Alpha Hydrox AHA Souffle 12 percent Glycolic AHA

Alpha Hydrox AHA Souffle 12 percent Glycolic AHA
image 1

4.1

533 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycolic Acid, Ammonium Hydroxide, Cetyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Stearic Acid, PEG 40 Stearate, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Polysorbate 60, Steareth 2, Hydrolyzed Lupine Protein (Peptides), Green Tea Extract, Panthenol (Vitamin B5), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Xanthan Gum, PVM/MA Decadene Crosspolymer, Imidazolidinyl Urea, BHT


on 7/20/2016 12:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My skin is very reactive. To give you background on my skin, it became very complicated in my early 20s (I'm 24.) I started suffering from mild to moderate acne, very oily but dry skin, eczema on and off. I have tried every product out there, top rated products, higher end facial products. Nothing worked. Everything broke me out. I was worried this percentage of glycolic aha would irritate my skin. I have been using it for around 5 months (I use the enhanced lotion, the serum at night, and aha soufflé), and haven't had any issues, and my skin has significantly improved, acne has diminished, I can get away with wearing minimal makeup which is something I haven't been able to do for years. I recommend to only using it every other day at first because your skin will be a bit red at first. Ease into it. I won't stop using these products, I am so glad I found them!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/25/2016 9:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

It took a good 2 weeks for my skin to get acquainted with this product. At first I had breakouts. But yet I did not quit. I used to apply BP and then this after 15-20 mins.
My skin started looking great and all the acne had cleared up. But after a month or so I realized I was left with pitted scars :( they looked very prominent. of course I am aware this product is more helpful for fine lines and not scars. But I continued using this.
After using for 6 months or so the product got ineffective. My skin still looked dull and lifeless. So I guess I won't be buying this again!


To Read all 533 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've got the tube version which I was ecstatic to find - no jar for me yay! Got it cheap on iHerb when I was researching AHA and BHA products through Beautypedia. I ended up buying a 4% BHA from Paula and this. I use them alternately in PM and never together. At this strength I would say both are weekly products but I am building up to twice weekly use. It is part of my Korean style routine which I'm still working on perfecting. The Koreans don't promote a lot of exfoliation (monthly) but as I have combo clogged skin sometimes and hate blackheads and whiteheads with a passion I tend to exfo more - also I wear makeup daily and there's sunscreen buildup to boot.

When I first added the PC BHA and this to my routine my skin kinda freaked out and was dry red scaly sort of chemical burn like but mild. I googled overuse of acids for a day. I stopped use for a few days and then recommenced. What I found was the BHA was a bit too strong and I should have gotten the 2%. Having said that, my skin has gotten used to the BHA quicker, as in built up a tolerance. It doesn't sting anymore. This AHA product still tingles but I don't get that redness anymore.

Although BHA is recommended for clogged pores, I actually think this AHA works better for me. My skin sorta reacts harshly to the BHA whereas this product just does a good job and my skin doesn't act up the next day. I love the effect of this AHA and my husband even noticed my skin was smoother and softer as he was away for a week when I started it. I feel like hyperpigmentation has lightened and tone is evened out. I wish my pores were smaller. The tube is so travel friendly! I'll always repurchase.

Ps I've used Peter Thomas Roth and hated it. That was the 10% glycolic gel. I swore off acids but am glad I've tried again.


on 4/9/2016 11:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

After treatments for breast cancer, my complexion was in really rough shape. I was using prescription Retin-A which helped me get my skin part way back toward normalcy. However, even with regular Retin-A use, I had rough patches of peeling skin and sebaceous filaments extending from my pores. I thought I needed a BHA, but on a whim started trying AHA products and found that they really helped in conjunction with my Retin-A.

I first heard of Alpha's Enhanced Revitalizing Skin Cream in a review for the formerly named Alpha Hydrox Souffle, and it was definitely something I wanted to try. Lo and behold, I saw the product in a local store while shopping for other cosmetics. I immediately bought it and started to use it the same night. I had tangible results overnight--my skin was smoother to the touch and looked brighter and healthier.

I have been alternating nights with my Retin-A. I can vouch that with regular use, my skin has improved even further, and stays looking great rather than the ups and downs I used to have before adding this to my regimen. The flakes are gone, and the sebaceous filaments are minimized.

