L'Oreal Paris Excellence Creme

L'Oreal Paris Excellence Creme
Excellence Creme

3.9

355 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 2/15/2019 9:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This review is for Medium Ash Blonde (7.5) - it was truly not a great result. I used it on my dark ash blonde/30% gray roots and medium golden blonde lengths, following the instructions exactly...and now I have orange-gold roots and light ash brown lengths. I'm not sure how this managed to turn my roots warm when I was only lightening one level? I gave it a couple of lippies as my hair isn't in bad condition, but it looks pretty ugly and I'm going to have to fix this mess. I can't comment on any of the other colors, but Medium Ash Blonde is nooootttt good.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 11/30/2018 1:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Meh.

I started dying my hair when I was about 12. I'm 27 as I write this (11-29-2018). So I've definitely used my fair share of boxed dyes over the years. I've also had my fair share of hair nightmares.

L'Oreal Paris Excellence Creme isn't the worst formula on the market. It's definitely improved over the years. They are trying to evolve. L'Oreal even throws in a generous amount of deep conditioner. But I still wouldn't recommend this product. If you're going to go the boxed dye route I'd go with Revlon Colorsilk (assuming your hair is equal depth - please read my review on it). I think L'Oreal overprices these boxed dyes and the formulation really isn't impressive. I don't find it to be gentle on my scalp or hair. Worst of all is the shade depictions. L'Oreal does a bad job at what should be SUPER simple: properly labeling the shade undertones. I never knew what I would really get when I used these.

If you've been dying your hair for a while: I'd rec going to sally beauty and buying individual dyes/developers. It gives you a lot more freedom to customize what you need. This isn't that hard if you can grasp the concept of undetones and hair levels (how light/dark the starting shade is & what you want). Regardless of which route you go, any DIY hair coloring does require some general knowledge.

For those of you who are new or maybe just want boxed dye for the convenience: there are better ones on the market than this.

I won't repurchase.

4 of 5 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I thought this was a lovely product. The conditioner that comes with the pack is great and it does a good job zapping greys. I would not repurchase it, however, as I think Coloursilk by Revlon is just as good but is much cheaper. Nevertheless, home dye is not particularly expensive (in any brand) and those of us committed to eradicating greys have to do it fairly often. Everyone’s hair is different. The only way to figure out what works best for you is try different products and make up your own mind.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 3/27/2018 11:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Reviewing the color Light Ash brown - NO NO NO.

I put this on for about 10 minutes - I don't like to go longer than that for my light brown hair because most ash brown box hair dye tends to run darker than you'd like if you go too long? Well, this stuff was RED RED RED. This is not, in any way, shape or form - ASH BROWN. Ash is supposed to be GREEN undertoned. Not red. It's supposed to reduce brassy tones in your hair. My hair was ashier BEFORE I put this crap on it. Never again. I always split my hair color into 2 uses because 1 is too much for my hair - and I just tossed the rest. Never again.


on 11/6/2017 7:19:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I no longer color my hair at home, but Excellence has been around for.eh.ver and back in the day it was a safe, low cost alternative. Decent gray coverage (although back then I had no gray and used this recreationally). Comes in a variety of shades - I tend to choose red or warm toned browns.

No issues.
Not too runny - and did not stain my shower (all good.)

CHEAP!!!!!


on 10/27/2017 1:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Wow, I just went from light brown to middle blonde using tis product! I had been dying my hair light auburn brown for several years with semi permanent colours and I never thought I could really go lighter without visiting a hair dresser or at least bleech my hair and then colour it. Finally I decided to try just to get rid of the brassy redish colour that I had gotten tired of and try an ashy shade. I bought 8.1 light ash blonde and I could hardly believe my eyes but now I look like (or at least very close to) I did before I ever dyed my hair! I have a wonderfully neutral medium blonde (as I was kind of reddish brown before I suppose, it,s not very ashy but natural) and I feel like myself again. Thank you LÓréal!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 6/17/2017 10:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this hair dye from researching online and reading reviews. I was looking for a drugstore hair dye that has a good color pay off and not so damaging to the hair and at the same time something that isn't too expensive. The color pay off in this is great but it damaged my hair really bad. I air dry it after washing my hair is very very dry im heartbroken. I tried a hair dye from sallys beauty before the price wasn't too far off from this but it wasn't as drying and damaging as what this did to my hair. My hair already grew out and had a haircut from that dye so my hair pretty much as a virgin hair again. This hair dye really breaks my heart I hope I can salvage and heal this hair again. No I won't buy this product or recommend this. Buy one at Sallys beauty. It's better quality


Edit:
After 3 days of dyeing my hair it actually had a good shine now I did however put some coconut oil for 20mins and rinse it after that probably help the dryness. My hair isn't as straw like feel now. So color at your own risk with this one

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 4/24/2017 8:34:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am reviewing L'Oréal Excellence 8.1 natural ash blonde.
My hair was almost exactly the shade in the middle description on the box.
The product was easy to use, didn't smell too awful,no stinging and the conditioner was nice.
My hair feels in good condition after using BUT there is very little colour difference , the small amount of greys I had are still noticeable.
I didn't have high hopes of an exact match that they forecast, but hoped it might lighten one or two shades.
Also I wouldn't describe the colour as ash, in fact in daylight my hair has a sort of goldy/bronzey tone to it.
All in all I'm disappointed with this product, and I'm still on the hunt for one that does what it says on the box!

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 4/6/2017 12:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I used this is A- Very light blonde, i had horrible yellow strips from a bleach job and needed something to correct it, and this product did the job. It came out a very light nice blonde. Will repurchase

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 7/21/2016 10:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The italian version of Preference creme's box is quite different but I guess the formula is the same, so here's my experience with the colour 743 (in Italy, a blonde copper).
As a years long dyed copper red head, this one was the colour I reached more often for, as I could find it almost in every decent drugstore for a reasonable price (9 euros I think?). It's not the bright copper I wished to achieve, but in shortage of better options in town this was the one in multiple occasions (for better copper colours I had to wait for a Russian local shop to replenish their offer from Russia, and oh how amazing it was, 3 euros for extremely beautiful and quality results).
I always had to bleach before using, otherwise it wouldn't have appeared on my brown hair. On the roots it didn't give the best result, as they bleach better than the other parts so it looked like a neon yellow with copper undertones - yikes! Only experience made me understand I had to insist on the roots before colouring the remaining hair. The colour brightness itself lasted about a month, then it became dull and light, almost pale pink. But regrowth was a thing, so I could fight this problem just colouring every month.
It's a great great great product overall, it does an excellent job with no effort. If you're looking for a low mantenaince colour, you should watch somewhere else, as reds wouldn't work for you AT ALL - it can really last no more than 2 months, so be ready to have terrible hair if you don't take proper care of it. :)


Where to Buy


Video Reviews & Tutorials


Back to Top