The Body Shop Vanilla Spice Body Butter

The Body Shop Vanilla Spice Body Butter
image 1

3.9

62 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Kinda of disappointed in this body butter, which is a shame as I love TBS body butters normally. But I got this hoping for a vanilla scent and this just didn't have it, its more light spice with a hint of vanilla.
It moisturizes well, but don't seem to last and once you shower, you're back to dry skin again. The packaging is the standard TBS tub, good for getting all the product out.
I believe this is an old product either discontinued or special edition but it's not part of the normal line and isn't currently in stores. My mother pulled this out of storage as I mentioned I needed a new body butter. So I'm not sure if its still available but to be honest I wont buy this one again, although I will try other TBS body butters.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Loved the smell of this - I'm a big fan of vanilla and cinnamon so the scent is perfect. Really great moisturiation too.


To Read all 62 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 7/25/2012 7:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got this as a Christmas gift. I found that it was indeed thick and moisturizing as most of the body butters from TBS are but the smell was too overpowering. It smells nice in small amounts but to use it all over the body is just too much. However, I use is more as a shower body lotion/body milk and despite washing off most of the butter, the moisture is still locked in and the smell is fainter so it doesn't give me a headache. I wouldn't purchase this again though. I prefer the lighter smelling ones like the cocoa butter, shea or any other nutty butter.


on 3/20/2012 10:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A friend's mother suggested this as a Christmas gift and I tried some when I was in the store. I love the smell, however it smells like something really yummy that you'd like to eat, which is not a scent I want to wear. The lotion is nice though, very thick and moisturizing, I would try another of their body butters in a different scent.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this when I was braving my first Chicago winter (I'm from a really humid city in Australia). I found this body butter more moisturising that most moisturisers, but was not impressed with it. The Strawberry, Olive, Mango, Moringa, Brazil Nut are far more moisturising. Smell is lovely though and I was stoked with the price. I picked up a tub for $10USD where it would be closer to $30USD in my home town - so for that it gets extra marks :)


on 11/19/2011 1:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

my first time buying vanilla spice and i was thinking it would smell very sweet like burnt sugar with a little spicy kick to it, but its totally different, its such a toned down vanilla scent, but i love it! a fall favorite body butter! if you want a sweet sugary body cream try bath and body works vanilla bean noel!


on 4/3/2011 3:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This smell is very unique. I love it, it lasts a while and moisturizes well. My mom doesn't like the smell but my brother said it was good. haha so goes to show how the scent will vary amongst people, but idc cuz I think it smells great!


on 1/5/2011 7:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE this body butter! My brother got me a holiday gift set this winter which included this butter, the Cranberry Joy body butter, and corresponding scents in an exfoliating soap. I was so proud of his pick :) I have found this body butter to be just the ticket for my awful, dry winter-y skin. I apply it after my shower and sometimes before I get dressed in the morning and I think it has really improved the hydration of my skin. I like the fact that it scoops out of a tub and has a really thick consistency--again perfect for winter skin. I have also enjoyed the smell surprisingly enough as I tend not to be a fan of sweet food scents. This vanilla isn't a cloying, little girl, overly sweet scent and it does have a slight spicy quality to it that I am really enjoying. I will definitely be purchasing more body butters once I run out of these two minis. They might be my favorite body lotion to date!


on 5/14/2010 8:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I adore the scent of this line! Vanilla is always nice but can get a bit boring, so the spices in this makes it interesting again. I'd rather buy a small container though, as the scent is very strong and special, so you do tire of it after a while. It moisturizes as well as any body butter.


on 1/11/2010 6:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I generally don't care for perfumed body butters. Being a big fragrance junkie, I don't like body lotions to compete with the fragrances I wear each day so tend to go for unscented moisturizing products. That said, every once in a while I'll buy a Body Shop body butter to do double duty of moisturizing and fragrance. I bought and tried this maybe once a year ago and put it away and forgot about it. Well after my bath the other night, I pulled it out and gave my arms, legs and upper chest a slight layer. I found the scent very holiday like, spicy and warm and very fragrant. Nice to go to sleep smelling something so pleasant knowing my body is getting some moisturizing. That said, it's too strong a scent for me for deep moisturizing that comes with really slathering on a body butter. So I will leave this for days I want to only smell like this body butter. It's also great for travel as a way to get some fragrance and moisturizing in one product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top