3.8

Created with Sketch.
25 reviews
60%
would repurchase
3.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Didn't last. Laura's never seem too. Even when it's perfume . Bummer

About reviewer (109 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Did you read the news? Laura Mercier has brought back Ambre Passion. This is the third appearance of a fragrance with those two words (an early AP in 2005, and then AP Velvet and AP Elixir in 2009/10). It is not the same, and its review is a result of what's missing from the new version. I owned the AP Velvet, and it was a heady delight. Many gourmand notes, as is the expectation from LM, but also the most wonderful apricot that was more a liqueur note than foodie. Blending beautifully with the floral top notes and amber, it kept the wearer from smelling like pastry. The new AP, available only at SFA at this writing, has a description that explicitly leaves out the apricot, and the wearing confirms it. Amber sweetness, custardy, marzipan, vanilla, all the richness of a dessert case and no complexity. I will try layering Hermes Osmanthus Yunnan on top to break up the cream and let you know how it goes.

About reviewer (71 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

This fragrance is kind of, er, arrogant. I mean that in a good way. I'm not very arrogant myself, but sometimes I wish I could be more so. On one particular night-out I wore this. My girlfriends said I smelled rich and one even said she thought it made me appear taller (lol). But the best reaction was from the guys. I have never had so many men in one night approach me and say "Oh my god you smell great!" All of this gave me a boost of confidence and a swagger to my step. Several of my friends went out and bought bottles the next day. Unfortunately, it seems it's being discontinued. It was pulled from the shelves of my local Laura Mercier counter.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

12 years ago

Uncertain of what to make of this fragrance, I bypassed it (and, by association, the remainder of the Mercier line). At first, Ambre Passion seemed to be the product of a smelting factory. Something oxidized and ore-like seemed central to its composition, or perhaps the word I am looking for is coppery. Attuned to sweeter ambers, I was turned off by Mercier's more metallic version. This was amber filtered through Gary, Indiana, or so it appeared. But eBay does funny things to one's perception. Fourteen dollars is hardly a reckless expenditure. Plus, the non-functioning cap is an amusement unto itself. It carries a sort of artistic gravitas in its uselessness and weight. Turns out I liked the scent far better two years after its debut and now I wear it frequently, probably because my sweet amber quota was long ago filled by Kuumba Made amber paste. Mercier's given her amber the bitter edge of geranium, which accounts for the tangy quality I had earlier misperceived as metallic. Geranium in this instance doesn't really count as a floral; it's too green for that (hence the coppery, oxidized quality). Before the low notes kick in, it feels bracing and even a bit astringent. A slight smoky haze burns through the center of Ambre Passion, further driving home the interesting industrial quality that separates it from what I am going to call cognac ambers like Ambre Narguile. This is simply the result of Mercier's selecting an amber compound that is leaning more towards resinous than it is towards sweet. Although strong when applied, the fragrance settles quickly to a low, autumnal simmer. Because of its dryness, however, it is a perfect amber for summer. It is the antithesis of the cloying, pancake-y ambers that feel thick as syrup. If lack of sweetness is sophistication, then consider this one just cultivated enough not to embarrass itself on its home turf.

About reviewer (189 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

Ambre Passion attacked my nose this morning with a harsh blast of patchouli and dry amber. It gave off a strange "muddy" feel. <br> Don't get me wrong, I don't mind patchouli and I do enjoy amber, but the way it came out of Ambre Passion as soon as it hit my skin was quite heavy and unpleasant. I waited with patience, and didn't go to scrub it off. <br> BUT -- It took only 15 minutes or so for it to soften and settle down. I LOVE the drydown! Love it! The scent is haunting and I can't stop sniffing my wrist. Delicious, ambery (duh!), soft, warm, creamy, a little powdery. But not dry-powder. Imagine a deliciously warm body-powder that melts into your skin and soaks into it like butter. Beautiful! <br> I'm taking one lippie off for the harsh opening.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

This warm, powdery fragrance has the makings of an excellent signature scent. While not complex, it is memorable. The geranium lightens and balances the labdanum, vanilla and patchouli. This floral note keeps AP from being too sharp and in your face. Musk is listed in the ingredients, but this is not a musky scent. AP is very linear and has great sillage. Applied sparingly this will last all day, wafting gently only when you move around. This is a TERRIFIC choice for winter if you love powdery, feminine scents. Somewhat reminiscent of Jacques Fath's dearly departed Fath de Fath, but much softer and easier to wear. Mme. Mercier: PLEASE redesign the loose, heavy cap. It's DANGEROUS to have that cap anywhere near breakable items (like your toes!)

About reviewer (145 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

This one has become my signature fragrance for winter. It's the only one that gets me many compliments! I would describe it warm and sweet!

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

Sniffed this for the first time today while at Nordies. Won't go into long descriptions about it. This smells very much like Tea Rose Amber by Perfumer's Workshop. Hands down. Bottle is gorgeous though!

About reviewer (647 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

13 years ago

They stocked the LM line in a well known store I once did a stint of work in, and being a visual person I judged this book by its cover. I saw the ambre colour of the fluid and immediately dismissed it, knowing my own taste for lighter, floral or powdery scents. Then one of the LM reps visited and had to ask what divine smell she was wearing... to my surprise Ambre P. I kept testing it and had to have it. A very unusual turn of traits, I think its the geranium that tips it for me. its just delightful, night or day it makes me feel special, sexy and luxurious. The silver top is ott, but I can live with it, it looks pretty on the dresser, kinda vintage.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

13 years ago

most sexy & addictive scent ever.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown