REVLON Super Lustrous Creme - Black Cherry 477

REVLON Super Lustrous Creme - Black Cherry 477

4.0

127 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 8/21/2018 1:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

As an opaque lipstick, this sucks. It's patchy, feathers and runs like crazy, and not even a lip liner can save it. The only way I've found to wear it that works is as a very very sheer, super lightly dabbed on MLBB wash of color under a generous layer of lip balm. And even though it works fine and looks great applied that way, I can't bring myself to recommend it as an MLBB when Clinique Black Honey exists and is the exact same idea but superior in every way. I have a soft spot for this line of lipsticks and I will absolutely go to bat for HG shades like Toast of New York, but there's a stinker in every bunch, and in the Super Lustrous bunch, Black Cherry is that stinker.

If you want a sheer berry MLBB, get Clinique Black Honey.

If you want a vampy burgundy creme, get Wet n Wild Cherry Bomb.

Don't get this. It's not worth it, not even for $5.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.



on 10/4/2016 3:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Literally my least favourite lipstick in my entire collection. It smears all over the lips, bleeds if you don't have a good lipliner on, applies really unevenly, exaggerates lines in the lip, makes them flaky. I felt like I would end up with this all over my cheeks the couple times I wore it. It's a real dud.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 9/19/2016 8:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This one's a legend.

Dries your lips up like straight butthole, but who cares? It looks amazing on pretty much anyone. Or most people, anyways.

7 of 10 people found this helpful.


on 5/17/2016 11:18:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this particular lipstick. I wanted something dramatic and deep and this one delivers. I have NC20 skin, and my lips are very pale, and I love the versatility of the Black Cherry color. Just a bit (with or without balm -- it's moisturizing enough to not demand extra fuss) and I get a nice bit of color. Add a bit more and I get a good medium burgundy. Blotted or dabbed on with a finger, it looks matte but doesn't feel that way. Add more and it's full out borderline goth, but still burgundy (instead of black) enough so it's wearable without being too intense -- unless you shy away from dramatic colors. Wear is even, and there's no scent or taste. There's no sparkle or shimmer. It feels comfy, and due to its creaminess a lip liner is a good idea, but I don't always do it or find I need it. What's nice about this, too, is it's a shade that would look good on a variety of skin tones -- from super pale to ultra dark.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 2/10/2016 10:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

On my hunt for a vampy plum lip product, this one was the first one I picked up. I had seen people rave about it online, and with the cheap price tag, I figured it was worth a shot and I picked one up at the drugstore.

Considering its a drugstore lipstick, the packaging is pretty good. The color itself is also gorgeous; it's a deep, true plum shade. However, even after exfoliating and lining my lips, this stuff feathered and flaked and highlighted every little line on my lips. It's just not a great product. Instead, I'd recommend Wet N' Wild's Cherry Bomb. It is several dollars cheaper, practicality same shade, and a much better lipstick.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 12/1/2015 2:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hate to be the negative review of a HG product. It was patchy, uneven, and it tends to bleed without a lipliner. I expected more from this product, overall disppointed. It could be used as a semi-decent lip stain but that is not what I wanted this lipstick for, I wanted it to make a statement.

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 10/2/2015 8:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Had high hopes for this due to to the high ratings, but was disappointed.
Its patchy, patchy, PATCHY! I can never get it to apply evenly no matter what I do.

I've had similar shades from different drugstore brands (Rimmel, Maybelline) that apply smooth and evenly. I'll stick to those ones instead.

The Super Lustrous line from Revlon is usually great, but this certain shade is a dud.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 8/27/2015 7:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Made a trip to a CVS in LA just to get this (we don't have this shade in Australia). Disappointed. It swatches so beautifully on the web, IRL it's quite patchy and runs outside my lip lines.

Revlon lipsticks are a real hit when they're a hit, middling when they aren't. This isn't horrible, its just not what I thought it would be. Might be better with a matching lip liner, and serious blotting and setting. I bought MAC Diva in the same US trip (we do have MAC in Aus, it's just extremely overpriced here), I think I will stick with that as my go-to dark lip colour.

On the plus side, the swatch of Rum Raisin on this page looks really good, might have to check that out (:

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 7/29/2015 9:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Its... okay.

I wanted a really vampy, dark, statement lipstick to wear for my birthday. As i knew i wasn't going to be wearing this sort of shade all the time i though't i'd go for a cheaper dupe shade of MAC.

It was really hard to put on at first, for example if you go a little bit out of line you can tell drastically and because its so dark you have to be really careful you don't get it all over your face by having it on your hand or touching your lips. Plus it came off really easily, and once it started coming off it looked pretty gross.

I wouldn't buy this again.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Really disappointed in this lipstick. Normally I love the super lustrous lipsticks from Revlon (i.e. Primrose) but this one was a total dud. It is such a gorgeous color, a deep vampy wine color. However. This is one of the patchiest lipsticks I have ever come across. I found it was very uneven in application and you had to layer it quite a bit to get that deep vampy wine color. It was also very uncomfortable to wear on the lips. Thumbs down from me!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Back to Top