3.8

Created with Sketch.
10 reviews
60%
would repurchase
3.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I’ve got thick long medium brown hair, I bought two hair dyes in the colour “dark brown” and dyed it myself, it went blotchy and stripey even though I used a hair dye application brush and I combed through my hair and it just didn’t work, and don’t even get me started on how long it takes to wash the hair dye out:)) I asked my mum who used to be a hair dresser to dye my hair for me using the same hair dye and it did the same thing I don’t understand why it doesn’t stick to ur hair ? And it take so many washes to wash the hair dye, and the dark brown box dye made my hair turn black? I do not recommend it, doesn’t stick to ur hair and random parts get dyed even tho u coveeer ur whole head it this stuff and make sure all the roots are dyed :)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBlack

EyesGreen



1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Used "medium brown" 5.0 today, horrified as my hair has come out black. I have light brown hair with previously bleached blonde highlights and was looking for something that would be darker yet eventually my highlights would show through. Completely did not expect the result. A very good price in comparison with other drugstore dyes however now I will have to spend so many times that, hence not worth it at all.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Curly, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I like to try out different hair colour brands to see what works best for me. I've used them all out there, Nice 'n Easy, Perfect 10, Garnier, Schwarzkopf, L'Oreal, John Frieda and throughout trying them out, I noticed that the cheaper you go, ironically the better hair dye you get. Schwarzkopf for me has work the best and I've been using their Poly Colour Tint in dark brown for the best part of 3 months. I decided last week to go for a different brand because I think sometimes your hair can get too used to a dye, you need to mix things up every so often. So as I was pacing up the hair dye isle of Superdrug, I noticed their own brand Colour Performance which is priced at a great price of £3.25. I remember my mother used this once and she said that the hair dye left her hair in great condition, soft & shiny and with a great colour that lasts. I decided to use Colour Performance in Darkest Brown: - http://cdn1.shopperhive.co.uk/n/superdrug-colour-performance-natural-rich-darkest-30.jpg APPLICATION When I was applying the hair dye, I noticed that formula is quite watery, which is quite good because it spreads better and evenly. You have to let it develop over 30 minutes and through out that time there was no dripping or spillage of the dye which was great. WASHING OUT I always think a good hair dye should be easy to wash out, and it did wash out very good actually. Dark hair dyes normally leave your shower a bit of mess but this one didn't fortunately. I liked the conditioner it was included with, it leaves your hair really soft straight after application! THE RESULT As I finished drying my hair and looked into the mirror to see how the dye performed, I was happily surprised. The dye managed to work with my hair very well indeed, it gave my hair a lovely rich dark chocolate brown hue. As dark browns can be quite misleading and can come out a black, this one didn't and it produced a lovely rich and glossy shade of dark brown. I gave great even coverage as well that I'm really pleased with. For being Superdrug's own brand, it performed fantastically. This certainly beats going to the hairdressers and dearer brands such as L'Oreal and Perfect 10. Being priced at such a low a price, it's definitely worth all of £3.25

About reviewer (13 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

All of superdrug's hair colorants are manufactured by Procter and Gamble. The giant cosmeceuticals company,which also manufacture, Wella professional and Frederik Fekkai and many other excellent professional hair products Having worked for both wella professional and l'oreal group of companies as a technician in the R&D divisions for professional and consumer hair products. In my opinion, all of superdrugs hair colours are comparable to Wella professional products. The superdrug permanent hair colour is 80% pigment rich as wella koleston perfect is 100% in pigment density. For a consumer product it is the best on the UK high street . The quality is excellent and as for white hair coverage it is the best. The only hair colourants that offer a better result are those hair colourants that are designed for professional use only. At the moment my hair colour is a very rich auburn the formula is superdrugs Colour Performance 8.0 25ml Colour Vibrance 66.46 12.5ml Colour Vibrance 77.44 12.5ml All i have to say is it is absolutely spectacular The colour is sublime and as for tenacity , it is one of the best i have personally used. I really hate to say it, but i personally prefer it to my technicians products. I love the Hairdresser's salon experience, however in these austere and time poor, times a little home help is required.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

12 years ago

I bought Warm Chocolate Brown - in the semi-permenant version. I actually bought 2 boxes as i have very long hair but the bottles are quite generous & the formula is easy to spread.Result was great - a lovely rich,even color. I found the fact that i had to rinse & then shampoo and then condition after colouring a little annoying also the gloves were HUGE & hard to use.But i would buy again & its a great value product too - under 5euros.

About reviewer (218 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

This product covered my hair evenly, made it shiny, and it felt soft even while the dye was in my hair (a lot of times even with something like Preference or another fairly expensive drugstore dye my hair turns to wet straw and gets horribly tangled while processing and rinsing). The colour was exactly what was on the package as well, and it didn't turn out too dark like so many browns (I used natural lightest brown). Oh yeah, and it's super cheap! The packaging is ugly as hell and it looks like they took the photographs in a dimly lit closet, but I've seen a couple of the new box and they look pretty nice. Who cares, it's what's inside that matters anyway!

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

13 years ago

I tried this in chocolate brown.<BR><BR> This made my (previously dyed bown hair) feel gorgeous. It also now has that chocolatey multi-dimensional colour I've always wanted. Ok, so it may be "Superdrug" hair colour, the packaging may be unfancy, and the colour range is very simple.. but at such an amazing price, and to achieve such amazing colour results (with lovely condition) ~ what more could I have asked for? :]<BR>I will buy this again!

About reviewer (89 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

13 years ago

I completely agree with cyber_showgirl on this one - this is a brilliant product at an excellent price. I've been a bottle blonde since I was 17 (ten years now), and the only way for me to get my colour-resistant light brown hair light blonde was a two step bleach and then tint process. This knocked the absoloute hell out of my hair, as you can imagine, and I decided to stop. Over the years I tried literally every blonde shade on the market, trying to get lightish blonde in one step, and it just didn't happen. My hair wound up mousy light brown, cos that was the best the home kits could do. Then, one cash-strapped week I picked up Colour Performance in Lightest ash blonde, slapped it on, rinsed it off, and was amazed to see that my hair was indeed a soft ash blonde, light but not unatural looking, not in the least bit brassy, and feeling soft and shiny. I think I manged to get that first box for £1.99, and I haven't looked back. Thanks Superdrug!

About reviewer (72 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Curly, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

13 years ago

Couldn't disagree more with the previous reviewer. </BR></BR> Navigated my way to this product (in "Warm Intense Red") after word of mouth reports from three seperate friends on the impressive conditioning properties of Superdrug's own brand hairdye, and following years and years of dying my hair EVERY shade of red under the sun, including bleaching it and dying it pillarbox scarlet fairly recently, and my poor lil' tresses were seriously damaged and really showing the strain of so much prolonged abuse. I was really cynical this could give me the colour coverage I would need to cover up the "patchiness" of my growing out scarlet/dark brown barnett, and I was cynical that ANYTHING except for a fairly radical haircut could do very much for the condition of the more processed parts of my hair. </BR></BR> Figuring it couldn't get much worse, I bunged the Superdrug dye on, waited 20 minutes, washed......to my surprise, this gave a really impressive colour, very even (despite the fact I'd naturally dark roots coming through and the rest of the hair was faded scarlet), and the texture of whole lot was really soft and bright.... surprisingly bright since this shade is a good 2-3 shades lighter than what the "regrowth" colour at my roots is, I'd not expected it to be such an effective lightener (as a hair dye veteran, I've observed as a rule of thumb that dyes which lighten also tend to be the most damaging on the hair). </BR></BR>I'm honestly flabbergasted at just how much better this made my brittle hair feel. Ok the shade range Superdrug offer isn't particularly exciting or wide compared to something like Feria or Live Colour, but it's soooooo much kinder to your hair. IMHO, an unassuming, inexpensive little star of a hair-dye and I will continue to use it till my hair's in better condition.

About reviewer (300 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairRed

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

15 years ago

This is a cheap product as far as hair dye goes, but it was the only brand that seemed to have the colour I was looking for. I used permanent, as my friend has usd the semi-permanent version and it washed out straight away apparently. The smell was awful, and the product made my scalp sting for a small while, this has never happened to me with a hair dye. The colour comes out quite subtle, which could be good or bad, but it will not give you as dramatic a change as the box suggests. This might be contributed towards by the fact that there is very little product provided, my hair is fine and about shoulder length and I struggled to cover my whole head of hair, so much so that if I hadn't used such a subtle colour I am quite sure it would've come out uneven. The condition this product leaves your hair in is not good, my hair seems more dry, brittle and damamged than before, which I know is a given with a permanent hair dye, but for what it is the damage is worse, and not as worth it as with many other dyes. Not recommended unless desperate!

About reviewer (43 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone

HairBrown

EyesHazel