3.3

Created with Sketch.
384 reviews
61%
would repurchase
3.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I took another reviewer’s advice and so I don’t steam my face just wash off with a proper Garnier turquoise coloured cleanser (which she recommends in another review) and tone with non alcoholic toner like witch hazel or even plain purified filtered water. and my sensitive acne prone skin is fine. Been a long time and it’s fine thank goodness. Micellar water by Bioderma fr sensitive skin irritates my skin even when followed with a mild cleanser so I am v surprised that this worked . Some other cleansers that irritate my skin to the point of breakouts, fr unknown reasons: Avene cream cleanser, Aveeno foaming cleanser, a cleanser by Vichy tht i received as s sample tht i forgot the name of, Pond’s cold cream (obviously), some natural cleanser at whole foods by a local company, the Black African soap (tried 2 types both v expensive, although it ws good fr body). Things tht i took well to: this method, Shiseido whip cleanser the creamy one, Pur Minerals’ oil cleanser I use tamanu oil black seed oil camellia seed oil (v cheap at T & T cosmetic brands rip u off n yes it is organic) and tea tree oil mixed together - not much tea tree in the blend (about 15 drops fr a whole bottle’s worth of this oil mix) as it is so very potent. I bought castor oil today just to try if adding it wd make a notable (good) difference. My skin has been clear fr months now using this method (i do not do it every night btw)

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The Oil Cleansing Method was the worst thing to ever happen to my skin!!!! I’ve always had mild acne, I’m 20 and have had it since I was probably 13. Nothing too bad though, just like 3-5 smallish zits on my chin, and the once a month period bump that never fails to plague me during that time of the month.... well anyways, I am obsessed with natural skin care so I decided to try the OCM. It didn’t take long for it to start ruining my skin. I stuck to it for about 5 months (I know, stupid right?) because they say your skin has to adjust to it. My acne became SO severe, ALL over my chin and forehead. I’m talking like BAD BAD. I had never experienced acne like that and I would just cry putting on make up or feeling my face. It was awful. So I stopped using the OCM and grabbed some Alba Botanica ancedote scrub and the toner with it and some Burt’s bees sensitive skin moisturizer. My skin was clear and back to normal within a month. This whole experience was about a year ago, and sometimes I still use rosehip oil if I’m feeling really dry, but I still can’t believe I didn’t stop using this method when my face started freaking out. What a traumatizing experience that was lol. (I tried rosehip oil, jojoba oil, and would sometimes mix with tea tree essential oil. I had also used Castile soap a few times during this “OCM experiment” and it was also horrible.)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Update: Hopefully I can help someone here who may be suffering from bad skin that’s not due to hormones. I had great skin throughout my 20’s and I used nothing but gentle makeup wipes to take makeup off. In the shower just rinse my face with water if I sweated. Sometimes I never even wet my face in the shower so to not dry my face out. I live in New York where the winters are brutal. I got compliments on my skin. I hit 30 years old and decided I should “start taking care of my skin” prevent aging, etc.. boy did I make a mistake. Cleaners, even gentle dried the heck out of my skin. Moistures break me the fudge out. Non comedogenic moisturizers dried me out. Oil cleansers, wtf was I thinking for my acne prone skin. Basically, For the past year I have tried quite a few products and ended up going from great skin to being an active dermatologist patient. My skin is finally going back to normal after I’ve stopped trying new products and stop trying to fix my problems with products. My advice, keep skincare/makeup minimal, use a gentle makeup wipe or bidoerma micellar water to remove makeup. Let your skin heal itself if you are suffering from breakouts. Most acne treatments only irritate the crap out of your skin anyways and just worsens the skin condition. Always Check your ingredients on cosdna or skincarisma or Beautypedia. Sometimes less is more for some people. Edit: 2 months later and still taking antibiotics and now tretinoin.. stopped the benzoyl peroxide and my face is looking much better besides a few clogged pores and major hyperpigmentation. I’ve read people had success with duac and epiduo though..if you are reading the reviews please do not consider this. It seems to work for very few people. Unfortunately I did not look up reviews and just dived right in. If you are breaking out from ocm, please see a dermatologist ASAP.. Run!!! Months ago I used grapeseed oil for my moisturizer.. it was working for a few weeks, my skin was soft and even, even my under eye circles were gone.. after a few weeks my skin became dry/dehydrated.. was not moisturizing at all so I stopped. One month ago I started using it for ocm and I would do anything I could to go back in time and say “stay away”!! The first few weeks my skin looked healthy and glowing.. two weeks in, I was developing under the skin bumps around my cheek, some come to a head while others stayed under the skin.. it eventually went to my other cheek and temples.. i stopped after one month of usage.. stopping definitely helped a little but I noticed the under the skin bumps were still spreading. Bacteria was feasting on the oil.. I got Persa gel 10 which is BP and spread it all over the areas. At bedtime and during the day under makeup.. if you have sensitive skin, you may want to try a lower BP%. Persa gel was slightly drying but I didn’t mind. I’m alo on antibiotics for 1.5 months (doxy) to rid the infection. Hopefully this helps with those who have had similar experiences. I will never go near an oil again for my face. This is not the only time I’ve used products with oil and broke out. (The other products weren’t natural products either). My skin can’t handle oil or any heavy moisturizers, even oils with high Linoleic acid.. my skin always has been flawless with minimal skin care treatments.. it was at its best with washing with cool water in the shower and using non Comedogenic makeup and makeup wipes. I’m done trying to find skincare products that work for me.. going back to water only after I eradicate my acne..

