China Glaze No-chip Topcoat

China Glaze No-chip Topcoat

4.0

23 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ethyl acetate, butyl acetate, nitrocellulose, ethyl tosylamide, acrylates copolymer, isopropyl alcohol, triphenyl phosphate, trimethyl pentanyl diisobutyrate, tosylamide/epoxy resin, etocrylene, benzophenone-1, dimethicone, violet 2 (CI 60725)


on 4/6/2016 5:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is my favourite top coat. My weekly self-manicure consists of a good base coat, two coats of nail varnish, one coat of China Glaze No-Chip top coat, and a final layer of a quick-dry top coat. With this method, I am able to get a manicure that lasts from Monday to Friday which is perfect for the work week. If I use the quick-dry top coat without putting this on first, I find that my manicure does not last as long as 5 days. Several reviews stated that the CG No-Chip top coat took forever to dry but perhaps the formula has changed because it dries in about 10 minutes on my nails which is perfectly okay with me (I noticed that the last review for this product was written in 2013). As for the price, I have found some excellent online deals (as low as $5 a bottle vs. the price in drugstores and beauty supply stores) so I am pleased about that. Finally, I like that the product stays usable all the way to the bottom of the bottle. Some top coats, in particular the quick-dry ones, can get very thick only halfway through the bottle which, for me, is extremely annoying. I just placed an order for two replacement bottles of this and will continue to use it unless something better comes along!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 10/8/2013 8:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I would not repurchase cause I like trying out everything, plus I would rather repurchase my Essie Good to Go cause its more practical having a quick dry top coat, because if you care about your colored nailpolish you'd touch it up with a top coat every other day, and then you will most likely find yourself in a situation where you dont have the worlds time, so you just drop it instead, and thats no good.

The finish of this is good, its really glossy and I end up looking at my nails more, haha
And also it doesnt like loosen the color of the polish you have on as quick, like, you dont have to super hurry to not make the color of the polish get onto your top coat brush, that can sometimes be a problem for me with the essie good to go.


To Read all 23 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm sorry to bring down the rating of this product, but it just didn't work for me. I found this took forever to dry, like 3 to 4 hours. Plus once it's dry I noticed chips within 2 to 3 days. I'm glad others can enjoy this, but it's not for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2013 5:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Not a fan. I mean, I guess I set this up to fail, the first time, using no base coat whatsoever, Cult Nails polish and then this topcoat. Chips-lots of them...in 3 days.

Tried again, this time with a base coat (sally hansen age correct discontinued) and China Glaze neon polish, (yes neon sucks) and then this topcoat. Today is the 3rd day, and I have a huge chip on my thumb. Didn't do much, washed dishes with gloves, barely any typing, I didn't smash it. *Sigh*

What's it gonna take to find a gooood no chip topcoat!? I honestly can't keep throwing $$ at these things. Ah. BUT the next thing I'm going to try is the Sally Hansen insta-dri no chip topcoat maybe that will help me. Maybe different basecoats? I will update my review if my opinion of this product changes!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use this a day after I get a manicure and it makes my polish last for over a week. My manicurist is always impressed when I go back to her with near perfect polish. When I do my nails myself I prefer Seche Vite because this takes a long time to dry. It's also a little difficult to remove but it's worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2013 6:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The best top coat I have found so far in terms of prolonging a manicure. I haven't found it takes an excessive amount of time to dry but I guess I do leave it for at least 30 minutes. I like the gloss shine finish and it doesn't bubble.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2013 12:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this topcoat!!
Seriously, this is the best topcoat in the world. The formula is thin enough so it dries quickly and smoothly... no lumps or bumps at all, and it takes a regular dull polish to a shining finish! I will use this topcoat forever!


on 1/11/2013 9:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm editing my review :) After using this more and more, though it works very well for it's non-chippyness, it just takes too long to dry. And though it doesn't chip much (very good about that actually) it tends to raze a bit (like gets little stress cracks?). If I follow it with a fast-dry top coat it does a bit better on the dry time, but is still soft/difficult to deal with for at least 30 minutes post-application.

I like it, and it improves if you layer some seche vite over it, but it's definitely got its downsides.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2012 11:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the best top coat I have used, my manis can last for up to a week with this which for me is a long time! After applying a base coat and usually 2 coats of colour I apply 2 coats of this and finish with OPI drip dry. My only issue is that even with drip dry for it to fully dry takes absolutely ages so you have to use it fairly early in the day to avoid sheet marks, I've actually painted my nails at about 2pm before and woken up the next day with sheet/hair marks on some of my nails.


on 7/26/2012 6:49:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I actually really like to use this as a top coat. Gives are really shiny finish. My first reaction was that it was much more runny and is not thick as my previous top coats. However application is easy and love the finish. My only complaint is that it takes forever to dry properly:( Would buy it again.

Back to Top