3.8

Created with Sketch.
333 reviews
66%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I bought this in the Summer and didn't like it at all so it ended up in the back of my makeup drawer. I tried it again a few weeks ago, in the Winter, and really like it! So I will definitely use this in Winter and find something else for Summer. Just for a bit more information, I live in Barcelona which has extremely high humidity so I'm sure that has something to do with it.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen



1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

It is meant to smooth out wrinkles and pores before makeup approval. I found it to do nothing on my superficial fine lines, while it clogs my pores. The upside is that it works well as a makeup primer, so I use it under my foundation so that it stays very matte all day long. I’d say that I can live without this product.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Like Monistat chafing gel and numerous primers, this has silica powder suspended in a silicone base. It mattifies skin slightly, which "blurs" pored and wrinkles - just like how shiny highlighters make them look worse - without feeling as drying as most powders, or having a white cast or tint (on my super pale skin anyway). - It's in no way a moisturizer or other skin treatment, unless you think your skin benefits greatly from said silicones with a little vegetable shortening added + silica powder. (Which I guess could be the case depending on what you're planning to add on top!) So, I'm gonna compare it to Monistat gel. - I just applied each to half of my face; immediate effect is identical to my eyes: less texture, which comes from cutting skin sheen without looking powdery. I'll check in again in a couple of hours to see if I can tell any difference then. UPDATE: well it's 4 hours later and I'd definitely be a lot shinier on both sides without anything - still no perceptible difference. - As for "pore-filling" effect, the Clarins thicker texture feels more likely to have that, but I don't think either of these does actually. Looking in a 10x mirror I don't see tell-tale white dots in my pores (again, I'm very pale) on either side. I really think the actual skin surface is about the same, just blurred thanks to the cut sheen. The fact that I can't see any difference with/without either of these under powder foundation seems to confirm that. - Ingredients-wise the base is very similar, but the Clarins primer has hydrogenated vegetable oil among the top 5 or so ingredients, and many more ingredients much lower down. - It's firmer and has a creamier/greasier feel, where the Monistat is (even) slicker, more slippery and feels a bit more powdery. - So far I've never noticed any longevity-difference under makeup with either product. - And I don't even see a visual difference with vs without either product under BareMinerals og foundation, in regards to pores. One of these days I'll try to do a proper half-face comparison. Also under different liquid foundations. As of yet I haven't seen it add anything under Mac face & body. - As of now, only real use I see for either of these on the face is when you want to go without any base products, but still cut skin texture & shine a bit. If I were a man very concerned about gender presentation but also about my pores, this might appeal to me. - Oh, bonus tip: the monistat gel on top of shiny lipsticks works the way that the Smashbox Insta-Matte Lipstick Transformer advertises that it works. That is, it gives a semi-matte finish (without the formula acting like an actual matte lipstick, so it doesn't make it more long-lasting, less transfer-prone or drying.)

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I wasn’t looking for a primer when I first bought this product, a saleswoman asked if I would be willing to try it and since I had no makeup on at the time I went ahead and let her apply some to my face. She did half my face then held a mirror up for me to see the results side by side with my clean face. I bought it immediately despite it being way more expensive than the rest of my makeup collection combined. It’s worth going into a department store and trying for yourself before purchasing... either you are going to be astonished at the way it hides pores and evens out imperfections, or your experience will prove to be entirely different than mine. I tend to break out/when using most primers or moisturizers but I never had an issue with this despite the less hygienic jar packaging. There were days I wore just this primer without anything over it, that’s how good it is. I would recommend this especially for those with large pores. A little goes a long way. I have been trying to find a comparable primer that cost less and have not even come close

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I don't use this daily, only on the odd special occasion, but if I did, I can see this lasting forever as a little goes a long way, dispelling any doubts I had when purchasing such a tiny sized product (0.5 fl oz). As a primer it does the trick. Pores - especially on my nose, and fine lines are instantly blurred, creating a good base for my foundation. I have to stress though that you really don't need to use much because if you do it has the tendency to make anything applied on top slip right off. At the right amount you will get a good base for foundation that will help m/u stay on longer whilst leaving a nice matte finish, or as I discovered I can just use a powder on top and not require anything else for a 'barely there' look - useful if you don't have the time to apply the works but still require some kind of coverage. It's a very silicone-heavy primer with no real skin benefits, just cosmetic ones that last only until you wash your face at night. Other than vegetable oil and some Vitamin E there is nothing of benefit in here, just a long list of chemicals and FOUR types of silicone (those like myself who cannot tolerate silicones beware!), hence why I try not to use it too often. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled many 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This is just a classic product that does the job it advertises. I don't understand some of the reviews below. It's not a skincare product. It's not going to improve your skin texture long term and doesn't have anti-aging benefits. Today, it's a really basic primer. There are more innovative primers out there now and there are less expensive products that may do the same thing, but this is still a classic. I smoothe on a bit around my nose where I have enlarged pores. I have dry, dehydrated skin and it helps smooth out some texture issues as well. It's a good primer and does a nice job of filling in to create a more seamless base. A small pot lasts me years. I have a number of other primers now, but still enjoy Clarins.

About reviewer (140 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This product claims to leave you looking "almost perfect". Seems you have to already be almost perfect if you use this product. Did nothing special. Wish there was an actual primer out there that worked for people who actually need one...

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have a problem with very large pores on my nose (from blackhead extraction gone wrong some years back, so I'm left with permanent mini crates...my nose looks just like the surface of a strawberry up close lol)...plus a few noticeable ice-pick scars on my right cheek. Apart from that, I have pretty decent, smooth-textured skin. Anyways, this stuff blurs all the imperfections away and filled in the little crates and ice pick scars. My skin looks smooth and perfected even upclose. I apply it directly on my nose and scarred areas (patted on AFTER foundation then set with powder...or before pressed powder if I'm skipping foundation). I only use the tiniest amount where needed, it's more of a 'spot-corrector' or 'spot-filler' for me. Due to the price and the thick, sillicone-y texture of the cream, I would not feel comfortable using it all-over my face as a traditional primer...I can get a cheaper primer for whole face use. This stuff does make my nose shinier than usual later in the day, but it's nothing a little powder can't fix...as long as the giant pores stay hidden, I'm happy! This product is a game changer for me. I will always repurchase for as long as my skin does not react negatively to it.

About reviewer (107 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Skin type: combination but more on the oily side. Sensitive with some acne scarring. Hi guys! I've literally just joined this site and thought I would review this FAB product first! I've been using this for a good few years now. I LOVE the feel of this product on moisturised skin. It feels soft and very smooth. I apply a 'good' amount all over my face (not too much though) and wait for a couple of minutes. This primer works like a dream with liquid foundations. I find my foundation is easier to apply, my skin looks more even and it helps control the oils, especially on my cheeks. I have tried other products but always come back to this one. I would defo recommend it! Ok so the price tag might be on the high end for such a small pot (£26.50) but I do believe it is worth it! I'm not keen on the glassed packaging because when you only have a little product left in the pot, it is difficult to scoop the product out due to the inside rim. So if you use your fingers and have long nails, you will struggle to scoop every last bit! I haven't noticed much difference to my fine lines and pores but I do feel it just 'works' with the rest of my make-up. Hence I gave it a 4* rather than 5. This primer is not itchy, flaky or smelly like some other primers. Hope this helps!

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I wouldnt buy this again because it did absolutely NOTHING for my enlarged pores . It's ultra expensive and it doesn't work

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us