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My skin: combo (dry/normal cheeks, oily T-zone, nose tends to peel sometimes, eeeeeww), blackheads/whiteheads on my nose, lightly acne-prone (I always have at least one-two pimples). This method is good for removing makeup but cleansing your face with it? Nah, I skip. After I remove my makeup with oil I always use micellar water just not to end oily for the rest of the night. Otherwise, I wouldn't use it for any other purpose. Besides, I always get some pimples after using OCM, even though I do my best to get rid of any makeup. Thankfully, there is a cheap mask which helps my acne and gets rid of dirt and bacteria better than this method. So, try it. Love it or hate it. I'm not into this.

About reviewer (188 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

If you care about your sanity at all, DO NOT TRY THIS. ESPECIALLY NOT IF YOU ARE ACNE PRONE!!! Long story short my skin was 70% clear, with the other 30% suffering from hormonal breakouts; that is, until I decided to use OCM. I exclusively use argan oil, which is supposed to be completely noncomedogenic or whatever, which is a complete lie. Within like one week I started to notice little bumps underneath my skin; the texture was just getting rougher. I used the internet, which got me into this mess in the first place, to see what other people's experiences were, and I was reassured that I was just going through a "purging" period. So I kept using the stuff for like three weeks, and my skin got exponentially worse with each passing day, until I just could not do it anymore. I really wish I had a Harry Potter time-turner so I could go back to the day I bought that little amber bottle of demon oil from Trader Joe's, smash it on the ground, and slap myself in the face for experimenting with my skin so much. OCM ended up being the worst thing I've ever done to my skin--and trust me, I have done A LOT. It's taken three months to repair the damage that that damn oil wrecked on my poor face, and I've still not completely recovered.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Neutral

