4.4

Created with Sketch.
16 reviews
88%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I bought this out of necessity because my regular sunscreen, Banan Boat 30, was sold out...Very lucky decision - this is such a great product - the sunscreen is light, non-greasy and invisible...but WOW, when I looked in mirror 1 hour later and wondered why my skin looked "glowy"...then I actually read the fine print on the bottle and YES, it DOES leave your skin looking radiantly-sheeny-glowy. I did put on my normal foundation on top and discovered that the bonus to this product is that it gives you that highlight-y/brightening effect on top of solid SPF. A twin value!...the only downside may the scent - I love the coconutty scent but if you are sensitive to scent or don't enjoy beach-coconut aromas, this may not be right for you. In terms of SPF, invisibility and bonus sheen, it delivers wonderfully. Repurchase, new favourite for me,

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I really like the Hawaiian Tropic sunscreens. They have a really nice coconut-ish scent and this one doesn't really leave behind a greasy residue, though it takes a few minutes for it to soak in. It's a little runny, but goes on easily. I put it on before I expect to be outside, and reapply it every couple hours for as long as I'll be outside. I don't like to apply this to my face. I find I do get a couple more white heads than usual if I use this on my face consistently. I think once in a while isn't so bad, but I have other sunscreens for my face. It's definitely worth a try if you're looking for a sunscreen!

About reviewer (140 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I looove this sunscreen! Years ago I used to use Hawaiian Tropic Shimmer Effect sunscreen which they've since discontinued, so this summer I thought I'd give this one a shot. First of all, I love the smell of Hawaiian Tropic products. They're very coconut-y, but not overpowering. When I wear this I feel like I smell good, as opposed to smelling like I have lots of sunscreen on. I also love that there's just a hint of shimmer in there, so it's not as glittery as I remember Shimmer Effect to be, but just enough that I feel really confident when I have it on. For some reason my legs never tan, or at least not very much, but I feel like the shimmer in Sheer Touch just makes them look good in the sunlight as opposed to blindingly white. It could be just a placebo effect, but I'll take it! Price-wise I got it on sale for around CAD$8, so it's not totally unaffordable, and I think worth the price. I'll definitely continue to purchase it as long as they keep making it.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I picked this up intending to use it as a body sunscreen, however after reading others have used Sheer Touch on their face I tried it as a facial sunscreen too. After experimenting for four months here are my thoughts. Pros: spf 30, huge 8 oz bottle, moisturizing, no white cast, disappears instantly into skin, and doesn't clog pores. Now for the cons: It's very heavily on the fragrance, which I'm not enjoying. It smells like passionflower and papaya, nothing like coconut to my disappointment.

About reviewer (89 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This sunscreen is one of my favorite sunscreen. It's not greasy, it's moisturizing, it smells awesome and the bottle is really great in my bag, it's easy to find, easy to grip and doesn't get everywhere. I love it! I purchased this on a whim when I was looking for my other favorite, Banana boat moisturizing lotion sunscreen in aloes (the green lotion), but it looks like it doesn't exist anymore, but this Hawaiian Tropic is really similar in the way that it feels like a lotion and not a greasy, ugly, stinky sunscreen. Did I say that I love this product ? HG sunscreen for sure!

About reviewer (534 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is literally perfection. This is the only non-greasy sunscreen I have found. I love this stuff so much. It literally feels like you are putting on a plain lotion on your skin; it leaves your skin feeling nourished and not greasy one bit! It leaves a shimmer and has a nice summery scent to it. I love this! If you haven't tried it, you need to!

About reviewer (111 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Coarse

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I've only recently started using this brand. I've been using Banana Boat for ages because that's the one my family uses. I picked this up while I was vacationing in Hawaii and omg...I wish I realized about this brand earlier!!! Usually, sunscreen has that typical smell, such as the awful Coppertone, but this one has a coconut, fruity, tropical scent. It's creamy but goes on light, easily spreadable and my skin absorbs it right away, yet it is not greasy at all! My skin looks hydrated and has a very subtle shimmery sheen look. I will not use any other brands of sunscreen because I'm addicted to Hawaiian Tropic, which is good because I am excited to use sunscreen whenever I go out now, whereas, before, I'd only think of sunscreen if I was going to the beach.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

This sunscreen is awsome! It's a verry nice formula:smooth and velvety! It makes your skin soft too! It does protects you against the sun,the smell is like being on vacation! But before it was smelling like:passion fruit and mango! I do miss the original smell! I do love it but would prefer the original smell! I love the texture,so,i wil rebuy for sure! Love it!

About reviewer (1507 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Olive, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Nice smell and not greasy.

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I have been searching high and low for a sunscreen that wasn't greasy, nasty, and stinky. I have tried nearly every kind, No-Ad, Banana Boat, Neutrogena, Walgreens, Equate, Coppertone, even Ulta. You name it, I've tried it, no lie. I have finally found what I'm looking for in sunscreen in Hawaiian Tropic. The first quality that I love about it is the fact that it smells heavenly. Coconut/Tropical scent. You might not like it, and it *can* be overpowering if you're not a scented lotion kind of person, but I can tell you that it smells better than that usual NASTY sunscreen smell. I love that. As far as the feel goes, this is absolutely "sheer touch". I have oily skin to begin with, so when I slathered this on, I worried that it might make me shine more than I already do, but it's little more than a slight shimmer. (And this is not the Shimmer Effects one...) I can deal with that. It feels AMAZING on my skin. It didn't make me feel greasy or gross. It felt great, actually. It soaked right in after a couple of minutes, whereas some other cream/lotion sunscreens don't soak in completely at all, ever. This one does. And it goes on in a thinner layer than some other lotion sunscreens do. It actually feels like moisturizer lotions instead of greasy sunscreen. After I put it on, I went to a car show in the bright sun and hot, 85 degree day. I didn't burn, and when I sweat, I didn't feel completely gross. I felt... normal. It was fantastic to have a sunscreen this great. I also bought the other one, the Silk Hydration that I plan on trying out as well. But, the Sheer Touch is definitely a winner in my book. Tried and true. I love it. (Haven't tested it in the water, though... But I have plenty of old bottles of greasy, gross stuff to use up in the pool first...) I am THRILLED about this find.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us