Skinceuticals Refining Night Cream With .5% Pure Retinol

Skinceuticals Refining Night Cream With .5% Pure Retinol
Refining Night Cream With .5% Pure Retinol

4.2

126 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

water, cyclomethicone, cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone crosspolymer, dimethicone, dimethiconol, laureth-4, laureth-23, hydrogenated lecithin, butyorspermum parkii (shea butter), caprylic/capric triglyceride, ceramide 2, ceramide 3, phytosphingosine, cholesterol, hypericum perforatum extract, propylene glycol, allyl methacrylate crosspolymer, polysorbate 20, retinol, BHT, sodium polyacrylate, dimethicone PEG-7 isostearate, glycerin, polyacrylamide, C13-14 isoparaffin, leureth-7, bisabolol. rosa canina leaf extract, silybum marianum fruit extract, passiflora incarnata flower extract, chamomilla recutita (matreicaria) leaf extract, citric acid, methylsothiazolinone, tetrasodium EDTA 5/27/09

Where to Buy



Start your review


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

If you've ever used Retin-A, do not expect to be wowed by this one - or any other retinol cream for that matter. I picked this up because I found a good offer, with the purpose of trying it in the summer months, when the sunlight is very strong and I'd rather avoid using my Retin-A.

It is a lightweight cream with a velvety texture, kinda silicone-y. It spreads well, sinks in quickly. I never got redness with it. But I also did not get any results :) If it's helping with skin texture, it's doing an imperceptible job. I really did not see a difference during the course of 2-3 months that I've been using it. There has been no flaking, no peeling, no irritation of any sort, no indication that it has been working.
Pass!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.



on 4/25/2016 12:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

As with many other products, I buy it on ebay to get a better price. This product is fantastic for my face. I use it intermittently so as not to go overboard on retinol (for example, use it for a few months, then switch to an acid (alpha, beta, whatever) product for nighttime). Immediate results: smoother, clear skin with more even tone. Got a random compliment from a co-worker right after I started using it. No peeling or bad reaction on my face, which surprised me since I have sensitive acne-prone skin. I don't use it on my neck, however - the one time I did the skin got irritated.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 12/5/2015 12:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

I used this retinol cream with success for mild wrinkles a few years ago. But now this retinol cream causes my forehead to breakout. I am begining perimenopause, so my hormones are all over the road. It is like being a teenager all over again, trying to tame my blackheads and acne.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

My skin loves retinol - I usually use Paula's Choice 1%, but I bought this after I ran out and had a Skinceuticals facial. It kept my skin looking as good as it usually does on the PC, until a week later when I started breaking out in huge swollen cysts - one to three a day. I thought it was hormonal for a few weeks (I get one like clockwork during PMS), but they just kept coming throughout my cycle - maybe 15 total; when one faded another appeared. When I got a particularly nasty lump on my forehead where I NEVER breakout, I realized the cystic hell was probably connected to the product change. Definitely ruined a whole month for me, and now I'm dealing with loads of hyper-pigmentation - there's some ingredient in here that anyone prone to cysts should avoid.

4 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 12/6/2015 8:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've never Used a retinol product before this.
Initially I read to use once at night (pea size amount) all over the face. Then repeat it every 4 days for 1month. My skin felt dehydrated,red, started peeling, more sensitive. I used spf50 everyday. The days in between I used a really hydrating moisturiser cream.
2nd month I started using it every 2-3days. After 2nd month the peeling ,redness, sensitivity was less. I read you need to persevere to get results.
3rd month I used it every 2 day.....my skin became more accustom to the retinol. I noticed my wrinkles are less apparent and skin tighter.
Now it's been 6mths my skin feel good and notice a big difference.
I'm glad persevered with the cream.

8 of 8 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm not entirely sure I'll rebuy, but...
I've been using this Skinceuticals Retinol for about 4 months. Previously, I had used LRP's Redermic R for years, so I'm not new to the retinol rodeo, but the Skinceuticals-- even at this lower formulation-- is more powerful stuff.

Even four months later, I can only use this maybe 3x a week. When I first got it, I slapped it like I used to slap on the Redermic. That was... not the wisest move. I'd never had issues with peeling and flaking and all that before, but I did with this.

I've dialed it back, and in addition to using it a few times a week (I usually alternate with Sunday Riley Good Genes and occasionally some other random creams), I always use either a heavier night moisturizer or a sleeping mask with it.

I'm happy with my skin these days. It's winter, but my skin hasn't been overly dry. I get an occasionally, very small blemish that disappears after 2-3 days. It's hard to separate out which products are doing which things, but this retinol seems to be doing its retinol thing just fine.

So, all that said: it's effective. If you can't get a Rx Retin-A, this (and its big brother) seem like maybe they're the next most powerful thing.

