3.5

Created with Sketch.
825 reviews
56%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range
$157.00 on Nordstrom
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Not gonna lie, this is the shit. I have large pores on my nose so i'm always struggling to cover them in a way that doesn't totally clog them. This was the trick. Any primer or foundation with clog them, but this covers them and smooths them out, while staying light. It also somehow makes my skin less oily throughout the day? I got it as a gift but haven't bought it since, it just too pricey for what it is I think. If it was cheaper, I'd buy it again.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel



2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 months ago

like other Estee Lauder treatment, I dont see any improvement and it broke my skin out.

About reviewer (91 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have used this over 16 years. I initially reached out for a serum which would help shrink my pores and it worked wonderfully then. But as the years went by the serum seem to have lost its touch. I continue using and repurchasing it because I have become accustomed to using it over the many years but I am not able to say that it is actually doing anything anymore. My pores have grown bigger and my complexion is not even. In my country, this item has been running out of stock for some time and I went 2 months without it..didn’t make a difference though

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I have enlarged pores on my face, i was advised to buy the product, so i bought the big bottle of Idealist. It's almost finished but no results

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I never actually bought this product to try on my face but I have However tested out on my hands whenever they got dry while shopping in Macy's! LOL! I personally think this serum is way overpriced for what it's really worth! Which I think is basically a primer like product just full of silicones in it to give you just a fake sensorial feeling of silkyness that tricks you to thinking something is happening to your skin! I could imagine that if I applied this serum on my face I would get lots of clog pores Bc IOC of the heavy silicones in it ! It does feel good & smells very fresh Bc of the extcts of coriander & grapefruit in it ! Again it's just a sensorial thing ! I personally would not buy this stuff! Years ago serious skincare made a glucosamine serum that was light like water which was so much better than this expensive stuff!

About reviewer (236 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal

HairBlack

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a nice product but NOT worth the high price. I bought the 30ml size and after using it after cleansing once a day for nearly 2 months I have not noticed a difference in my skin in the areas I have been watching the most, e.i. my T zone. It smells nice but kinda smells like Earl Grey tea.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have used Idealist since it was first introduced many years ago. An Estee Lauder rep at a department store gave my friend and I a sample to try, and as soon as I felt how silky it was on my skin, I was sold. I have very enlarged pores from years of oily, acne-prone skin, and this is the only product I have found that truly softens and improves the texture of my skin. Not only does it help reduce pores, it eliminates dry, flaky patches as well. I rarely use a moisturizer, as Idealist does the trick for me. It leaves a velvety-soft matte texture that is a perfect primer for make-up. If I ever try to go without Idealist, I am amazed at how much rougher my skin feels, and how make-up "drags" rather than gliding on smoothly. Idealist has been my #1 beauty staple for too many years to count! I just purchased the large size once again, and though it's pricey, a little goes a long way and usually lasts me nearly a year. Guess that will have to suffice until they come out with the gallon-jug size!

About reviewer (7 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairGrey, Other, Other

EyesViolet


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

It is a lovely serum that doubles as a primer too. It has a silky-matte finish that has some oil controlling function too. The formula is silicone-in-water emulsion and contains two silicone oils and a silicone elastomer. The silicone elastomer is the culprit when it comes to clogged pores for some due to that it is occlusive. It can unfortunately also trigger cystic acne and one should be careful if prone to acne. Silicone elastomers have also the use as an excellent non-drying blurring agent that immediately will temporarily transform all skin surfaces into a more perfect version of themselves without the use of colour cosmetics. Double also as the perfect primer under foundation/coloured day cream etc. Unfortunately the product is sold for all skin types. While all skin types will appreciate its finish, oilier skin types will incline to like it the most. It does contain an impressive array of actives (anti-oxidants and cell communicating ingredients) and also some excellent mild exfoliating agents in a higher concentration that also have documented effect (Acetyl Glucosamine, Sodium Lactobionate in 1% concentration each?). Clinique has a corresponding formula that is marketed as Turnaround Serum but this serum is emulsified by a silicone emulsifier (or rather a mix of two), while the Idealist (being an older formulation) is emulsified and stabilized by two oil-in-water polymeric emulsifiers. This will give Idealist the perception of a lighter feel at application also. It contains Methyldihydrojasmonate, Limonene and Linalool that are used as the fragrance material. (Can cause allergic reactions.) Ingredients: Water\Aqua\Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Polysilicone-11, Acetyl Glucosamine, Sodium Lactobionate, Morus Nigra (Mulberry) Root Extract, Yeast Extract\Faex\Extrait De Levure, Serenoa Serrulata (Saw Palmetto) Fruit Extract, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Extract, Castanea Sativa (Chestnut) Seed Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract\Extrait D'Orge, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender), Amorphophallus Konjac Root Powder, Caffeine, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Salvia Sclarea (Clary) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Coriandrum Sativum (Coriander), Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit California), Cholesterol, Glycerin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Squalane, Polyethylene, Isopentyldiol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Isohexadecane, Polysorbate 20, Pantethine, Methyldihydrojasmonate, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Polysorbate 80, Peg-8, Ethyl 2,2-Dimethylhydrocinnamal, Phospholipids, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Butylene Glycol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, Sodium Glycyrrhetinate, Nordihydroguaiaretic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Limonene, Linalool, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891) <ILN32389>

About reviewer (295 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've been using ANR until the Estee Lauder counter introduced this for my enlarged pore. Upon applying the serum there's usually some runny gel like excess on my face. After finishing half a bottle, the pores on my face were seriously clogged, with visible white bumps, some up tp ~2mm diametre (yes that big!). No breakout, but you can see that the face is not smooth..like i'm having some permanent goosebumps. Stopped using and thrown away the other half. Switch back to ANR and signed up for a facial program to perform extraction on the clogged pores, now it's back to normal. It was a nightmare

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love Estee Lauder products! I bought this after an Estee Lauder sales girl suggested it would help diminish the size of my pores, and even out my skin tone. This serum is so smooth and silky feeling! It has the consistency of a primer, but it doesn't just "sit" on the skin's surface. It absorbs quickly and is not greasy or heavy feeling. Idealist pore minimizer makes a great base for foundation, making it glide on evenly. I will admit that at first, I wasn't sure if this stuff was working. I broke out on my chin and forehead for the first week after using, but I do have fairly sensitive skin too. It took some time to see the results, about 3/4 of a large bottle to be exact. Just when I was starting to get frustrated, thinking I had wasted my money, I started noticing my pores were shrinking!! My overall skin tone improved. The blemishes disappeared. My skin is now soft and smooth. The only "negative" for me is the price, but it is less expensive than a lot of other department store brands. Also, the fragrance might be a little strong or irritating if you have sensitive skin (I love the way it smells though).

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us