3.5

Created with Sketch.
135 reviews
55%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 months ago

Has Paul Mitchell changed their formula? I've been using the Awapuhi for some time, but noticed my scalp was burning and noticeable hair thinning. My scalp would itch like crazy a few hours after washing my hair. It could be my scalp is drier since menopause kicked in. I'll stop using the Awapuhi for now and try another shampoo to see what happens.

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Paul Mitchell was the pinnacle of hair care and was something I only dreamed of as a budding hairstylist/teen in the late 90's, early 2000's. This product was around then and I don't know how long before that, so when I became a stylist years later it was always looked over for newer and more innovative things. It wasn't until this year when my husband went on a work trip and this was the hotel's shampoo that I'd ever given it a second thought. He has fine, wavy, soft hair. He absolutely loves this shampoo. He's tried a lot, being married to a hairstylist, and this is his favorite. He blow dries his hair occasionally, and also only occasionally conditions it. He brought me home a hotel sample to try. I have normal thickness, normal density, straight, lightened/colored/heat styled/abused hair, and I like it for one wash. It's nice and luxurious feeling. Two washes in a row with this and my regular conditioner leaves my hair feeling flat and weighed down, so I'd have to rotate. His hair is much finer than mine and thinner and he doesn't have that problem so I'm not sure how that even works. I'm a firm believer in everyone using conditioner, but if you were to be someone who only wanted to use shampoo, or uses a 2-in-1, I'd give this a try. In the realm of Paul Mitchell products it's inexpensive (the tree shampoo I love is 3x the price), but it's not exactly cheap. I feel like you just have to try this oldie but goodie at least once before dismissing it, but maybe try to find it in a hotel to give it that try.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is my HG shampoo and have used it most often through the years. I have short, wavy hair that’s prone to not behaving and this shampoo makes my hair very soft and manageable. I love the smell and how much it lathers. Keeps my hair shiny and from getting greasy looking towards the end of the day. For some reason, the Ulta near me never has this in stock, which is annoying. I just buy the 1 Liter bottle on-line from Ulta instead. Excellent value and quality. I will continue repurchasing.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is my go to for clarifying my hair. To begin, I want to mention that I have Asian hair that is generally straight, medium in coarseness that is highly resistant to curling and fine, but lots of it. I have used the Biolage clarifying and also Redken’s cleansing cream. Redken’s is wonderful if you use a lot of product because it really does a great job clarifying. I minimally use hair styling products because my hair doesn’t like anything but to be straight, so Redken was effective BUT dried out my hair to a point of greasiness. When I use the Awapuhi, it gives it that delicate balance of a clarified clean feel but just enough moisture to my scalp that it does not make it greasy. When I air dry my hair, it feels silky, not weighed down, and is full of bounce. I switch back and forth between this and the Paul Mitchell Tea tree special because I hate the feeling of oiliness in my hair but still get that clean feel. The combination with the Paul Mitchell shampoos and Sebastian Penetraitt conditioner have been the best combination for me. When I get my hair trimmed, my stylist always compliments me on the health of my hair and I don’t get a lot of split ends. For reference, I have tried brands from Biolage, AG, Joico, Alterna, Pureology, Matrix, Redken, TiGi S factor, and most of the drugstore shampoo brands. I may stray at times but will always come back to this combination, which I have used for more than 5 years!

About reviewer (116 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought the 3.4 oz. size in Ulta to try it - great to have that option. Have only used it a few times so far but this might be my new shampoo HG. I definitely plan to purchase full size when this runs out. My hair is color treated, fine, thinning a little in back, and slightly wavy and hard to manage. Most shampoos are either too drying, leaving me with frizzy ends, or too moisturizing, leaving my fine hair limp and without body. This one hits the just right sweet spot - my hair looks full, is easy to style, and feels soft but not limp. And I love the smell.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I tried this many years ago and wasn't very impressed, I didn't feel it was worth paying for it in the only little town salon that carried and overpriced it, and main order wasn't an option (it was a really long time ago, the early 90's.) This summer I decided to give it another try because I like anything that can be used for more than one use, and this creamy wash can be used for both shampoo and body wash. It isn't moisturizing enough for my hair or body to skip any kind of conditioner or moisturizer, but it certainly isn't drying either. I have been paring it with "the conditioner" (which is multiple use too) and finding the duo working quite nice. My husband loves it and as we both have been paring down the number of different products we buy and use, we now enjoy having it in the shower as our only body & hair wash.

About reviewer (310 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Smells like baby powder. Cleans well, easy to rinse out. Most of Pauls shampoos are very low to no lather but this has a good lather to it. I try many shampoos but always fall back to paul mitchell products. I can not say one bad thing about his shampoos

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This review is for the original Awapuhi shampoo as pictured (not the Wild Ginger awapuhi in the black bottle, which is sulfate free & I hated). This shampoo does have sulfates, and it's formulated properly to be cleansing and lightly conditioning at the same time, but it doesn't leave year hair feeling over conditioned. The lather is silky, doesn't tangle my fine wavy hair in the shower, and it has a lovely light tropical floral scent. This shampoo and the moisture mist have been around forever, I hope they never change. This shampoo works well on my hair type, not sure how it would be for thicker/ dryer hair types. It's pricey, but I have found Sally's GVP version is also good and costs about half. Love this shampoo.

About reviewer (255 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Smells great and makes my scalp feel really clean. No complaints.

About reviewer (175 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is a great shampoo. I have not used it in many years as it is expensive but sometimes I can get it in gift sets. It smells good and makes my hair shiny and clean.

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue