4.1

Created with Sketch.
547 reviews
78%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range
$9.31 on iHerb
Shop Now

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 days ago

It's inexpensive, cheap and does the job - pretty mild and gentle. Might just be me, but noticed I didn't react well to the witch hazel after a while; it actually became irritating to my skin. Super odd since I used this product in high school with no problems, but there may have been a formulation change in the interim.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

a gentle toner. the smell took a little getting used to but it's quite pleasant. i'm not repurchasing because i don't see a use for a toner in my routine, but this is a great beginner, fuss free toner, especially if your skin is not sensitive to witch hazel! :)

About reviewer (16 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I'm not sure if it's rose that my face isn't a fan of, but whenever I use this in the morning or evening I get a light red tint. It doesn't stay very long, but it is slightly frustrating to use it first thing in the morning and then get a red tint before trying to apply makeup. I may switch to the lavender or aloe vera version and see if that's better. The smell is very nice though. I would still highly recommend this for people with sensitive skin (my face is not a fan of alcohol) so this is a great budget priced toner you can use on a daily basis (compared to some other brands like Clarins).

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Toners have never been an important step in my simple skincare routine as I usually double cleanse to remove my makeup using cotton pads soaked in Bioderma Sensibio H2O then wash my face with La Roche Possay Lipikar Gel Lavante which has physiologic PH..I sometimes spray organic rosewater,organic neroli water,Caudali grape water or some thermal waters instead of using toner..still I like to have a good toner around because as a teenager my skin was prone to blackheads and I highly believe using toner prevents that ugly blackheads to appear on sides of my face so when I went through Lancome Tonique Comfort I decided to buy this one. Thayers products are not sold in my country.an online shop's admin had bought a few when he was traveling abroad.I chose it because I saw it has a very good rating here and that I knew it might be the only opportunity to try it.it was priced 15 USD,not super expensive specially considering it's 335mil but not cheap either,(I was hesitant to buy a 150 mil Alcohol-free toner from a national brand instead which also contains rose water and Aloe Vera extract and was priced 3 USD). I have dryish,almost sensitive skin and when my skin hates a toner,righToners have never been an important step in my simple skincare routine as I usually double cleanse to remove my makeup using cotton pads soaked in Bioderma Sensibio H2O then wash my face with La Roche Possay Lipikar Gel Lavante which has physiologic PH..I sometimes spray organic rosewater,organic neroli water,Caudali grape water or some thermal waters instead of using toner..still I like to have a good toner around because as a teenager my skin was prone to blackheads and I highly believe using toner prevents that ugly blackheads to appear on sides of my face so when I went through Lancome Tonique Comfort I decided to buy this one. Thayers products are not sold in my country.an online shop's admin had bought a few when he was traveling abroad.I chose it because I saw it has a very good rating here and that I knew it might be the only opportunity to try it.it was priced 15 USD,not super expensive specially considering it's 335mil but not cheap either,(I was hesitant to buy a 150 mil Alcohol-free toner from a national brand instead which also contains rose water and Aloe Vera extract and was priced 3 USD). I have dryish,almost sensitive skin and when my skin hates a toner,right the next day an eczema flare up begins;I haed used organic rose water and aloevera fortunately my skin seems to like this one.t the next day an eczema flare up begins;I had used organic rose water and aloevera before and I knew they won't cause problems but I wasn't sure about witch hazel.fortunately my skin seems to like this one.I've been using it almost everyday since three weeks ago and I had zero break outs or eczema..some other toners leave my skin irritated,red,dry and stingy but this one,doesn't make my skin dry even a bit,on the contrary my skin feels a bit softer and hydrated after applying this toner. I also don't have any problems with it's scent.it's a mild,natural scent of roses.similar to rose water but not that intense and heavy duty.I love anything rose scented so I enjoy Thayers toner too Ih sometimes apply it with cotton pads,sometimes put it right onto my face.but it's difficult to put it directly on skin as it's a liquid and it's packaging doesn't make it any easier.I have to decant some of it in a spray bottle to be able to spray it right on my face..so eventhough I like the appearance of it's bottle,I'd prefer it came up with a spray or droper All in all I'd call it a good purchase.it manages to cleanse stubborn foundations that seem to be hiding in my pores even after double cleansing,my skin feels refreshed but no dry,tight feeling(as mentioned before,I even feel it hydrates my skin a little bit because my skin isn't as dry as usual),I'm not acne prone but since using it my skin looks even more clear,very tiny skin-colored bumps I always had on my forehead are gone.it must be this because except this toner nothing has changed lately in my skincare routine.I think I have found the best products as my skin has never looked better.I just wash my face,use this toner,Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion and then Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion+, I use The Ordinary Lactic Acid 10% twice a week as the second step after toner and use Biotherm Life Plankton Essence once or twice a week,use a light scrub(Montagne 7th Heaven Strawberry Cream or QV Face Scrub) once a week and a face mask(usually Loreal Black Clay mask) again once a week.that's it and this routine gives me smooth,clear,glowy skin I never believed I can have I'm definitely going to repurchase this toner as I don't like to change a winning skincare routine as I long as it works.this toner smells lovely,isn't expensive,doesn't dry out my skin or break it out,doesn't sting,make my skin red and doesn't leave sticky or white residue and does the job it's supposed to do.what's more to ask?

About reviewer (202 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I would never put witch hazel on my face. It’s drying, has tannins, and it causes breakouts in the long run. Drying out your skin causes more dead skin cells and further acne. More dead skin cells equals acne, and sebum gets trapped. This also breaks down the lipid barrier. Throw it in the trash or use it to clean your shoes. I had to give it a Lillie bc makeup alley didn’t let me add the review but if I could I’d give it a huge zero. Btw, Clinique ruined some of their products by adding this ingredient in. What a shame.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a good product! - however, by reading other reviews, I can tell that a lot of people are possibly allergic to the grapefruit seed extract. Don't let those reviews fool you, this is a great toner. It isn't super drying which is the problem with a lot of toners on the market. Effects on skin: I'm oily and when I first started using this product, it really made my skin GLOW. Evened out my tone, even smoothed out the minor textures I had. I bought it because my skin was looking dry and tired underneath a sheath of oil, and this toner really rectified that problem. It made my skin supple and bright. This toner will help your skin retain moisture in a healthy way. HOWEVER- my skin did get used to this over time. That magic period lasted about 3 weeks and it doesn't make me glow anymore. Like anything else, your skin can get used to this stuff. I added some apple cider vinegar to it and now it gives me a glow again. Fragrance: mild and sweet. Not overdone whatsoever. Hints of rose. Really lovely and calming. Packaging: Perfect packaging for a toner if you like to squeeze it into a cotton pad and rub it on your face. My skin is on the thinner side, so I transferred it into a small spray bottle and spray it on my face before applying moisturizer in the morning and the night time. Works great and leaves my skin feeling soft and plump in the morning. Ideal for: I actually think that this toner is ideal for oily and normal skin types, and not dry skin types. It has aloe vera in it, which can be very drying for some. For oily people like me, it helps to balance my face's oil production while promoting moisture at the same time. What's so interesting about this is that my skin is less oily on it - just goes to show your skin really just wants the RIGHT kind of moisture. But this toner is super, super gentle so I don't think it would harm someone with dry skin either. You have to know what your skin really needs. Price: 10 bucks at target (not the cheapest, but also not expensive considering that this is a high quality product). But it lasts a very long time. Been on the same bottle for months- can't complain. If this was 5 bucks it would get a perfect score for pricing.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Relaxed, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I started using this product a few days ago, and it’s helped with my acne! It’s not drying and it smells so good.???? Will be purchasing again.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This toner basically gets the job done. Removes impurities. Tightens the skin. But I feel it is on the dry side. Doesn’t moisturise or does anything else. Wish it came in a smaller bottle too - easier for travel. It has a great smell - very light rosy natural scent

About reviewer (210 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

THIS IS THE WORST!! I can say that I really had good skin for almost two years. It took so much hard work (and a lot of resources) to actually get nice skin and I guess it was ruined by this toner. I really wanted to give this a shot since I read so many good reviews about it. Sadly, THIS didn’t work for me. I was using this toner for more than three weeks now. I tried a lot of skincare products to know how purging looks like and this was not how it’s supposed to look like. I dont even know what the bumps on my face are called. The bumps are the same color as my skin but they’re a bit reddish (not pimples because it wouldnt subside when i use an anti-acne treatment) The packaging is terrible as well! I dont get why no one is talking about it. The cap is susceptible to spilling. I was surprised how quickly it spilled when I placed it inside my luggage. The entire label was wet and I couldnt identify where the spill was coming from. The red cap isnt made of good material as well because the nozzle (idk what it’s called exactly) broke while i was closing the bottle and i was left with a hole with no stopper!! Terrible!! Now i cant even put it inside my bag without spilling!!! Overall, I WAS REALLY DISAPPOINTED. I wanted this to work for me because a lot of people consider this as their holy grail. Sadly, all I got left are a bottle 5/6 filled and bad skin! Terrible. Wont recommend to anyone especially to acne prone skin. I also would advise to think twice about adding witch hazel to your skincare routine. I think that particular ingredient caused the reaction.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

At first, i really love this product. And i used to adore it because it worked wonder on my skin. I have acne prone skin and my skin concern is sensitive skin. When i started using Thayers ( 2017) , everytime when i applying it on my skin (after cleansed ) I admit that it feels burning and my skins turns out red. But it doesnt break out my skin, it helps my skin get rid of acnes and blemishes. The scars also has faded away and my skin looks very flawless ! But then after a week, i felt that my skin feeling super tight ! Like super super tight and i dont have any idea is it because of Thayers or my other skincare product that im using back then. I cant even smile properly ! LOL it felt so tight when im trying to smile plus it was hard for me to talk because of the tightness. Then i stopped this product as i wasnt feel comfortable because of the tightness and continue with my other skincare. I was using Mary Kay when im using Thayers. After a week i stopped Thayers, and continued with Mary Kay, my skin feels very dry and peeling off the mouth and becoming reddish in the foreheads and cheeks. I stopped Mary Kay too and not using any kind of products for 2 weeks. And now, my skin condition is getting better and healthier as i have my own skincare routine. Im using Hadalabo as my cleanser and hydrating toner. For my serums and essences, im using The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid serum and Alpha Arbutin, not to forget Niacinamide. And my chemical exfoliants also from The Ordinary which is Glycolic Acid Toning Solution ( AHA ) & Salycilic Acid ( BHA ). And my important routine is to wear moisturizers and sunscreen. I already have a strong skincare routine, wondering is it okay if i starts to wear Thayers once again ? Reading it's ingredients i found it really suits my skin but because of previous history, im afraid if i lost my healthy skin again. Am i suppose to give it another chance ? Lol

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us