4.1

Created with Sketch.
69 reviews
84%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

I have dark blonde/light brown hair that is dyed to a level 5 chocolate brown professionally. It has been 6 weeks since my hair was colored, and the brown is fading and showing some of the fill color underneath (red). I wanted a temporary color to get me through the next two weeks before my hair is dyed professionally again. I purchased this color in Chocolate Kiss after reading reviews and the product description. The consistency of this product is watery. To coat every strand, as you can imagine, was very messy since this is thin and runny like water. It made my hair absolutely soaking once applied, and color was getting all over my skin (it later came off with Vaseline). To seal the color, I blow dried my hair. To be frank, this darkened my hair like expected, but I disliked the process and the aftermath. It was very messy, hard to apply, required heat to seal it (which I don’t like to use), and left a rough texture/filmy texture on my hair That came off on my fingers the next day as a powdery substance. The positive is that it covered a lot of the red shining through. My next step will be to try a color depositing conditioner, which I think will be a much easier experience for me.

About reviewer (161 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Where has this been all my gray hair having life! I'm 43 and probably 35% gray and my hair is a level 3 dark brown. I've been using various boxed dye to cover the grays and they work fine, but my hair grows pretty fast and I live in an area with super hard water. As you can imagine, the grays show up again pretty quick and I use various root concealing sprays and powders to cover between coloring. The sprays are sticky and rub off if you touch the hair and the powders only cover very small areas. I found out about this online and just used it today and I'm already in love! This stuff is old school but it's amazing and I wish I'd known about it sooner! If you have grays to cover and you hate the coloring process, do yourself a favor and buy this stuff.

About reviewer (111 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Growing up I watched my mother and grandmothers using Fanci-Full. Honestly, I always thought Fanci-Full was for grannies. Which now I can say because I am one! I've been coloring my hair for 30 years and am tired of the process. So I purchased both the moose and liquid #18-Sand Spun to see what the fuss was all about and wow! The moose makes my hair heavier as if you used a little too much moose in styling your hair. The plus side of the moose is your hair stays perfect all day. The liquid is a little messier but makes my hair amazingly soft and shiny. My hair is about 1/3 white and 2/3'rd old blonde hair color and Sand Spun blends it beautifully.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair

HairGrey

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

My experience with this was not good I found it to be a dry, staining mess. Product is very runny. I read instructions and applied this to towel dried hair all over, then I blow dried my hair to "set" the color, but while blow drying the color got lighter at the ends of my hair and for some reason wouldn't apply to my roots. I definitely had uneven color, roots light, length dark, and ends lightest. (I got silver lining color) my ends were white and my length was grey. During application and blow drying, I had stains all over my skin, my chest, neck, hands, and my clothes as well, my counters, this stuff is very runny and liquidy and it is a color so it will stain, be careful. I can't imagine sweating or going out in the rain because the color will run down your face and/or clothes. (I would also say the color itself lasts longer than 1-2 washes, except that it bleeds when it comes into contact with anything wet(rain, water, sweat, heat) and it comes off on everything(hands, clothing, bathroom counters etc). Cannot even sleep with this in my hair, it stains pillowcases. After I finished blow drying, my hair looked really bad, extremely dry, I couldn't even apply any kind of oil or leave in conditioner to my hair because it makes the color come off and my fingers turn grey when I so much as touch my hair(who designed this?and for what purpose?) I can't walk around with my hair looking like this. So, I'm not sure how or when are you supposed to use this product. I would be extremely nervous and embarrassed if I saw color coming off either on my skin or clothes..what is this. I don't think this is how a temporary hair color should work. But sadly this was my true experience. I had high hopes, product promised a beautiful color. Problem is there is nothing that "holds" the color on your hair, which I don't understand./makes me re-think all the reviews, I honestly don't know how people can use this..I am completely baffled. Unimpressed, highly disappointed. Will never repurchase. After my first try, I threw out the bottle. I expected better from Roux..this was my experience.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

IN MY OPINION THIS IS NOT AND SHOULD NOT BE LABELED TEMPORARY. AFTER USING IT 3 TIMES, I STOPPED. I SHAMPOOED MY HAIR AND TO MY SHOCK, THE RINSE DID NOT COME OUT. MY HAIR LOOKS LIKE I USED THE RINSE. I WANT MY WHITE HAIR BACK? DO I NEED A LAWYER?

