3.8

Created with Sketch.
6 reviews
83%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

2nd Edit: 4/21/2019 I have a Chanel issued No. 5 sample spritzed on one wrist and my Topaze 90's reproduction on the other wrist. Five is beautiful. I've owned and worn in the past and still love but don't wear often. It's one of my Christmastime nostalgic scents I like to wear. That was the time of year when I first "met" No. 5 so there's that! Comparing the two side by side: CN5 is well...5 and a lovely classic. Topaze is also lovely but it's closest to the original Caress bath bar scent which I used and grew up with from when it came out (Caress.) Edit 4/21/2019: Just trying to make this a bit more helpful to others deciding if they want to try Topaze! I enjoyed SotD's review and her descriptive. Here's my two cents on Topaze and another thumbs up for this fragrance. I have the tall opaque yellow bottle with the plastic faceted jewel on the cap. My version is roughly 19 years old. It was a re-release of some throwback scents that Avon produced in retro style bottles. I love the old school yellow spray bottle. It is the one tall bottle that towers above my other ones but I kind of like that. It's the juice inside that I like the most, the scent itself that will cause me to repurchase Topaze. Going forward I will probably try the newest version of Topaze for comparison's sake. I also have a little mini bottle of splash on Topaze which is a more subtle and mellow formulation of this scent. The date of that bottle is probably pre-1980's. It is such a unique fragrance and I really can't think of anything that smells like it. It doesn't smell like Chanel No. 5 but that is probably the most familiar fragrance people use as a reference point. If pressed to give a description I would say that Topaze is a sweeter more sparkling, even bubbly, cousin of No. 5. At first spray Topaze is a bit of a brash scent but then settles into a soft sweet feminine fragrance. It's almost a soapy, as in the original Caress soap bar sweetness. Rather close in scent to orig. Caress. It is an aldehyde based fragrance. What is an aldehyde? Here's a quote from an article by The Perfume Society available on their web page. "Aldehydes triggered a revolution in perfumery. Think of them as something like ‘rocket fuel’, boosting the ‘whoosh’ of a fragrance, when you first smell it: they’re like the fizz of champagne, having the power to make a perfume truly sparkle and effervesce. Aldehydes may be found in natural materials – rose, citronella, cinnamon bark and orange rind, for instance – but are also a family of synthetic chemicals, formed (here’s the science bit) ‘by the partial oxidation of primary alcohols’." Our experience with aldehydes in perfumery: they are synthetically rendered versions (scents) of natural components or ingredients. Topaze is classy and retro and is perfect for anyone interested in trying throwback perfumes. The exploration of vintage fragrances can be the most fun and fulfilling part of creating a perfume collection. One of the most appealing things about wearing these throwback fragrances is that you don't smell like anyone else wandering around out there in the modern world. As you experience different fragrances you start to see the relationship between then and now as well. I enjoy mingling with the past and encouraging others to do some exploring of their own.

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I love perfumes, I really do. All types. High-end, middle-of-the-road, indie, niche, drugstore, body oils. Fragrance is a key to nirvana. And Topaze is one of those fragrances that takes me there. I own a variety of bottles of this juice, dating from its inception in 1959 up to the 1980's, and the older bottles are like a fine wine. If you can get your hands on the older Topaze, go for it. Believe me when I tell you, as it ages, it becomes a glorious perfume that has mellowed with age and ripened deliciously into a pure aldehyde and civet delight. When I lavish myself in my vintage Topaze, I cannot get enough of this fragrance. The inclusion of ylang-ylang amidst other florals is just enough to keep this pleasant for me. I barely consider this a floral. I immediately sense the presence of tonka bean, benzoin and sandalwood in this wonderful creation, while amber mellows it to a smooth creamy texture with just a hint of spice added to the pot with the coriander mixed in. There are many notes in Topaze that blend beautifully to create an unbelievably unique fragrance. I, too, was an Avon snob about their fragrances for years, I'll admit to this. I didn't give them a chance. But I believe that's because I never had a chance to truly smell the originals, the true fragrances of Avon when I was growing up as a child. I only knew the later ones of more recent times as an adult. Now, I am actively pursuing their vintage scents to educate myself in the beginning stages of Avon's perfume. I've found they had some truly quality gems at low prices that smelled divine. Smell is associated with memories, and when I read many reviews about Avon, that's what I hear others talking about. Their pleasant memories with that particular perfume. So Avon had a win-win situation going; great prices, delivered to your door for free, you shopped from a catalog at your leisure, no-hassle returns and quality products. They perfumes became a popular gifting item, also, and thus, from all points their perfume end of the business was destined to become a success. Except they would later discontinue their very popular fragrances, for various internal reasons, much to the dismay of many customers. The good news is that you can find these vintages on Ebay, Etsy, garage sales or at flea markets for very good prices. The vintage parfum lasts longer than the cologne, obviously. This is a scent for confidence, for empowerment, for uplifting spirits, for feeling good about yourself in an earthy way. It reminds me very much of Chanel no. 5. I wear it to bed often because it's a soothing scent that allows you to dream your wildest dreams. It's a scent to wear a mysterious smile. It's just that good when it's a vintage bottle. Yep, I love those vintage Avon classic scents now. They hold a special place amongst my perfume shelves, standing next to my other vintages of yesteryear with pride. Perfume snobbery doesn't belong there. Top Notes: Aldehydes, Coriander, Peach, Bergamot, Lemon. Middle Notes: Carnation, Iris, Jasmine, Ylang-Ylang, Lily-of-the Valley, Rose. Base Notes: Sandalwood, Tonka Bean, Amber, Benzoin, Civet, Vetiver.

About reviewer (369 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

11 years ago

Guess I am the old lady in the mind of the reviewer above. LOL I still have a bottle of this wonderful fragrance. I love it! I have loved it since I was 14 years old. It was one of Mom's favorite also, but now she has gotten away from it. She is almost 78 now and says it is doesn't work for her anymore. Hmmm....the reviewer's statement above comes back to mind...elderly ;-). I really wish Avon would bring this fragrance back for a while. My bottle is still about half full, maybe, can't see inside it due to the yellow coloring of the tall, beautiful topaz bottle with the pretty plastic stone on top. One reviewer said it reminds them of Chanel #5, but not to me. Topaz has a unique smell all it's own. You know similar to other perfumes such as Tabu, Opium, Youth Dew etc. only not nearly so obvious. I always recognize these classic fragrances on someone. Topaz is a classic fragrance on it's own scale. To me none of the classics smell like Topaz. If you can get your hands on a bottle, grab it, it is a wonderful addition to any collection.

About reviewer (595 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

14 years ago

This is a nice aldehydic floral. I have a bottle with the "topaz" jewel on top. Reportedly, Avon designed Topaze with Chanel #5 in mind, and to my nose there is some resemblence. All in all, not a bad fragrance if you can find it. Great for those retro moments.

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

15 years ago

Topaz smells like an old teacher. It's okay, but too musky for me. The only people who'd ever wear it are elderly women. Yuck.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

15 years ago

My hubby loves this on me and I like it too. Timeless Avon classic. In a yellow bottle with a fake Topaz on the top. Avon used to bring this along with some of their other classic fragrances once in awhile. Too bad they haven't brought it back because I'd like to get some more.<p>IN REFERENCE TO THE OLD LADY CRACK ABOVE-- I AM ONLY IN MY 20'S HARDLY ELDERLY LMAO

About reviewer (744 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us