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have never written a review, but I feel like I must. If I could give this a ZERO rating I would. If you are acne prone...DO NOT TRY THIS. Basically, I experienced the exact same things that all the other "OCM ruined my skin" people did. First few weeks, glowing, awesome skin. My breakouts had pretty much stopped and I was even gloating about what an awesome regimen this was. Then about 3 weeks in, I had a minor breakout. I thought I was just purging. I kept going with OCM. About a month and a half in I woke up to find my entire face covered in comedonal white heads. I thought, maybe I wasn't getting all the oil off, so for another couple weeks, I tried double cleansing. After about 3 months, I decided enough was enough, so I stopped... That's when all hell broke loose. It took a few weeks after stopping OCM, but eventually, the whiteheads got inflamed and turned into inflamed pustules and acne. I went to a derm, and everything he prescribed me (CLindamycin lotion, cetaphil acne face wash) irritated my already massively irritated skin. He also gave me an antibiotic I was allergic too, and I developed a liver problem. After stopping that derm's regimen, Cystic acne started to develop on top of the whiteheads and pustules. All of my breakout have been on my cheeks and jawline, where I hardly ever broke out. My t-zone is clear as a bell. Worst part of this breakout is the throbbing pain and itchiness of the acne. It wakes me up at night sometimes. Not to mention the emotional pain. I am so self conscious I hardly leave the house except for work. I've been using Retin A 0.1% for about 6 weeks, which I had success on in the past. I honestly can't tell if my acne is improving with it or not because of all the hyperpigmentation, cysts and new pustules each day, but at least it's stopped throbbing and itching in the last few days. I want to use an AHA and sulfacetamide sulfur cleanser as that cleared me up in combo with the retin-a in the past, but everything is irritating my skin at the moment, so I'm just trying to calm it down and not adding in too many things at a time. I am praying this doesn't take several more months to correct. I'm seeing a new dermatologist this week and hoping he doesn't recommend accutane...that stuff is too scary, especially with a liver condition. I'm also going to try an acupuncturist. This was the worst thing I have ever done to my skin, and I'm kicking myself because it was self-inflicted.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I tried this for a long time and then used it on and off for a few months and overall I'm rather disappointed. I use jojoba oil as a moisturiser and I'm all for natural alternatives, however, my skin just didn't like this. I can't lie: it does work to remove makeup and residue etc but as for the glowing skin, smaller pores, moisturised skin, I didn't notice any difference. Perhaps it because I already use jojoba oil which my skin absolutely LOVES so any improvements were hard to notice. I also tried various oils but with no success. I just use a natural bar soap that my skin has always loved and has always given me soft, clean skin. Overall I didn't see the point in continuing with this as it was more expensive, hard to travel with, hard to store and I'd say annoying to use. Its worth a try but I didn't get the results people talk about.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Tan, Neutral

