4.4

Created with Sketch.
458 reviews
84%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

C1 NC20 Patina looks like a muted ashy sandy khaki gold grey with a sheen/shimmer that glimmer pink in certain lighting... its very unique but also boring as some will say. It is buttery smooth in textures and blends very well with a darker color like satin taupe. The darker brown makes patina look more alive and less washed out/less grey. I was pairing patina and omega in the crease but i felt they brought out the ashy dustyness out of eachother so i dont do that anymore. patina is so interesting because it changes color depending what you blend it with. edit- i see the review below saying this may wash you out if you have black hair. I have dark dark brown almost black hair and i feel this does pull very grey at times so i cannot wear it alone. Also with oily eyelids this shade creases very bad even with a paintpot underneath. I wouldnt repurchase but this is still a very unique and beautiful shade. I much prefer mac Era as a taupey lid shade. But my favorite is Soba for an all over lid color!

About reviewer (425 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was searching for a dupe of a an eyeshadow which I had in a 3-shade Palette from Beyu which I bought around 2007. I tried do describe the shade and was clueless how to capture it. I thought it was kind of greyish but in a warm way but also not really brown. Without a comparison I would have sworn it´s more grey... Arrgh. So I tossed the Palette in my purse and set out to the Mac Counter at the KaDeWe (Berlin famous warehouse). The lady only needed three tries et voilà! Patina is perfect! I love this eyeshadow so much! I have green/blue eyes, dark to light blond hair and my makeup usually is called something with sand/almond. It makey my eyes POP! It looks polished in a subtle way. For more drama I line with a frosted darker brown shade from the original Palette. Will set out to get a Mac dupe for that shade, too :-) So, I guess the magic is that for some Ladies ist really enhances while I´ve seen reviews from Black haired Ladies that it really washes them out. Maybe if someone knows more about color theory and pigments they can enlighten us about the funny dynamics of Patina? Would be greatly appreciated! I hope this was hepful.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love Patina. It's a very unique color, a sheer-ish brown/grey/gold with shimmer that somehow pulls no weird tones from my olive skin and dark eyes like many golds. When I'm tan, it's almost the same color as my skin. What Patina does is add a cat-like, burnished sheen to your lids. It's one of the most sexy-but-not-obviously-so makeup items I own. My preferred way to wear it is with a matte nude shadow as a base (I use MAC Soba or UD Naked usually) and a heavy application of Patina on top, all the way up past my crease. You have to really pack it on, as it's sheer, but it's an easy packing on, no patchiness and it lasts all day, even without primer. Then tonssss of mascara. When you add smudgy black liner, it's so Riviera glam. This is the kind of product that makes me love the beauty and creativity of makeup :) Also, Patina is only $6 when you buy the MAC pro pan.

About reviewer (542 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I recently got this to add to my pro palette. I always put it off thinking it was too similar to satin taupe (looks almost the same in pan) and sable ( I thought it was slightly darker version of satin taupe/patina.) I would glance over thinking it, was just another taupe. I WAS WRONG. It's so beautiful when swatched, it's a golden taupe that's neutral leaning slightly warm. Not quite gold but not quite brown either. To me it has greenish-goldish shimmers like patina on precious stones..It goes on sheer, I have to use my 239 to pack it on about four times to get full opacity. It's not as frosty as the other frost formulas which makes it a great casual eyeshadow depending on how intense you build it. You can also wet your brush with fix+ and it is so intense and you can use with mac's kohl eyeliner pencil in powersurge as a base. My favorite combos are with mulch, twinks, and sumptuous olive in the crease or vice-versa. This can be used as a transition shade or and all over wash it's really versatile It is one of favorites right now and I have alot of other eyeshadows and palettes with other taupes like naked 2's suspect etc and I prefer this one the most.

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Patina is the best eyeshadow color I have ever seen. I find extremely difficult to find a shade of gold that suits me, as most of them look extremely warm and very unflattering. I have warm toned brown eyes and a neutral skin undertone, but I can not pull off golds on my eyelids as i would like to.I find that nowadays everyone uses gold eyeshadow to achieve the glam look that is always on youtube, but I don't think it suits everyone. If I try to wear warm golds on my eyes, I look so pale and somehow sick. Patina is a cool toned gold/bronze with purple and green in it, which is the most flattering shade I have ever seen on my eyelids. I use it all over the lid and then i take omega (also from mac) and blend it all over the crease. Then I use a cool toned metallic brown liner to define the eye, and it is seriously the best combination ever. Patina makes any eye look seem so effortless but elegant at the same time. If you have trouble pulling off gold tones like me, try this, it is truly a game changer!

About reviewer (11 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

To be honest, I wanted to love Patina based on the rave reviews I read everywhere. When I swatched it on my hand, I was awed by the color, an almost antiqued gold. It was so beautiful. Then I put it on my lids and somehow it looks grey-ish on me? It could be my inexperience in putting eyeshadows that I still am not sure how to wear Patina to demonstrate how beautiful it is on my eyes but so far it works as a transition shade. I guess I just need to figure out how to use it properly. As with most of the MAC eyeshadows I own, it blends really well.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I'm a little bit disappointed with this shadow. It got a lot of love online but I'm very underwhelmed. It's not very pigmented and I really need to pack it on to get any colour at all. Even then it's a boring light sludge colour. I'm not getting the golden warmth that's been peddled online. I've been pairing it with satin taupe (not there's an eyeshadow worth the hype!) and that's helping somewhat but it's definitely not on my re-purchase list

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I do not know what is wrong with me: everybody loves this eyeshadow and it looks hideous on me! To start with, the color payoff is terrible, it is barely noticeable (I am NW 15) so I use a paintpot as a base to make it show up a little more. On my lids is a light golden shadow that makes me look sick if that makes sense. It is not brown and certainly is not taupe at all. I hate this color, my advice is: try it on your bare lids before you buy it!

About reviewer (75 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Best from MAC. Such a flattering shade.

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Beautiful light brown color! I love the little sparkles/shimmers in it, normally shimmer looks terrible on my hooded eyes but this doesn't:) I pair it with Mulch and Black tied and it looks amazing. This is one of my first MAC shadows, I just bought them 2 days ago and they're already my favorite.

About reviewer (87 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Other

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us