A little about the product--it is a white, fragrance-free cream that is very emollient. The tube seems small, but a little goes a long way as this cream is very easy to spread over the face. I have normal-to-oily combination skin, so it is a bit much for my T-zone, and not quite enough for my drier areas. I think this is absolutely perfect for those whose skin tends more toward normal, slightly oily or slightly dry. At first use, the product stings/tingles a little bit, but the sensation quickly goes away. With regular use, I no longer experience the stinging when I apply the product.

I am so thrilled I discovered Alpha Enhanced Revitalizing Cream 12%AHA--I'm a customer for life!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2016 5:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is the first AHA product I've used so I don't have anything to compare it to, but I really like it. I have dehydrated combo skin which clogs easily in the t-zone.

I use this about three times a week at night, either on its own or over my moisturiser and it works great. It leaves my skin soft, smooth, and hydrated - flakes are gone and make up sits so much nicer on my skin the next day. I've never experienced any stinging or irritation from this product, it just provides gentle exfoliation.

Since using this product I've also noticed a significant improvement in the effectiveness of my BHA toner (ASDM Beverly Hills) which I use on alternate nights to clear out my pores.

I also find it great value considering how far the product goes - you literally only need a pea sized amount for each use. I will definitely repurchase.




on 2/26/2016 1:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this! I have normal-combo skin with pores thay get clogged easily. This is the first AHA product that i have used and let me just say that the results surpassed everything that i had imagined it would do! I use it as my daytime moisturizer (spf on top) and it keeps my skin soft, luminous and exfoliates gently. (DON'T use it during the day if you are exposed to direct sunlight a lot, even if you wear spf!! I hardly am exposed to any sunlight, direct or otherwise, so this works for me) I have post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation on my cheeks and this has helped to reduce it too!
Plus a really really small amount is needed per use so its quite cost-effective. I find that it leaves my skin a bit greasy if i use more than, say, a small pea size; but again this depends on your skin.
I use Paula's Choice 2% bha liquid exfoliant at night and these two work really well to keep me looking radiant! Cannot recommend this enough!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2015 3:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I strayed from this stuff for a more expensive product and when that product started messing with my skin this fixed it right up. I alternate this with Epiduo which makes my skin more sensitive than usual so I usually get a little stinging on application but its tolerable. I found that if I wait at least 20 min to apply after cleansing the stinging isn't as bad or is not there at all.

This stuff gets rid of flakes and works better than Epiduo alone for keeping my acne at bay, and its very moisturizing on its own. I love that it comes in a tube. Pumps waste so much product and jars ruin the antioxidants. Its also really inexpensive for such a great product.


on 8/24/2015 10:57:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am a huge fan of the Alpha Hydrox family of products! I use this particular one nightly (the instructions say to use morning and night) and my complexion is also very even toned and smooth. I have never had a chemical peel and, until I started using the Alpha Hydrox products a few years ago, I'd never used an AHA product. I have never experienced any burning or stinging with these products. I highly recommend the line.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love chemical exfoiliation and seem to do really well with AHA's and when I needed to bump my cart over for free shipping. I threw a tube of this in. I absolutely love this product, first it comes in a tube, second it has a very nice texture. Even though I'm no stranger to acids and I use 40% AHA and 40% Mandelic acid this works so well to upkeep my peels. It just keeps my skin looking glowey and better. I haven't had any breakouts with this either. In fact my skin has never been smoother! It comes in a nice tube and a little goes a long way.

It doesn't sting or burn when I apply it but like I said I use chemical exfoilients a lot. I've always had a problem with break outs and this seems to keep them under control. My skin is so even toned and poreless! I mean it just looks so much better and my makeup is going on better as well. I think the 12% is perfect for someone starting out on these types of products or who are used to AHA's but want to keep your peels looking fresh. It really gives me time in between my peels so I love that. This is a great company as well I love how they actually tell you the ph of their product.

It's a no frills product too. Just a quality product in a tube that works. Especially for my acne prone skin. I've been using this every night since I purchased it and I totally see a difference. My skin which loves to be blotchy is totally even. It almost looks porcelain it's in such good shape. This is a great product whether you are starting out or are used to chemical exfoilients because this does the job very well. Some might purge a bit I got one spot on my lower jaw but it went away in a day. I will absolutely repurchase this and most definitely recommend it!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2015 2:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I went through a couple of the old jars (now in a tube) and just ordered online when I realized my drugstore stopped carrying it. Very effective, slight stinging, very helpful with controlling small clogged pores and breakouts along my hairline and nose. I have oily skin in the T zone and would use it once a week or so in the evening before going to bed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top