HairBrown, Kinky, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

TL;DR (oh man I love when others do this so here we are): 2/3 castoir oil, 1/3 corn oil, 10 drops tea tree oil. Two pumps of oil for giving myself a nice face massage. Then I wash the oil away with a gentle gel cleanser with warm water, then serum, eyecream, cream, pure castoir oil in some areas. In about 2 weeks, from dull, acne-prone and overall terrible look, I got a glowing skin, impressive reduction of flaws like blackheads and little breakouts (it won't save you from sparse and random cystic acne, something that occasionally happens to me. For that, I put some pure tea tree oil and sacrifice a lamb to ancient gods on a full moon night), smoother pores, an overall improvement of the quality of my skin. 2 times a day for 1 month and a half and still going strong! SUGGESTIONS (but we're not in North Korea so do what you like): don't use that hot cloth steaming method, like, really, put that cloth down. It's exposing your skin to terrible damage for no reason. Use some warm water and a nice gel cleanser and wash the oil away, don't let it sit on your face! Castor oil is fine, but the other oil will likely work in the opposite direction. Also, take your time and your chances for finding the best combination for you. The web offers many alternatives and ideas but we're all different and react in different ways! Prepare little doses and give each a week of trial. There is NO SUCH THING like a "puryfing period" where you break out like crazy before getting the skin of your life. NOOOO. That's one of the funniest bull___t I ever heard online. If it's the right version for you, nothing will happen, and you will get the first results after a week or two of religious 2x a day use. Hope this helps! LONG BORING READING WHERE I OVERSHARE STUFF (poor you): Thou sweetest cleansing valentine! (I swear I made this us with a Shakespeare generator) Ok so I'm all praises and love for this method. Finding the right version was quite a journey, but once I found the perfect combination, I won't ever give it up! My love for castor oil is endless to say the least. It's the single "natural" method I ever trusted and got results from: made brows grow from nothing, got me Bambi-esque lashes, granted a full pouty mouth that will face the coldest windy temperature, and cancelled (well not permanently, but would you say no to such a miracle?) my deep deep dark shadows under the eyes (a full year sleeping 4- 5 hours each night destroyed any trace of youth in that part of my face). So, what I was waiting for for using it as a cleanser? As soon as I heard about OCM, I jumped on the bandwagon not because I'm into fashion skincare trends, but because I needed an extra excuse to test the limitless powers of castor oil on me. Sadly, the first experience wasn't something I would happily remember. I made it with castor oil, coconut oil (an oil I honestly don't like. I bought many bottles but I never saw any of its alleged miracle results) and some drops of tea tree oil (darling!), and honestly I saw no relevant results. Well: nothing happened. I also tried at the end of summer and, as soon as the temperatures dropped under 25°C (77-ish°F), coconut oil solidified and pumping it out was impossible unless I thought in advance about melting it with the heat of the hands. Clearly my patience didn't last, and within a month I dropped this method from my daily routine. For about 2 months, I did my regular skincare routine - nothing special: gel drugstore cleanser, day/nightcream, and that was that. But I'm slowly aging and all the signs of stress, bad eating, alcohol, lack of exercise and fresh air and usual hormonal issues are starting to show. I experienced a teenage-like acne month and it was so embarassing and I kept covering it with loads of make up, doing worse. Then one day my husband bought me a nice little dispenser (god knows why) and that's when I tried with a lighter oil: corn oil! The good old cheapo for deep frying stuff! It sounds disgusting I know, but it's totally odourless and it's so smooth and nice. Plus, 1 euro=1 litre. Come on! So yeah, 2/3 of castor oil, 1/3 (a little more than that because that castor oil is so thick it's difficult to pump it out) of corn oil, 10 drops of tea tree oil. I then wash it away (no hot cloth for me! It's a dangerous habit for your skin and you should quit it right now!!!!) with a gentle drugstore gel cleanser. Then some serum (hyaluronic acid and vitamin c are my favourites). Some cool eyecream. A very dense night cream with many nice ingredients like hyaluronic acid, q10, and other yummy effective stuff. Pure castoir oil on brows, under eyes area and lips. I also started to run 5 km every day but that's another story. But that's that: with this new mixture, I found the ultimate version I ever needed. Of course I still get breakouts because I eat like a swine and have normal things like menstruation. But it's not a mess like it used to be, no sir. Just one or two breakouts each month. My husband,who usually wouldn't notice if I turned blonde from black,told me I have the beautiful skin I had when we first met me when I was 20, and I'm overall glowing. The husband test is the ultimate litmus test for me, so yeah, I take it as a strong sign of improvement. Blackheads aren't as bad looking as they always been, I don't have to scrub as often as before, pores look smoother, and I'm overall better hydrated. Plus, no more signs of yesterday's mascara in the morning! This helps where the micellar water doesn't (out of laziness, hey! I put 4 coats of mascara, and it's hard to take it off) and melts everything. So. My overall opinion of this is excellent, and would encourage everybody to give it a try (also for oily skins! Yeah you heard me!). It's relaxing, you have this pampering feeling added to your routine, and it works - and I've never believed in "natural" methods or things like that. Just take your time and enjoy!

About reviewer (120 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

All right, I need to start out, by saying, that when I first used the ocm 2 years ago, it was horrible!! Worst thing I could have done to my face. I have medium to moderate acne and I'm 45 years old .. and it has been like this my whole life, and im a picker, yes I hate to say it, but I am... I wanted to go with a natural face cleanes and get away from as many chemicals as I could.... This is what I know about my skin, and this is impotrant for everyone to know. When i would use commercial products , my skin could not tolerate too many products on it all at once, it was over load for my face and broke me out even more, any product that dries your face out (will) break you out I always thought my skin was normal sentive.... turns out its normal/combination. ..I have a oily t zone. But i still wanted to go as chemicals free as possibe in my face cleaning routine..... I looked into a few other options but to no avail, most thing I have tried had too many things in it... So know what your face can tollerate before you start any natural cleaning routine. First things first. .... only use a oil that will not clog your pours this means only use oils that have 0 rating on the comedogenic scale.. do your reaserch! I sugest using 1 oil only for 2 weeks and see how that oil reacts to your skin. Remember your face should not go throught any ( purge stage), that all the ocm will say is normal. Your acne should not get worse . It should start to improve the first time you ues it . I will tell you as well that any one with acne should also look for a oil that has a higher persentages of linoleic oil then oliec oil as this is better for acne skin..... My method: Night routine I use organic sunflower oil, only! Use clean hands Put a quarter size amout of oil, rub hands together and apply to dry face I do this for about 1 minute or so but u can do it longer if u want. I use a clean micro face cloth with warm water, to take the oil off (I DONT STEAM)...as its can cause wrinkles..... who wants that! Then I use 2 drops of sunflower oil to moisturize, and thats it. Morring routine: I use a nowex makeup remover cloth with warm water.. Then I add 2 drops of sunflower oil, to moisterize, and thats it ...... I also use a scrub every other night 1 use table spoon of poppy seeds and 1 teaspoon of sunflower oil. Method : Do the ocm for night, but with one change, when you take off your oil use a dry face cloth to wipe off. Gently massage the scrub over your face, then use a warm face cloth to remove scrub Finish off with 2 drops of sunflower oil.. I have been doing this for a month now and I have minor to no brake outs at this point... Take away : Understand you skin and what it likes, and doesn't like! Chose a non comedogenic oil rating of 0 Use a oil with a higher percentage of linoleic oil if acne prone Your skin should never go through a "purge" period. if you break out worse with in the next 3 days your using the wrong oil... Hope this helps Willow

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

One thing I want to make very clear is that oil used as a cleanser alone will break me out. Coconut, olive, rosehip...most oils, give me cystic acne. Jojoba and mineral oil are trustworthy in my book as they are not plant based. HOWEVER even those two solely used as a cleanser will leave me with pimples. I've spent a lot of time looking into why and it turns out it's not even the oil itself in this case that's the culprit. It's the fact that oil does not mix with water so little traces of the oil AND make up/SS get left on my skin. Enter polysorbate 80. This is a cheap emulsifier and changed everything. Emulsifiers make the oil mix with water, and also have cleansing agents in them so the oil rinses CLEAN. Polysorbate 80 actually comes from olives, yet surprisingly does not break me out. Most recipes call for 1/10 emulsifier and 9/10 oil. I put about 6/10 oil and 4/10 emulsifier because I'm not kidding when I say I don't want any oil left behind. This is probably too stripping of an equation for normal skin but I have very oily skin. My former holy grail cleansers are: Bioderma Sensibio, Simple Micellar Water, and Cerave Hydrating Cleanser. *I would still recommend those in a heartbeat*. I didn't stop using them due to them not working anymore. I stopped using them ONLY because cleansing oil has some slight advantages: -Cost. I don't skimp when it comes to skincare as you can tell by my reviews, but this is something to consider. Emulsifier from Garden of Wisdom is about $5. Snow River Mineral Oil is about $5. That's $10 total for a bottle that will last you 3-6 months. I was happy to pay $10-$20 a month for cleaner before. -2 birds with 1 stone. Before I would remove make up with oil and follow up with a cleanser. Cleansing oil now removes my make up/sunscreen and leaves me with very clean skin. -Less ingredients is a huge pro for my acne-prone/sensitive/rosacea-prone skin. This has 2 ingredients and I know for sure that my skin tolerates both. Premade cleansers have at least 10+ and there's always ingredients I wish I could take out. You get to customize your cleansing oil when you do-it-yourself. My skin is a lot calmer from both not having to double cleanse AND because it agrees with the ingredient list. Will cleansing oil get rid of your acne? Probably not. I rely on retinoids to take care of that. It took a total of six years for MUA's skincare board to convince me to do this. I regret not trying it sooner but the initial break outs before I found emulsifiers scared me off. I much prefer making a cleanser oil myself because all of the drugstore "cleansing oils" have too many damn added ingredients and emulsifier is low on the lists. I do NOT follow the OCM directions of steaming the skin because that will break every capillary on my face. Steaming is bad news for any of us with rosacea.

About reviewer (515 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us