4.1

Created with Sketch.
60 reviews
80%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

This really does work to lift roots. You should probably try the sample size before spending $18 though.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I bought a sample bottle at Ulta. I was using Redken Guts. This gives me better volume than Guts and doesnt make my hair greasy the second day. I use this on my roots and Its a 10 miracle leave in conditioner mid to ends. I blow dry and have a lot of volume . My colored and highlighted gray hair isnt dry or frizzy.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

One of the best gives my roots lift without making them dry

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Adds great volume to my fine hair

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I apply this to my roots for volume and it works. It gives my hair good volume and it doesn't leave any sticky residue. I find it very easy to add volume to my hair with this product. Sometimes I don't even blow dry I just apply it to dry hair and I still get volume.

About reviewer (296 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This stuff is awesome. You can feel it in your hair after, but that goes for most volume products that work. It gives noticeable volume that lasts. Works great for my flat hair! Would recommend.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I've been using this for YEARS. It is expensive, but if you stock up when it's on sale, it's totally worth it. I just recently re-stocked my supply... at 10.95 each on sale, I bought two, which will last me a few months. I have straight, thin hair. This gives me volume at the root where I need it. Spray on damp hair at roots and work it into the rest of the hair by brushing or combing. Then blow dry upside down and voila! If you use too much, your hair feels dry. You have to figure out the right amount to use. After I blow dry using this product, I apply a bit of BioSilk serum therapy to my dried hair, then proceed to use my straightening iron, makes it so much easier and there is no tugging or pulling of my hair. Does not make my hair greasy. I can actually go 2-3 days without shampooing my hair. And if it does look a bit raunchy around day 2 or 3, I use a few sprays of dry shampoo at the roots (I use Pantene dry shampoo). I cannot live without this product. I have tried other brands that are supposed to be similar to this with awful results. Big Sexy Root Pump is my HG. I also find there is no difference from this one and the root pump plus. Ingredients are the same too, and listed in the same exact order on both bottles. I have used both, and they both perform the same for me.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have used product a week ago and again this past week. I have noticed both times my hair became extremely dry and very brittle. I do not have dry hair my hair is on the normal side. this has also caused my hair to become frizzy. I'm not sure if this product has a lot of alcohol in it. I think this will be better for someone who has very thin hair and needs volume. I will not be purchasing this product again and now I have a huge can of this sitting under my bathroom sink and I am unable to use it. I'm sure this product worked very well for others but unfortunately it has not worked well for me

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Olive

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Love this product. I use on my roots while they're damp. I lift up sections I'd hair, spray into the roots, then brush through. I then blow it dry. This product makes a visible difference in the volume of my hair near the roots an stays all day. Even though I use quite a bit of product (maybe 10 sprays) , my hair feels touchable. The biggest downside is that my hair is greasy the next day - when I use this, I must wash my hair the next day (or apply dry shampoo).

About reviewer (236 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I bought a small sample of Root Pump and am greatly torn about it. I used this on a blow out and it gave me pretty decent results. However, when I went to straighten my hair (since blow drying it - even with product - still makes my thick hair pretty frizzy and poofy), my hair lost all of the volume it had and fell flat. I don't know where I went wrong or what happened. I sprayed it on damp hair, concentrating at the roots and mid-shaft, and blow dried my hair away from my head. Like I said, great volume at first, but fell flat pretty quickly when I flat ironed my hair (for the record, I don't yank my hair down with a flat iron - I try to work with the volume and maintain it).It's a pretty messy spray and comes out white. It is a mousse, which is nice, but the spraying can get messy. It can get EVERYWHERE. It also has a pretty chemical-y smell. I would not repurchase this again.

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairRed, Curly, Coarse

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us