3.4

Created with Sketch.
79 reviews
48%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range
$250.00 on Nordstrom
Shop Now

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

So much fragrance, so many problematic ingredients! But people like to be fooled by high prices and good line filling effects.

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

SI CHER. Littéralement si cher, mais définitivement le vaut. Je pense que les soins de la peau sont la chose la plus importante, et que cela vaut vraiment la peine d'investir. Ma peau brille depuis que je l'utilise. va certainement le recommander à mes amis

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Rich textured pearly beige cream with very La prairie specific luxury scent in wonderful glass jar. When i was super oily skin owner it was too rich for me, now when i have oily, but dehydrated and fragile skin - i dont feel it somehow rich or super nourishing. Yes, you can feel rich texture, but the feeling is, that it does not penetrate into deeper skin layers. So the upper layer of epidemis is very soft, but you can still feel the fragility of skin. It changes when you use rich serums (preferably from LP). But alone it is NO from me. I already gave third chance to it. I guess, packaging stole my heart, as La Prairie itself.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is packaged beautifully but I just cannot get past the smell of this cream. It's disgusting, it seriously smells like somebody's grandmother's old perfume that's been sitting on their bureau for 35 years. The smell is so strong it actually woke me up the first night! I had to change my pillowcases the next night because the scent was still so strong,

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Super dry skin due to too much sun, and my current Dior Capture serum and cream basically sat on my face like an oily mask. The Darphin 8 flower nectar at night didn't do anything either, again just sitting on my skin and highlighting my wrinkles. I was given 2 sample packets of this caviar cream and decided that I had nothing to lose. As soon as I put it on, my face sucked it in and the skin became much softer and more softly luminous. The smell is over-powering floral, making me sneeze, the price is exorbitant, and I'll keep on trying it until I can make up my mind. But for the first time in a week, my face doesn't feel tight and dehydrated. Update soon! I have been using it on and off a few months now, and I really like it. VERY expensive, but my face is soft and looks a bit dewy. I may save and buy one after all.

About reviewer (70 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

To be fair, it is an ok product. Way too expensive for what it does. If I use it during the night, it does make my skin look slightly better the next morning. But does does many other creams. The smell is too strong. I do not have sensitive skin, but it burns my skin a little bit. Really not worth the money. I will only re-purchse it if and only if it is priced at $50.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Don't be fooled by the hype! This is an average moisturizer. Actually in a lot of ways, this may even be worse than average. Pros: This feels wonderful on the skin. Alas though, it feels no different than a silicone product really, with the exception f being less heavy maybe. And...that's really the only positive I got from use. Cons: Well pretty immediately after applying this I began sneezing and my nose was running. The amount of scent in this product is OUT OF CONTROL. It's a mixture of powdery florals, soap, and some unknown perfume likely enjoyed by retired women who play cards in big hats whilst getting drunk on dirty martini's before 11 am. The ingredients also just aren't all that exotic or innovative, esp. considering the $450 price tag - some are irritants for sure. And for the record I did not purchase this: I had about 10 samples (=10 days of use) from various Nordstrom orders so I finally decided to use them for review. Now to be fair or play devil's advocate here, maybe fans of this who are giving rave reviews are using this for months at a time and seeing some results I didn't in my short trial, I have no idea. If that's the case I will never know because 1) the scent made me give up 4 days in and 2) I am not spending this kind of dough on a face topical product. And trust me when I say (or embarrass admit) that I have spent a LOT on products, be it a $6 product or one for $300. Note also that I have tried many La Prairie products and both hits and misses abound equally. This one is for sure just not worth it.

About reviewer (497 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

I really want to love this product and i feel weird writing this but for some reason ... When i apply it my skin feels a slight burn..and i want to wash it off. The scent is strong! I dont know if its just me or anyone experienced the same thing. And no i wont repurchase this and i had my face had breakouts on my forehead.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Best cream I've ever used. I wouldn't say I have tried all the "BEST" cream in market, but a few. I have oily acne skin, and the first sign of age has already started to show. I don't have any wrinkle, actually I think in these days, wrinkles are not the most terrifying sign of age, but I start to notice the skin on my face is not as firm as it used to be. The biggest problem for me is, as I mentioned, I have rather oily skin with acne, so I can't really use too rich cream for mature skin. La Mer works fine, but it is just a good moisturizer, with a bit repairing effect and nothing else. Most high end cream from Estee Lauder break me out, well on the other hand, something like SK II stempower is light and fresh but not strong enough for anti-aging. My favorite skincare products before Caviar was Perricone and Darphin Predermine. Perrcione has a special system which mean their creams are all very easy to absorb. I think I would stay with Perricone forever if I didn't start to use La Prairie, which has changed my skin completely. I use Caviar luxe cream, caviar serum (the one you need to activate), eye serum and eye cream, all from Caviar line. I didn't know which one works the best, but I think my skin tone is much smoother, more even, firmer (actually this is the most significant change, my face is much smaller), and with smaller pore. More amazingly, I have less acne. My face looks much much younger, my nose-mouth lines (they are not really wrinkles, just the shadow caused by the loose cheeks) nearly disappear. I actually use the Cellular Power Infusion underneath for two weeks, however, that intensive serum might be too strong and my skin started to peel off. So I only use the Cellular Power Infusion at night, Caviar serum at night and occasionally for am, but luxe cream loyally for both am and pm. I use Caviar eye serum and cream for both night and morning, and my eyes never feel so lifted before, even when I was a teenager. I don't use anything else except Paula BHA and AHA every two weeks, and SKII mask every other day before the caviar cream.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I adore it. Yes, as all the reviews have said, its incredibly expensive and has a very potent and long lasting fragrance (as with most La Prairie products). Its very rich, so a little goes a long way, I'm over 50 and still have very oily but good, wrinkle free skin. I only use it at night over a serum and I use a q-tip full all over the face. It absorbs beautifully and gives a wonderful smooth, hydration and texture to the skin. I use it for the treatment and for the firming and lifting but mostly for the luxurious personal experience that I deserve at the end of a long day.I may also use it after cleansing, toning, serum and before foundation for a night out when I want a really radiant look to my skin. If you're used to using a lot of moisturizer for day and/or night time, then you will probably over use this and experience a reaction and over abundance of fragrance. But if you use the Luxe cream as its intended for treatment and sparingly, you will love it. If you want a basic moisturizer with normal effects, use/buy something else.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Medium Brown

HairBrown

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.