4.3

Created with Sketch.
89 reviews
80%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Overall a nice toner. Lightly moisturising, nothing crazy. Was okay for my sensitive skin. It isn't great at removing makeup (not that I'd expect it to be) but it's fine as a quick morning cleanse alternative. I'd use it before a run, and wash my face properly later.

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Other

EyesGreen



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Contrary to the name, this made my skin irritated and shockingly red. As in "What happened to your face?!" red, but not like a swell-y, hive-y allergic reaction. It was localized to my cheeks. I have somewhat dry, sometimes sensitive skin, and this is anything but recovery-y and calming. It should be called Skin Red-covery. That was a stupid joke, but I'm OK with it because it's true. I've been using Paula's Choice 2% BHA for years without any problems at all, and I've changed nothing in my regimen. I'm not sure what the irritant is but, wow, is it irritating. Two days after stopping it, my cheeks still feel...you know that feeling you get after you've been out in the cold for a long time and then you come inside and your cheeks feel like they're on fire ? Yeah. That. It's a no from me, Paula.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I ordered this toner without looking closely at the ingredients list. I wanted a moisturizing toner that wouldn't clog my pores and couldn't imagine that a [runny] liquid toner would contain silicones. So it was not nearly as lightweight as I wanted and didn't help my battle against blackheads. On the upside it's nice to use on my neck. So I'll finish this bottle but won't reorder.

About reviewer (393 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

As in all Paula’s choice toner that I have tried, there are something in this toner that irritates my skin slightly. Finished the whole bottle and will not repurchase. Toner is definitely hydrating, such a shame.

About reviewer (81 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Other

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

A caveat about me: I am not a daily toner user and this is not so life changing that it has turned me into one. If it had been that good, I would have given it five lippies. However, I do like to keep toner on hand for times when I really need to get extra grime off, and this is good enough that it is my staple for that. Most toners are far too harsh for my dry, sensitive skin. This product took some getting used to because it is more hydrating and has a silky feel that most toners don't. I am a big Paula's Choice fan in general, so I tried this for a while in sample packets and was pleasantly surprised that despite the silkier, more substantive consistency, my skin wasn't irritated by the formula. It is non drying and yet removes all traces of whatever I've slathered on my face. Definitely worth a try if you've had negative experiences with toner in the past and are looking for something gentle but effective.

About reviewer (361 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

When I first tried this toner, I thought this is it... HG... but a half an hour later my skin was as red as a tomato. I was really sad, because I loved the hydrating texture of this toner. This is the second toner I've tried from Paula's Choice, and both have been fails. So far I haven't been that impressed with the PC products I've tried. I think it's because I'm really sensitive and she uses a lot of active ingredients. For less reactive types, I think you get a lot of product for your money.

About reviewer (545 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I tried nearly every Paula's Choice toner, and Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has been the one I keep going back to. It is a water-weight translucent liquid with a mild, natural (but fragrance-free) scent. My skin is normal to oily with dry areas, and I have found this toner to be more "normalizing" or "balancing" than products that are specifically marketed for that purpose. It has proven to be non-irritating, and in fact, is quite soothing to any sensitive areas I might have. For the AM: I don't use this every morning. However, when I need a little extra boost of moisture, I apply with clean hands the first step after cleansing, and before BHA. When used in this way, the toner plumps my skin without being oily or heavy, and provides a delicate amount of hydration that enhances application of subsequent products. For the PM: I use a small amount on a very thin cotton pad to remove traces of sunscreen and makeup leftover from cleansing, and to prepare my skin for subsequent treatments. Since I alternate Renova and AHA, which can be slightly irritating at times, the soothing quality of this toner is very welcome. I waited a long time to review this product, comparing it thoroughly to other products and finishing one bottle over a period of around 9 months. I was skeptical at first that an enriched toner would make so much difference in my skincare routine, especially since my skin used to be a complete oil slick before I learned to use milder cleansers/toners in order to avoid overproduction of oil. Words can hardly do justice to how well this product works for me, but needless to say, it will be my go-to from now on.

About reviewer (155 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

To be honest, I never really understood the added benefit of a toner. It always seemed like a useless extra step to me and I prefer to limit the amount of steps in my skincare routine in order to keep it simple and fuss-free. I ordered this toner because I was curious to see if this would mean that I could use a lighter moisturizer. I've been using this product for almost three months now and I have noticed an improvement in my skin. I attribute these changes to both my cleanser (the Resist cleanser, also by PC) and this toner, as they are the only things that have changed in my skincare routine (as you can tell, the toner had no effect on the moisturizers I'm using). I suffer from quite a bit of redness in my skin and my skin is easily irritated. I have noticed that my skin looks calmer, more even and feels more hydrated and supple. I am very pleased with these results (even though they're not dramatic, of course) and will continue using this product in conjunction with the cleanser and the other PC products I was already using.

About reviewer (107 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm on my third bottle, and I've been using it for maybe 11 months now. I use it both morning and evening, followed by Paula's Choice BHA 2% and some BB or CC cream. For reference, I have mild rosacea, sensitive and very red skin on my cheeks, nose and forehead. Fighting redness and flaky skin is my number one battle. Since I started using this toner, my skin have transformed from sensitive and weak skin to a stronger, clearer and healthier skin. My skin is more even and it holds make up for a longer time with a prettier result. I am very happy about this product, but this is the only toner I have tried which is also the reason why I am giving it four lips, because I have nothing to compare it with. Either way, I truly believe in this toner and it delivered everything and more for me. My skin is hydrated, less redd and it makes any product I put on my face stronger, like it compliments the CC or BB creams that I use and makes the result better. I forgot the toner when I travelled for a long time, and my skin went back to its old normal with lots of redness, irritated, bad. As soon as I came home and started using it again, my skin went back to being perfect. That episode was a turning point for me, Im never gonna be without a toner.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

When you have sensitive and/or redness-prone skin, toners are always somewhat tricky. I'm also one of those people that must use a toner after cleansing, as I feel that toning really makes the skin ready for serum/moisturizer. This is The Toner for me - no irriation, calms redness and leaves my skin so fresh and "bouncy".

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us