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOther, Fair

HairOther

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've tried white minx, ultra white minx (paler than white), and silver lining. I've used many ways but my current jam is to mix together ultra white and silver lining and spray (I put in spray bottle) all over my dry bed head in the am. I have short hair that gets very pokey. And besides from toning the brass out albeit temporarily, when it dries (I let air dry) my hair is smooth shiny and has soft nice hold. I just run a boar bristle brush through when all the way dry. Love this stuff!!! Oh my hair is currently dark blonde that is why I added the silver lining into the mix. The minxes are for very pale/white blonde. Of course you could use silver lining on white for a silver look

About reviewer (388 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

So I did it again! I dyed my hair a color that I couldn't stand! It was supposed to be a light chocolate brown but turned out way to dark and red and brassy.. Not what I wanted at ALL, so I read some reviews about fanciful and thought maybe I should give it a try since it had so many good reviews… So I made a purchase on eBay, and bought the color muted maze, a light Ashbrown, which is exactlywhat I needed to tone down the brassiness and the red that the other dye had done to me, not only is the stuff in expensive but it works great it's easy to apply makes your hair very shiny and it did the job wonderfully! I'm so glad I discovered the stuff and my only wish is that I knew about it sooner, as I've had other bad dye jobs in the past… it's a great product and is reasonably priced, I'm so glad that I got it! I would definitely recommend it to anyone who's had a disastrous dye job and needs to do color correction… It works wonderfully!

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This product is amazing. I totally recommend it. Is very cheap, at first I didn't trust it will work. I bleach my hair twice in order to get it silver but didnt happen. It was more like a green ash blonde, It was horrible. I cry a hole day because I couldn't use a dye again. My hair was so damage and thin. My hairdresser told me about this product. It wont damage your hair since is not a dye. I used the 41 because 42 is very light. Is not gray is more like a platinum so didnt work in my hair but then I try 41 and my hair take a beautiful dark silver color. The secret is that you have to put a lot in your hair if not you can have spots of different colors. I super recommend not only for repair the bad color but to keep your silver whitout going to the esthetic so often.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive

HairSilver

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I've used the "Silver Lining" but let me tell you this one basically only works on platinum hair. It's a very light silver color. If you want a dark grey I recommend "True Steel".

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This stuff is a life saver! Disclaimer: I'm not a professional hairdresser but this isn't my first rodeo either :) A little background...The last time I bleached my hair (years ago) I used a 40 developer. As far as I knew back then (I was a kid), that was the only way to use bleach. I wanted to break away from the salon and just dye my hair blonde myself. My natural is a level 5.5 or a 6 and gets stuck at the orange stage so I decided that I'd use the "new" bleach that you mix with 20 developer (per the directions) and then I would just use a level 8 blonde dye. The bleach says that it lifts up to 8 levels so even though I was skeptical I was hopeful that it could at least lift me 3-4 levels..fast forward to my hair turning out a clownish yellow-orange...more orange than yellow. I tried to used a blue based toner to cancel out the brassiness and then the level 8 dye but neither helped...At this point, my hair is fried to a crisp (only slight sarcasm). I was terrified to do any more to my hair but I couldn't be seen out in public. When I was telling my mom that I didn't know what I was going to do but I couldn't leave the house with my hair like that, she asked if they still made Fanci-full. I started out with Frivolous Fawn (for dark blonde to light brown) which made it look like a light copper so then I went and got Plush Brown (medium brown) which turned out to look like a light auburn. Of course, my color results are due to my actual hair color. They were both far from blonde but at least a realistic hair color and now I can leave the house and I don't have to process my hair again until it's healthy and my scalp isn't on fire. It's a watery texture and makes my hair feel...heavy? not clean?...but that's expected since it actually lays on top of the hair. I hope I don't ever have to use it again but I would recommend it to anyone in a similar situation.

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown