII product line. She told me to scrap everything, handed me a Glytone mild face wash, tube of differin and eltaMD suncreen. Since then I have continued the use of all 3 and my skin has never looked better. It not only cleared up my skin but works wonders on wrinkles. It does require patience, results are bot immediate, the first 6-8 weeks you break out, skin is sensitive but afterwards it is all worth it.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.



on 6/12/2018 7:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I decided to try Differin to brighten my middle-aged skin. I tend to get congested skin (small bumps under skin, rarely develop into whiteheads) and a rougher texture if I'm not careful with regularly washing and exfoliating. 10 years ago I had tried retin-a and seriously burned my face so I was a little worried, but I was tired of having dull-looking skin.

My routine:
PM: after cleansing, I apply my eye cream (VitaMedica Arnica and K cream) and press La Mer the Treatment Lotion (hyaluronic acid based essence) into my skin. Then I apply Pacifica Super Flower Rapid Response Face Oil (dupe of Sunday Riley oil) as a buffer, and a pea-size blob of Differin on top.
AM: after cleansing, MUAC Ph-Prep toner (glycolic and lactic acid toner), then a serum and moisturizing sunscreen before my make-up.

The first week I did get a little purging around my mouth and nose with the bumps, gone after a couple of weeks. Managed not to burn my skin at all thanks to the buffering oil; the texture is refined and my face is so soft! Everything looks flawless once I get my foundation on, I still can't believe it. I have to be careful with putting sunscreen on now, or my face gets blotchy pretty quickly when I go outside.
Differin is a HG keeper for me; the cost is way less than a Retin-a prescription and I'm very happy with the results; I used to do lactic acid or phytic acid peels to keep my skin clear but I don't feel that I need them anymore with the Differin.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/29/2017 5:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Im reading reviews from last year😑 but it seems like not very good
I am curently using this one im not in my first week yet and im not seeing improvements which is understandable. Ill comeback here if i see some results


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This does work. It takes time and it needs to be used in combination with other key skin care tips.
You can get this prescribed by your doctor if it's the right choice for your skin. The cream is more gentle than the gel. It can be drying so use a good moisturizer. Make sure your moisturizer is oil free though.
Skin care tips:
Do not pick your skin. Seriously. This is going to be your biggest helper.
Use moisturizer that's oil free.
Drink plenty of water.
Lower stress as much as possible. Meditation. Watch comedies. Read shameless teen fiction.

10 of 13 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was on accutane a month ago, my skin was perfect for 6 months until I finished my treatment last month, I then started getting acne, went back to my doctor who prescribed Differin for me. I must say I don't like the product. I've been using it for 6 days now, I know it's too early for me to be writing a review, but I will keep on updating you guys.

My acne got much worse, extremely worse, I can't even look at myself in the mirror, I didn't go to work today, I'm a teacher so imagine how many learners I have to see each day.
My skin is flaky, but not yet peeling. I have blisters and I look like I have third degree burns.
My skin now cannot stand anything, it is extremely painful because of this. I can't wait for end of the month so I can see a bit if results.


on 8/18/2016 7:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been taking Differin on and off for the past year.
Background info: I have always had sensitive skin and have been enjoying clear, flawless skin in my mid-late 20's, but as I was approaching 30, my skin went haywire (hormonal acne among other reasons), and I would often get breakouts, usually around my chin and lower face, though I do have a couple of small spots on my cheeks as well. It's like being in my teens and early 20's all over again. I've also started travelling alot the past year (work related) so that's another reason for my breakouts, dealing with climate changes, jet lag, stress, poor nutrition from skipping meals due to how busy I've been. I have lost 10 pounds without intending too, while I'm happy with that, I'm not happy with the condition of my skin (or my hair, started experiencing hair-fall as well, but that's another story).

Anyways, I have used the both the cream and gel (0.1), I personally prefer the cream for my sensitive/dehydrated/combination skin. I get some flakiness and a little peeling (mostly around the infected area), but that's about it. My breakout is currently pretty bad around my chin (4-5 painful cystic lumps), with a couple of small spots on my cheek. I'm also taking Doxycycline this time around. The last time I was on Differin (8 months ago), I did not experience any 'purging' (thank G-d!), just flakiness. On Differin, my cystic acne would heal alot quicker (when combined with doxycycline and benzoyl peroxide), scarring heals much faster and I also see a huge improvement in my skin texture (smoother, less porous).

Breakdown of my routine:
PM:
Doxycycline, one 100mg dose after dinner.
Differin spread thinly all over the face after cleansing my face with Dove bar, then wait 10 minutes and spot treat acne with benzoyl peroxide.

AM:
Cetaphil moisturizer.
La Roche-Posay sunscreen if I have to be outdoors (currently avoiding the sun as much as I can and am taking a break from make-up until the cystic acne on my chin goes away)
I also take a zinc supplement (25mg) with vitamin C (500mg) after breakfast. (Zinc supplements helped me with my acne problems when I was in my early 20's...heals them much faster! Google the role of zinc, crash dieting in my college days made me zinc deficient and supplementing on it cleared out my skin in a few weeks).

An important tip is to drink plenty of water! it helps out with the dryness, and flushes out any 'nasties' from your system, meaning you see results quicker.
Bottomline: It works, but you may need to supplement it with antibiotics if your acne is of the cystic variety. Make sure you are eating healthy and not deficient in any nutrients. Drink enough water. Use mild cleansers and moisturizers. Sunscreen is your best friend, never leave home without it, especially while on Differin. In my country, Differin is available for purchase at any drugstore without prescription and costs less than US$7 per tube.

UPDATE: It's been a little over 6 weeks since I went back on Differin, my skin is completely clear and feels/looks really smooth, my dry patches have improved alot. My scars have faded too! I have stopped taking Doxycycline 2 weeks ago (was only on it for a month). I am still taking zinc supplements, but I've lowered the dose to 15mg a day, it's kept hormonal acne at bay! I now use Differin (switched to gel now, these days I prefer gel to cream) every other day, and will reduce to 2-3 times a week next month.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Hello all i am using this cream from last 3 years and it hassel free cream having no side effect easy to use with better result.


on 5/14/2016 2:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm glad this vitamin A gel exists, it rescued my face and cleared it up in a couple of weeks with only a few pimples and a couple of cystic acne lesions left.

I've had problem skin for most of my life, had been on accutane a few times in my teens and twenties. Over the last 5 years my skin was almost free of acne, could even experiment with moisturizing creams and different cleansing gels which previously always broke me out immediately. Anyway, to make a long story short I had read some reviews on the oil cleansing method so I thought I try it as I would like to incorporate more natural cosmetics into my skin care routine. The oil cleansing method didn't work for me, review under OCM, my face was covered over the past month with cystic acne again which seemed to increase by the day. To the rescue came Differin gel, I still had half a tube of it in my bathroom drawer, hadn't used it for at least half a year as I found it was too drying for my face and made it look very blotchy and my spots from previous acne seemed to be highlited. But I was desperate so I completely stopped using any oils for my face and started using only Differin gel before going to bed at night and Vitamin C serum, 100% EGF serum and PTR 10% Glycolic acid moisturizer & foundation during the daytime and my face calmed down and is so smooth and acne scarring has greatly improved. My skin also adjusted quite quickly to it and it's not too drying either as it was before when I used it months ago (it was probably saturated in oil which I had used for approx. 2-3 weeks).

As I said my skin is almost clear. I'm so glad I had Differin gel on hand. May be others can use more natural products, it just doesn't work for my skin. Will definitely continue using this gel at night as preventative measure later on since I don't want my skin to have to go through another bout of cystic acne ever again!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It made my skin clear. Been using it for four years now.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been waiting for 12 weeks to be up before posting my review and I'm glad I did! I went through the phase of wanting to stop as the product over the first month or so made my skin super sensitive and sore. I only used it round my jawline because that's where my acne is although I do get the odd few spots elsewhere. I didn't get a crazy breakout period like most people do although it took a long time to see the benefits. 3 months down now and although o get the odd spot pop up it goes quickly and generally my skin looks a million times better! So happy! Stick with it!!

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Back to Top