3.9

Created with Sketch.
1314 reviews
65%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range
$32.00 on Saks Fifth Avenue
Shop Now

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Gives me great lenght and volume, but crumbles and transfers like crazy after a few hours. Not worth the price tag.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

super plump, easy to apply, no flaking if you apply slow and carefully

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

It this was a $8 mascara I would give it four stars. It does lengthen the lashe with a nice boost of color, though I'm uncertain as to whether it actually "curled them". But it wears off, ending up under my eye, and disappearing by the time my husband gets home from work. It's honestly no better than most drug store mascaras and at close to $40 I am NOT buying again.

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Other

HairRed

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It’s better than Diorshow if you want to spend a lot of money this one is better but better priced than either is Clarins Supra Volume. I find the Clarins to last longer than YSL n give the same effect with less problems. The YSL is lovely eg it never irritated my eyes when it was usable—I have gone through 3 tubes—- but it goes ‘too clumpy n unusable so fast! n seems to irritate my eyes at that point v fast (thats why i had to repurchase so many times). The clarins never did that i still use it months later though i know the annoying ‘rule’.. I really cannot justify the YSL price for the quality when cheaper brands are better dejavu fiberwig is another mascara that is better than YSL or similar but less problems. I am a ‘crybaby’ type person and moreso nowadays. I remember I regularly cried off my YSL last year and with Dejavu n Clarins that isn’t a problem. Clarins may move but nothing compared to the YSL. It’s probably the mascara used in movies when they want to show the character weeping off their mascara in streams (usually for comic effect).

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I would’ve gave this 5 stars if it wasn’t 41$ cad. This is why I purchase the L’Oréal telescopic regularly, and the ysl every 5 years ????. However, this mascara is incredible. The first coat isn’t so impressive, the second coat, on the other hand, is. My lashes look super long and it gives lots of volume. I use black in #1, (not noir radical)

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I like high end makeup, but I’m a drugstore mascara gal. Since I discovered Maybelline Lash Sensational I have not looked back at any other mascara, especially expensive ones. Now, I got this one as a gift and it’s an okay mascara. The brush is not too thick and it lengthens my lashes decently. But oh boy, that smell! It’s like you apply perfume to your lashes. And it doesn’t just go away, it stays with you for a while. The price is dreadful. I mean, it’s a decent product but definitely not for that price. It’s nearly not as intensely black and volumizing as my Lash Sensational, and doesn’t hold a curl at all. My lashes went flat after two hours, and I rarely have problem with that. Overall, go for it if you want to spoil yourself, you like YSL and fancy packaging- otherwise head to the drugstore and get same for less.

About reviewer (243 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Nice effect, but doesn't last My lashes are short and fairly straight, so what I look most for in a mascara is length and the ability to hold a curl. This mascara delivers a nice effect upon application, but unfortunately, the effect doesn't last long and the mascara 'disappears' troughout the day. The formula does allow reapplication troughout the day, but at this price point, I'm looking for better performance. It comes of easily and contradictory to it's name, I'd say that this mascara is better suited to someone who prefers a natural lash look, or who already has long and curly lashes. It must also be mentioned that this mascara is heavily fragranced, which might not be everyone's cup of tea.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The best mascara I've bought. It amplifies lashes without clumps, and stats on all day.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

After not purchasing this for years because of the price point, I've finally started using it again. Heaven knows I've tried LOTS of other mascaras, and there are some I like, but this is hands down my favorite. It applies easily without clumping and makes my lashes long and thick. My lashes stay soft as well. I've never been able to find one I like as much as this. It's expensive, but it's the best!

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is for the waterproof version, I haven't tested the regular one for comparison. This was not very reliable, some days it would coat every single one of my lashes no problem and they would look long and gorgeous. Other days it would clump like crazy and I would have 5 thick spider lashes. Every time I put on more than one coat, it would also clump. I never had any smudges but it was extremely difficult to remove, I often had to double cleanse with Pond's Cold Cream and follow with waterproof micellar water. I will not repurchase because I have found many drugstore mascaras I like more, and it only lasted a month before drying out.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us