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 5/2/2014 2:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Red, angry, dry skin covered in cysts and active acne....this is what 3 weeks of this product did to me. I'm talking gigantic, oozing acne that wouldn't heal and humongous, painful cysts. On me, cysts leave a scar even if I don't touch or pick at them. I'm a sucker for anti aging and anti wrinkle creams. It seemed like I was buying a brand rather than a product, so I was hesitant to purchase this, but the esthetician swore it was amazing. Yes, it amazingly wrecked my skin far more than just purging. Purging is what my face is doing now that I am recovering from this. I wish I could have made it longer to see if the retinol really did work, but the breakouts were too embarassing and too intense to cover with makeup. I was warned that it would dry out my skin and it did, but not badly. Perhaps a retinol product with less other stuff in it (it's filled with silicones) would be better suited for my sensitive, easily clogged skin. This did not plump, even my skin tone, or reduce my wrinkles at all.

5 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 8/24/2015 1:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Fantastic product! I was looking for a retinol product to use at night to ward of the first signs if wrinkles but have sensitive skin. This product is perfect for me!

I apply a pea sized amount to my face each night - just avoid the eye area. I then pop a mild moisturiser like Cetaphil or Dermaveen over the top after waiting a few minutes for the retinol to settle in.

My skin felt a bit dry to begin with but has adjusted well. My skin looks great and I'll keep using this product. I've noticed more even skin tone and a lovely texture.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 7/25/2015 9:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Recently I decided to incorporate a retinol into my routine as I'm looking to ramp up my anti-aging skincare, and given that fellow dry skinned ladies had given this a good review, I felt safe giving it a try.

I should note that I have extremely dry yet not sensitive skin, prone to hormonal breakouts., and very pink cheeks (possibly mild rosacea). My skin typically requires a pretty extreme amount of moisturisers, constantly flakes off, and is often tight and painful.

I've been using this for a month now, and I absolutely LOVE it.
I intend to move up to the 1% eventually, and will most likely continue using Skinceuticals as thus far I've had such a positive experience. Because my skin isn't sensitive I decided to just launch right into use, so I began to (and continue to) apply every other night.

The first week of use I noticed an immediate effect on my fine lines around my eyes, mouth, and the furrow between my brows, which have seemingly disappeared. My pores on my nose and cheeks are also less noticeable, but the best change was that my skin felt so much more moisturised. I don't know how to best explain it - my skin felt dry to the touch, but much softer, not painful, and I didn't need to use anywhere near as much moisturiser as I typically do. Additionally, my the redness in my cheeks has reduced.
The second week I experienced some of what other reviewers have shared - I had some LIGHT flaking - almost more a very gentle "peeling" and actually not as extreme as my usual skin flaking, and some light purging. Purging as well as the "peeling" I experienced was very minimal - my skin seemed to purge very quickly i.e. something would rise to the surface very soon after application and be nearly gone by the next day, nothing cystic or extreme. During the second week I also began applying the retinol to my neck and decolletage without any issue - it seems neither of those areas (on me) were sensitive, and I didn't experience any peeling, purging, or indeed any effects from application there.
The third week and continuing use I have experienced less peeling, less purging, and continue to see excellent results with regards to my lines, pores, and general moisture and evenness in my skin. I expect my skin will see less and less peeling with continued use, but I will be sure to update this review if anything dramatically changes.

A few things of note:
I've found that the .5% hasn't done much yet for the lines on my forehead. It has definitely lessened them, but hasn't eliminated them as it seemingly has done for the fine lines around my mouth and eyes. I expect the 1% will be more effective for this area, and eventually when I start using it I will write a detailed review.
As another reviewer said, I also find that my skin is happier the less products I use when I apply this. I thoroughly cleanse my skin before application, apply the retinol, and that's it. In the morning I do a gentle cleanse, apply my sunscreen, and a moisturiser. This system for me seems to keep my skin the clearest and happiest.

As for the particulars, I actually got a better deal buying many small samples of this instead of a full size bottle. The samples come in small squeeze tubes, so they're quite hygienic and it's easy to control the amount that comes out. I THOUGHT that Skinceuticals had changed the packaging of the full size to a tube, but I could be wrong. If the packaging is something that truly frustrates you however, I'd suggest buying samples like I did. Although it's not necessarily a cheap product, I find that a little goes a long way, and for me considering that and the good it has done for my skin, I personally consider it a fairly cost effective product.
I notice no smell, and feel no sensation upon application - no burning, stinging, tightness, dryness or anything else.

At this point, I can say I absolutely love this formula - it is working brilliantly for my skin thus far and I will continue to use it until I am finished with my supply and I purchase the 1%.

UPDATE:
I have been using this for about five months now, and I am just SO in love with it! I'm still working my way through my .5% tubes, and my skin has just improved so much - SO much softer, more moisturised, even, and no sign of my fine lines. I just wanted to write this wee update to note that my "symptoms" (that is the light "peeling and purging") that I experienced stopped for me after about the second month of use. I am still so impressed with this formula, and I look forward to eventually trying the 1%!

15 of 15 people found this helpful.


on 1/30/2015 6:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I don't know about the bad reviews and it truly sucks for them but I love this so much. My skin started showing alil saggyness, with light wrinkles on my temples and eyes after I turned 30. This truly showed me a reversal of all that after one use. I thought it was maybe a fluke cus I own alot of products and rotate them...but it was always this that showed me the "BAM!" good result in the mirror when I wake up. If you're not sure, try a sample first. Also, alot of retinol concentrated products are not very moisturizing but this one IS, so that's a pleasant plus!

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Back to Top