3.7

Created with Sketch.
163 reviews
59%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

This cleanser has been a game-changer for me this winter!! I had been using foaming cleansers for years, which left my skin stripped, tight, and dehydrated. I made the switch to a non-foaming cleanser (neutrogena ultra gentle daily hydrating cleanser) but found that too drying as well. I tried this cream cleanser and it was mind-blowing...I cleansed my skin/applied moisturizer, and my skin didn't feel tight throughout the day/night! It was a little bit of an adjustment going from a gel cleanser to what feels like a lotion that you would leave on your face. I've only been using it for about a week now, but I haven't had any allergic reactions or breakouts as a result of using this. I have had some blackheads and pimples pop up, but no more than usual and they would have been formed weeks ago/are just now coming to the surface. The only time this past week my skin ever felt tight or dry was the one day/night that I decided to try the neutrogena cleanser again - big mistake! I'm hopeful that by using a much gentler/non-stripping cleanser, I'll be able to significantly reduce the congestion/blackheads in my skin. I will update in a few months time as to whether this makes a difference for better or for worse!

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I have extreme combo skin, very oily in the T-zone and very dry on cheeks and neck. In my quest for the ultimate skin care regime, I have settled on an evening cleansing routine that involves a first cleanse with an emulsifying cleansing oil or balm, followed by a 2nd cleanse using a gentle creamy cleanser. This method has worked very well for me because it removes physical sunscreen, waterproof concealer and sebum with the lightest touch. Taking the gentle approach with nourishing cleansers has actually made my oily parts LESS oily, and has kept my drier areas from becoming overly parched. To that end, Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser has worked amazingly well as a 2nd cleanse. My criteria are geared toward mildness--I need something that doesn't irritate and won't strip my face or damage my moisture barrier. I imagine if this were the only cleanser being used, it might not have enough oomph to clean away a day's worth of makeup and dirt, but I don't expect it to. It works exceedingly well to prevent dryness and irritation I get when using harsher cleansers. And its slippery texture allows me to massage the skin without tugging or friction, which helps loosen pore buildup in my oily areas. Win-win as I can balance both my dry and oily areas. My other go-to is LaRoche Posay Toleriane, which has a similar texture and mildness. At full retail price, the PC is half the cost of the LRP per ounce. Sometimes I prefer the LRP because it is a slightly simpler formula which has less potential to cause irritation. However, I have a very soft spot for the entire PC Skin Recovery line. It never disappoints in handling extremely dry and/or sensitive skin concerns, and Skin Recovery cleanser is among my favorite staples!

About reviewer (155 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I'm a product junkie, especially for cream cleansers, for which this is an excellent example. It doesn't foam, but still rinses easily. It removes light makeup, but you may want to use it twice if you're wearing heavy makeup. It's fragrance free and doesn't upset my sensitive skin. It doesn't break me out. I simply wet my face and massage this cleanser in. I rinse with tepid water. There is no residue left behind. It makes my skin feel clean but moist. It's a little expensive, but you get tons of product, and Paula's Choice runs deals all the time. I just ordered a 16 ounce bottle for 20% off plus free shipping, which ended up costing me around $20.00 dollars. The normal price is $18.00 dollars for a 8 ounce bottle and $26.00 dollars for a 16 ounce bottle. For comparisons sake, I also use Elizabeth Arden's Ceramide Purifying Cleanser, which costs nearly $30.00 dollars for around 4 ounces. Ounce per ounce, Paula's choice costs less than some drugstore brands. I haven't had a lot of luck with most of Paula's Choice skincare, but the Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is a keeper. If you like cream cleansers, I'd give this one a try.

About reviewer (533 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've tried this several times, as I like the PC line in general and the One-Step Facial Cleanser was my favorite cleanser of all time. Alas, this one is a dud. It leave behind makeup and grime, so while it doesn't irritate or strip my skin, it isn't even doing the bare minimum of its job.

About reviewer (361 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have extremely hyper sensitive skin at the moment following a severe reaction to sulphates. This cleanser was great for a week, then it started to break me out and irritate. It would be okay to use occasionally for me, but not daily.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Kinky, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought a sample of this. I applied it with wet hands to remove makeup, which it mostly did with a washcloth. It didn't burn or cause an allergic reaction for me. It also didn't foam (which normally is a good thing for me). However, this dried my skin out within two uses. It wasn't nearly as bad as a foaming cleanser, but I had skin flakes all over and my makeup looked really weird :/ I can't use something that does this. I've since discontinued use and will try my other samples of the PC RESIST hydrating cleanser and PC Moisture Boost cleanser.

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

While I didn't have any reaction to this product, I also didn't find it did it's job very well. It's similar to LRP TOLERIANE Cleanser in that it's bland and non-foaming but it doesn't remove makeup or even clean skin very well. I find that Cerave Hydrating or Aquanil works better for less $$ though none of the cleansers I've mentioned will remove makeup.

About reviewer (403 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

OMG!HG! Read please!! I have tried everything for taking off my makeup, from Bioderma h20, wipes, Clinique balm, everything!! But this is a hidden gem! It takes my makeup off like nothing else one swipe and splash your face and all of the sunscreen & heavy makeup and mascara everything is off!! I bought it because the UK YouTuber Nadine Bardott she said exactly what it is! Highly highly recommend this stuff. I jave tried the clear to one and it does not take off makeup like this and makes my skin a little bit dryer but this one doesn't!

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I use this with the Skin recovery toner, mask and moisturizer and I'm soooo satisfied with all of them. This is the perfect creamy cleanser, with perhaps not the sexiest packaing but def travel-friendly. I'm so glad I tried this brand, nowadays I don't buy a product unless Paula Beogun recommends it on the Beautypedia site :)

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This was my HG cleanser for YEARS! It was gentle, yet removed sunscreen and makeup with ease. Despite being clog-prone, I never had any issues. Then...(as PC seems to be all-too-fond of doing these days) they had to go and screw-up a good thing. The reformulation was/is awful. Little-to-no removal of makeup (I was left with smeared eye makeup, whereas it removed it beautifully before-no need for a separate product) and it was break-out city, besides. To add further insult to injury, I believe I was told that I would have to pay return shipping when I contacted PC about how displeased I was with the new product. I also noticed that my negative review never made it to onto their page. I've noticed that only my glowing reviews do! So, something to keep in mind... I only revisited MUA's reviews for this product, hoping to find a "dupe". Some say the "Calm Redness" for Normal-Dry skin is similar, while others say it is more similar to "Moisture Boost" (which I never cared for).

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther