MAC #190 Foundation Brush

MAC #190 Foundation Brush
#190 Foundation Brush#190 Foundation Brush#190 Foundation Brush#190 Foundation Brush


453 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Guess what? I had this little brush in my drawer for about 10 years and never used it! And now that I have used it, I am flabbergasted at how amazing it is!!!!!
I mean smooth flawless amazing!
It picks up all product without wasting it (I prefer mineralized liquid foundation) and the shape is so perfect and streamlined it gets into delicate spots like under eyes. I never thought I would like this brush! It is now my favorite!
My other favorite brushes are Sephora airbrush 56 as well as the Mac 196
I also love this brush for applying concealer. I use it for both now. And by the way I have a dupe of this from elf and it is horrible. Nothing close to this brush.
I just wish mac would stop all animal testing!! I know their animal testing is for their China commerce but come on. They need to boycott animal testing there.

on 4/4/2016 8:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't find myself reaching for this brush much. I tend to go for more kabuki style brushes or my real techniques expert face brush. I've no doubt that this is a good quality brush but I just think it gives a less flawless airbrushed finish then other brushes on the market,

To Read all 453 Reviews, Login or Join

Login with Google

on 2/20/2016 8:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a good quality brush, and I find it very soft and a nice size for going around your nose and tight areas. In a pinch I will grab it to apply my foundation, but it's definitely not my first choice, I prefer to use sponges or the MAC stippling brush (#187 I think). I actually mainly use this brush for applying setting powder on my undereye concealer. Works like a charm for that!

on 1/26/2016 7:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have to agree with the other reviewers who don't care for this brush. I think I bought this seven years ago. It's out, available to me every morning, but I almost never pick it up to use it. Why? It's not the right shape or density for blending foundation onto the face. It's a flat synthetic paddle brush, and the bristles aren't full, dense, soft, or fluffy. What works better to buff or blend foundation for an airbrushed look is one of those big domed kabuki brushes or the synthetic complexion brushes. I agree with the reviewer who recommended Tarte's Bamboo Airbrush - that is a better shape. I also loved Kevyn Aucoin's foundation brush, which walked out the door during a film shoot (that's a nice way of saying it was stolen) but the cost of Aucoin's brush is $82, which made it difficult for me to replace it. That brush was soft and densely packed and the point was nice for getting into small areas. Every time I used MAC's thin, floppy #190, it would streak, so I ended up having to go over the skin with another tool, a dry sponge or a damp Beauty Blender sponge, and for that reason alone I would never buy this particular brush again. MAC has some other lovely brushes that I use for eyeshadows. Everyone seems fond of the white goat hair brushes 239 and 217 which I use frequently; they are top sellers and deservedly so. But I would advise anyone not to buy 190 for foundation, or really for any purpose. In all the years I've had it, I've never found a good use for it.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product is horrible, it leaves your foundation streaky on the skin. The hairs uses a lot of your foundation too. Horrible brush.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.

on 9/8/2015 4:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Bought this brush some 5 years ago. You are right there wasn't that many makeup brush brands back in the day but my oh my now there are so many competing brush brands out there!

Only used it a few times for foundation application. From what I remember I paid a good AUD$75 for this brush which is really expensive for something that doesn't have much use. I use this with foundation and it gives me streaky results whether it be cream foundations or liquid.

I do want to get my moneys worth out of it so I will only use this for moisturiser application & maybe to cream contour my features ( which I don't own any cream contour kit) But since I love the ABH Contour kit so much I might have to buy the ABH cream contour kit to get some use out of this MAC 190 Brush.

Soon after purchasing this brush 5 years ago I got a Sigma brush set for my birthday which has a dupe of the MAC190 in it and I don't use that either.

This brush is not worth the splurge.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was one of my very first MAC brush purchases. And it was suggested as the best tool (at the time) to apply and blend the MAC stick foundation I also bought.

But foundation brushes have come a long way from almost 8 years ago, and there are many better alternatives available these days (which I'm trying to find to meet my needs).

I love the way the foundation glides on my skin with this brush. The brush can hold a lot of product, so you have to be careful or you'll waste your makeup. If you're heavy handed it can create streaks. I usually use a beauty blender or sea sponge to soften my foundation and also to pick up excess. Stippling brushes will also help eliminate streaks and create a smoother finish.

I don't ever anticipate losing this brush, so I hope to not have to be in the position of deciding to buy it again. But once I find a more current foundation brush, the 190 will be relegated to my vanity and hardly used. Which is sad, because I really like it. But it's not meeting my needs right now.

on 5/21/2015 1:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So I'm a big - BIG - fan of so many MAC products, really. This was one of my first MAC brushes I ever bought. At first I thought it was great and loved using it.

Since then, I have bought the Sigma Taperd Kabuki brush and the MAC 132 Duo Fibre Foundation Brush and I use those two all the time.

This brush has stood up over time - like it barely looks like it's been used, but I do take pretty good care of my brushes.

As others have said, it doesn't blend all that great, it's a really stiff brush - which I didn't realize until I bought the other two. Plus I wear liquid foundation every single day, so duo fibre brushes seem to blend a little more naturally than this brush does. It's ok if I need a heavier foundation look but over all, it's definitely not my go to and if I lost it I would be upset because brushes are an investment, but I think with the experience I now have I would choose a duo fibre over this type of foundation brush as my go to brush.

I hate giving MAC bad reviews because so many of their products I love, but I guess you really can't win them all right? If you're looking for a great blending brush, I strongly strongly recommend Sigma's kabuki brushes (any of them, but specifically the tapered one) or MAC's 132 - it looks small but it does an amazing job!!! I use MAC's Studio Fix Fluid or Studio Sculpt, for reference.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.

on 5/20/2015 8:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

NO NO NO!!!!! Dont get the good reviews. Seriously if you have experimented with brushes like me, you'll realise why this is so bad. Please don't waste your money! This is one of the worst brushes you can use! I have no Pro's for this and that is so rare for me.
The cons!
1. DOES NOT BLEND any foundation, just sits on your face
2. Quite hard
4. Expensive for what it does
5. BAD to cover any scars
6. Has a greasy feel
If you want a flawless base and are looking for a good brush i recommend these!:)
1.RT expert face brush
2.Beauty Blender
3. Wayne goss foundation brush
4. Tarte airbrush finish bamboo
I hate doing bad reviews but i just don't want you to waste your money and regret the buy like I did.
Hope this helped guys x

on 5/20/2015 7:07:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

its over rated and isnt that great, obviously its made from horse hair so its going to be pricy but i have normally oily skin and it made my skin look 10x oiler then usual using the brush and the mac foundation, not a fan so i use it for my contouring and hightlight sometimes

1 of 1 people found this helpful.

Popular Makeup Brushes

#217 Blending
#217 Blending
974 Reviews
make-up brushes
make-up brushes
22 Reviews
Back to Top