The Body Shop Aloe Soothing Night Cream

The Body Shop Aloe Soothing Night Cream
Aloe Soothing Night Cream

3.8

86 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: aloe barbadensis (aloe vera), glycerin, pentylene glycol, caprylic/capric triglyceride, butylene glycol, elaesis guineensis (palm oil), glyceryl stearate citrate, isononyl isononanoate, myristyl myristate, octyldodecanol, sesamum indicum (sesame oil), squalane, cetearyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), aqua, panthenol (vit. B5), acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, xanthan gum, bisabolol, avena sativa (oat plant).

Start your review


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great cream, but the problem with it is that it's not perfectly non-comedogenic. It will soothe and nourish your skin, but if you're prone to comedones, you'll be getting a couple of teeny teeny new ones. I think the culprit is the ingredient Myristyl Myristate, which they also put in some other creams, I found out they really don't sit well with my skin...

2 of 2 people found this helpful.



on 3/24/2018 11:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like it, but I dont love it.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this night moisturiser as it is currently Winter here in South Africa. I usually have combo/oily skin but as it is Winter it's more on the combo/dry side. I use this night moisturiser as an extremely hydrating sort of rescue for my skin. It feels very calming and soothing on the skin and I do find it reduces redness slightly. I havent broken out from using it or had any negative side effects. The texture is like a cream to gel formula and I find a little goes a long way, just a small amount covers the whole face. It doesn't have a scent which is great.

It does leave a shine/slight greasy feel which I don't mind as I'm going to bed after applying it. I obviously wouldn't wear this during the day or purchase the day cream from this range as even though I currently have drier skin, I still get a little oily in my t zone. I would definitely repurchase this for the winter months but I'll have to find a different night moisturiser for summer time. I do find I wake up with glowy/supple feeling skin which I really enjoy. I would definitely recommend it for drier skin types and combo skin during the winter especially.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 1/27/2017 3:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Calms my skin after cleansing almost immediately. It hydrates my skin perfectly. No film, no stickiness. Just a really pleasant moisturizer that does what it promises. Calms the skin and hydrates.

The packaging is a bit of a shame. A pump, as always, would be a far better option and I'm still a bit baffled brands still don't seem to understand the fact that costumers are getting more sophisticated and intelligent and want packaging that preserves the active ingredients.

I appreciate the extra lid though. So far, I would totally repurchase because so far, it does a great job with my sensitive skin and still being at a price range that won't make me cry


on 11/5/2016 6:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a very good basic moisturizer, really gentle for sensitive skin. I prefer to use it at least once a year to benefit from the aloe vera properties and I apply it even in day time (skin can‘t tell the time, after all, and it does not contain any substances that could react bad in sunlight). It is quite protective for the skin, especially during winter and quite affordable as a little goes a long way. It does not break me out, but sometimes it does feel oily. As long as it protects my skin from harsh wind and cold I really don‘ mind! The only disadvantage is that it comes in a jar, so in spring time I use The Body Shop Aloe Vera spf 15, which comes in a tube and does not allow any air or bacteria lessen the life and quality of the
ingredients.


on 4/19/2016 1:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i usually use the same moisturizer morning and night but wanted to venture into night creams since i'm getting older and want the added benefits of a night cream. i didnt want anything too expensive and im on an aloe kick right now so I decided to try this out.

It was only $9 on promotion and while its a small jar it will last a good while because you only need a bit for your entire face each night. It does leave a SLIGHT greasy feeling on your skin but its not a problem for me since I'm going to bed. It's not like it shows up on your pillow or anything. It's a thick cream and I love how hydrating it is and that there is no fragrance. It hasn't broken me out or clogged my pores at all.

The packaging is an inconvenience but not a deal breaker. I don't mind the jar because I just make sure my hands/fingers are clean when i scoop out the product. A pump would be better but I imagine that when I get to the end of it, I'll be glad I have the jar.

This is my first night cream and I really like it. For something that doesn't break my bank and doesnt break me out, I'd repurchase. It's too early to say if this is going to have an amazing positive impact on my skin long term but what I can say right now is that it's definitely not harming my skin either.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/23/2016 2:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Pros:
Moisturising
Doesn't irritate my sensitive skin
Absorbs quickly
Doesn't smell nearly as bad as the day cream from the same line
No breakouts

Cons:
Like the day cream, this does leave a greasy-looking finish, though in a night cream that's not such a big deal.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/14/2016 10:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
- Fragrance free
- Moisturizing, very thick cream
- Doesn't break me out

Cons:
- Jar packaging


on 11/9/2015 10:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have to say I'm very surprised with this little gem from TBS. My skin went through a horrible phase of looking and feeling terrible - red, sensitive, dry and tight yet like an oil slick. No product on my face felt nice at all. I had been using the wrong products from Dermalogica for my skin, but didn't want to spend the money on more Dermalogica products so I researched for affordable options and Paula's Choice helped me decide on the aloe range from TBS - in particular the milk cleanser. I bought the small trial pack of the aloe range - milk cleanser, toner plus day and night creams. While the cleanser is indeed very gentle it didn't feel as if it cleaned my skin, the toner felt ineffective and the day cream felt horrible on my skin but the night cream is awesome!

I'm using moisturising Hado Labo foaming face wash (great product) and mineral spray as toner and apply the night cream (during the day as well) as my moisturiser. I apply it a little thicker under the eyes and I'm super happy with my convenient and affordable little routine.

I think the TBS aloe night cream was the product that helped get my skin back to normal.

I live in a very hot humid climate and I'm either in sub freezing aircon rooms, or outside in the 100% humidity and this cream copes with either. It feels nice in either aircon or outside providing I haven't applied it too thick.

It's funny, this is my first night cream ever and if it weren't for buying the sample pack from TBS I'd probably never have tried a night cream. I'm sure this product is great and I'll definitely repurchase but I'm curious now about what other night creams are out there and how great they might make my skin look!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 6/25/2015 3:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

As always, I do not understand why business are still using jar packaging. It's unhealthy, unhygienic, doesn't keep ingredients stable and.. they're just a mess! WIth that said, I would purchase this cream again if it was in a pump format, it's a good cream. I like the light scent and I like the texture of it, not too greasy but still a rich night cream. It's also true to the claim of being soothing... my skin feels good after using it.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top