Estée Lauder Verite Moisture Relief Cream [DISCONTINUED]

Estée Lauder Verite Moisture Relief Cream [DISCONTINUED]

4.1

54 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua Purificata) Purified; Butylene Glycol; Dimethicone; Hexylene Glycol; Petrolatum; Cetearyl Alcohol; Squalane; Pentylene Glycol; Sucrose; Glycerin; Isostearyl; Neopentanoate; Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract; Centella Asiatica (Hydrocotyl) Extract; Sodium Hyaluronate; Ceramide 3; Cholesterol; Caffeine; Cetearyl Glucoside; Hydrogenated Lecithin; Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria); Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate; Stearic Acid; Carbomer; Sodium Citrate; Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891) Original 1995: Water, Cyclomethicone, Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii), Cetearyl Glucoside, Squalane, Butylene Glycol, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Sucrose, Glycerin, Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, Linoleic Acid, Sodium Hyaluronate, Malvaceae Extract (Hibiscus Rosa-Sinensis), Sea Whip Extract, Hydrocotyl Asiatica Extract (Centella Asiatica), Oat Extract (Avena Sativa), Cholesterol, Caffeine, Lavender (Lavandula Angustifolia), Carnosic Acid, Carnosol Extract, TEA Carbomer, Sodium Chloride, Stearic Acid, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Dehydroaceate, Phenoxyethanol

Start your review


on 11/21/2018 5:05:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The formula has unfortunately simplified through the years since its launch in 1995.
While it was a dense cream that had a perceptive feel on the skin became a much thinner (and less elegant) watery thing that absorbs quickly but does not provide hydration, nor protection for a rather thin lipid barrier that sensitive skin usually has.

Its oil-phase used to be composed mainly of Cyclomethicone, Shea Butter, it became Dimethicone and (a smaller amount) Petrolatum. The preservative system became, basically non-existent and contains Hexylene Glycol (not approved as preservative and an irritant in higher concentrations as it is used here). Several of the precious actives have also dissipated making it into a mediocre product.

The best is that it has remained fragrance-free.

2017 ingredients: Water (Aqua Purificata) Purified; Butylene Glycol; Dimethicone; Hexylene Glycol; Petrolatum; Cetearyl Alcohol; Squalane; Pentylene Glycol; Sucrose; Glycerin; Isostearyl; Neopentanoate; Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract; Centella Asiatica (Hydrocotyl) Extract; Sodium Hyaluronate; Ceramide 3; Cholesterol; Caffeine; Cetearyl Glucoside; Hydrogenated Lecithin; Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria); Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate; Stearic Acid; Carbomer; Sodium Citrate; Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891)

Original 1995: Water, Cyclomethicone, Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii), Cetearyl Glucoside, Squalane, Butylene Glycol, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Sucrose, Glycerin, Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, Linoleic Acid, Sodium Hyaluronate, Malvaceae Extract (Hibiscus Rosa-Sinensis), Sea Whip Extract, Hydrocotyl Asiatica Extract (Centella Asiatica), Oat Extract (Avena Sativa), Cholesterol, Caffeine, Lavender (Lavandula Angustifolia), Carnosic Acid, Carnosol Extract, TEA Carbomer, Sodium Chloride, Stearic Acid, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Dehydroaceate, Phenoxyethanol

3 of 3 people found this helpful.



on 8/30/2018 1:28:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love it. It works


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Grey, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

I have used Verite for a few years and appreciate its basic, clean (very slight scent of tea tree in my opinion), moisturizing blandness. Don't take blandness as a bad thing, for those with sensitive skin, this is a must!

It is my trusty, go-to moisturizer to get my skin back on track with essential, non-pore-clogging moisture after I make the poor decision to experiment with something new in my skin care regime that is shiny, new and inevitably irritating to my complexion.

I love trying new products, can't help myself, but my skin often times lets me know that, "I'm sensitive! Go back to Verite!"

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 4/21/2018 3:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A phenomenal product and one-of-a-kind.

I bought this out of desperation when my Clinique pep start hydrorush moisturiser gave me a terrible allergic reaction and I realised it was actually drying my skin out. I had already started using Estee Lauder's Perfectly Clean Triple Action foaming cleanser and been wowed by its gentleness and effectiveness. That was my first introduction to the brand. Thanks to the reviewers of MUA, I therefore bit a very big bullet and forked out £47 at my nearest Boots for this pot of wonders with all my fingers crossed that it would deliver. And it did.

I have moderate-severe acne, quite severe rosacea, and hyper-sensitive skin which is easily inflamed and irritated. My skin also easily becomes dehydrated and breaks out from oils and butters (including the dreaded capric/caprylic triglyceride found in so many sensitive-skin products now), so I try to stay with 'fat-free' skin products but there was always a compromise to be made - not moisturising enough, mild breakouts, weird textures on my skin, didn't play with other products, made my skin hot etc. But my skin was so bad after Clinique that none of my regular products were helping.

I was cautious with Verite because it has petroleum, and having used Vaseline before and broken out, I was waiting for the breakout to hit. The same with squalane (I'd had terrible acne from The Ordinary's squalane). But, far from it, my skin has never been so immaculate!

Upon initial application, I couldn't believe my skin, which was in such a raw and horrendous state, was not stinging or burning. I usually expect that for the first few minutes even using very 'safe' products, simply because my skin is in such bad condition, but Verite did nothing more than offer what my skin craved - genuine moisture (not just oil), a cooling and soothing effect, and it seemed to 'seal' itself onto my skin like a protective barrier over the rawness yet still allowing my skin to breathe. I couldn't feel the product at all, just its wonderful effects.

It has been about a month now, and not only has my skin rapidly repaired itself because of Verite, but in combo with the Perfectly Clean Triple cleanser, my acne has truly disappeared - a feat I have never managed possible. I remain amazed that I can put this on my face in huge amounts when needed and I never break out. I have always had to apply moisturisers with an almost scientific level of measuring and rubbing in to minimise breakouts from failing to completely rub it in or apply too much but never with this. I can even use this on sunburn with no irritation whatsoever.

As others have mentioned, this was not on display at my local Estee Lauder counter at Boots, so you have to ask for it, but it is still stocked and does not seem to be discontinued anymore, which is truly heartening. Boots online can tell you which branches stock it.

I still don't really understand why this works so beautifully, but it does. It has no problems with my makeup or sunscreen. Yes it is very expensive, and yes it could be packaged better, but the actual contents are incredible and is very literally rescuing and repairing my skin from decades of damage. I cannot praise this enough - my HG moisturiser for life.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Was not sufficiently moisturizing for me, especially in the winter months. Overall, not too bad but not good enough to warrant repurchase.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/12/2015 9:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Pricey moisturizer that is great for sensitive skin prone to breakouts. Fragrance free. It feels like a bandage for your skin.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 4/4/2014 8:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I adore this moisturizer!!

I just received my third jar via UPS today (yes, jar, which does suck, pump please?) after having run out for three weeks. It's hard for me to get to the local mall. Anyhow, during my brief hiatus from Verite, I tried Olay Regenerist. Blech. Olay Regenerist broke me out in little bumps and stung my face like crazy.

Verite works so well for me. It's sensitive skin formula keeps my face very happy which = moisturized, acne free, fine line free and glowing. Yay Verite!

6 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 9/15/2012 10:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great line if you have sensitive skin , dry and are prone to breakouts.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 8/24/2012 10:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Used this product for a week now (with the Verite lotion cleanser) and liked it immensely. It was light and refreshing in comparison to my regular Avene routine. My skin felt comfortable and well moisturized. The package was elegant and simple. The only off-putting factor was the price. But since it works well with my temperamental, sensitive skin, I have no problem with splurging on a quality product.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 1/31/2012 3:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Awesome moisturizer for sensitive skin! I never heard of this product or this line by EL, but I was getting new Futurist fndn along w/Lucity powder and when sampling colors on my dry chicago skin in mid-January, the SA suggested it and I'm so glad - I use am and pm - sometimes twice! This cream has cleared up some funk of a rash and scaly spots - $50 but worth it! Would def repurchase! ... not sure I'd use in summer, quite thick. UPDATE:

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top