4.3

Created with Sketch.
16 reviews
69%
would repurchase
3.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

As others have described this scent well, (I don’t get powder, certainly not baby powder) I’ll add I didn’t fall in love instantly wasn’t too keen at first, it’s not an obvious scent of the usual high street designer screeching & loud that smashes one in the face with its charms, this scent woos one and an hour later I was falling into deep love. It’s sensual, seductive, beautiful & comforting and develops over time. It’s the kind of scent to wear when one wants people to think one smells beautiful rather than one is wearing perfume. It’s a skin scent and mists one subtly but every time I move, I catch it’s scent. I spray myself with it at bedtime and can smell it lingering around me & on my sheets as I wake, the nicest morning greeting. It’s the difference between obvious or subtle makeup, between seeming to smell gorgeous naturally or walking round in a cloud of ersatz skunk stink that offends others at five paces, as most ‘designers’ sell. I now cannot get enough of Heliotrope Blanc and spray my clothes, self and surfaces, it’s so delicious. Edit: I’ve since found out, no wonder it smells natural and isn’t overpowering, it’s made with hundreds of kilos of handpicked petals and natural essences ie far higher quality than modern designer (niche for not) brands with their screeching synthetics to which people today are accustomed.

About reviewer (102 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I love L.T. Piver's Heliotrope Blanc. I love that whole line of heliotrope/almond-y/powder fragrances in general, excepting the most extreme versions (Montale SOD, Keiko Mecheris' Loukhoum family). Of the powdery/almond heliotrope family, Piver's was the first - 1850 per fragrantica. It's basically a combination of almost-Johnson's baby powder and Caron's Farnesia. Over time the Farnesia (almond/playdoh) recedes, the Johnson's baby powder gets stronger. I'm not keen on Johnson's baby powder, and for me, what makes Piver's Heliotrope Blanc bearable is a light spine of jasmine that pulls it just ever so slightly out of baby powder classic and into Baby Powder Black, or Exteme... EDIT: I have, after all, had the problems others mention with lasting power. I'm using the "lotion" version, which I suspect is just Marketing's way of making it acceptable to manly men. Oh well, it was a bargain, so I can just respritz. Heliotrope Blanc is a comfort scent extraordinaire, and costs oodles less than Etro's Heliotrope (closest cousin, and quite lovely) or Lea (more $$ and vanilla).

About reviewer (542 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

The opening of this is beautiful, soft and warm and so well blended that nothing jumps out- it's just there and wonderful. The drydown (which happens on my too warm skin in 15 min) is flat baby powder. The price is incredible, it's well done, it won't give anyone a headache- but it's not for me.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

So far this is my favorite heliotrope (I have not tried the Etro). It is not sugary and skirts the edge of baby-powder territory. I think it's the jasmine that makes it a cut above. No one has mentioned musk, but I suspect that there's a bit of clean, soft white musk in the base. This has a light yet perceptible sillage that's perfect for bedtime (and as dancingoutlaw said, occasions where there's hugging). When I'm in the mood for something soft, gentle, and lovely, this is always utterly perfect.

About reviewer (354 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

11 years ago

A soft powdery heliotrope scent with a tinge of bitter almond. It stays close to the skin but lasts no more than 2 hours on my skin (and by this time I'm forcing my nostrils to sniff for the scent!). You can spray on a jumper it will last longer. Though it is delicate and soft, i still like Etro's Heliotrope equally as much or a little more as it lacks the almond note and is soft but the scent is more prominent than HB.

About reviewer (247 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

Piver Heliotrope Blanc is very similar to Mazzolari Alessandro and Lorenzo Villoresi Teint de Neige, without the aldehydes. Upon drydown it bears a striking resemblance to Caron Farnesiana, minus the resiny depth. If you like heliotrope and don't mind the "baby powder" association, you'll love Heliotrope Blanc. Soft and smooth, slightly almondy but not soapy. I still like Etro's heliotrope scent better because it seems to have more dimension, but HB is quite passable. Two downsides: (1) it doesn't last long, and (2) the bottle is hideous.

About reviewer (117 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

13 years ago

A “bright” heliotrope is an excellent way to put it. This is soft and very pretty. I actually think this one is worth tracking down. I've worn this around my house and to both a small bridal shower and to a couple of baby showers. I think it's nice for any event where lots of warm hugs are exchanged between dear friends. It’s definitely one of those, “Mmm, you smell so nice!“ kind of fragrances to be worn lightly within small spaces. I understand and agree with most of the comparison to Jour de Fete, though this is sweeter. If you don’t care for the bitter, but you like the wheat in JdF; try this one. I prefer JdF and use my bottle of that one sparingly, but I believe this beats out Etro's lovely version of heliotrope.

About reviewer (267 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

13 years ago

After reading all the reviews and ordering a sample of this perfume online, I was really hoping to love it...but I don't. Although the opening notes of almond/vanilla were beautiful, within 10 minutes it had turned to the distinct smell of playdough on my skin. It then disappeared completely within an hour. I might use up the decant I have, but would not consider buying a full bottle. The search continues...

About reviewer (174 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

13 years ago

Speaking of comfort scents, this is a gorgeous blend of slightly bitter almond, soft vanilla and gentle white flowers. There is none of the harshness that you'd find in many white flower/heliotrope scents. My favorite thing about this scent is how soft it is, hugging your skin with a whisper of fragrance that lasts and lasts and lasts. This beats all of the heliotrope scents I've tried, including the ubiquitous Etro version. A large 100ml bottle is available for about $60 from www.escentual.co.uk.

About reviewer (1158 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

14 years ago

A delightful heliotrope scent sweetened with almond and softened with jasmine and vanilla. Sweet and cosy but not overly gourmand. This is the best almondy edt I've tried so far, IMO better than Héliotrope by Etro and Jour de fete by L'Artisan Parfumeur... and much cheaper too!

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal

HairBrown

EyesGreen