4.3

Created with Sketch.
554 reviews
82%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This cleansing oil is great for removing stubborn makeup. It removes my waterproof mascara and sunscreen really well without irritating and drying my face out. I use two pumps and massage it on my face then use a warm slightly damp washcloth to wipe it all away. I then rinse of with soap and water. It even removes lip stains left behind by long wear lipstick. It's a staple in my kit for sure.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Warm

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

This Oil is ACE!!! i decided to make a change from cleansing milk to oil cleanser and i did not regret this at all! It is not messy or heavy kind of oil, really gentle yet it clean off all the dirt of my face so well! It even cleaned off my Anastasia Beverly Hills Waterproof creme color without making any mess and fuss. ( it is one of my most difficult eyeliner gel which i left a review on MUA as well) The only con i would say that it is quite difficult controlling the amount of oil out from the pump. It came out really messy everytime.

About reviewer (38 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I like the way cleansing oils work for me (effective and non-drying), and I want something I can keep in the shower - preferably with a pump dispenser. This cleansing oil works really well for me. I thoroughly massage it with dry hands onto my dry face, and when I rinse with water everything (BB/TM, mascara, lip stains) comes away in a milky stream.

About reviewer (970 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Was pleasantly surprised by this. It's gentle and gets all my makeup off. I haven't felt the need to double cleanse while using this. The only downside, I guess, is the price, but even that isn't too scandalous.

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I recently ran out of my holy grail cleanser (Clinique take the day of cleansing balm), and decided to try something new. And since I had a gift card to a place that sells MAC, I decided to go for this one. I prefer oil and balm cleansers over makeup wipes and micellar water, because I feel like they are way more gentle to skin and eyes. This comes with a pump, that has a twist function so you can close it. I would like it more if there was a cap on top, because it can easily twist itself and when traveling that would be a mess. Also i don't like the way it squirts the product out. I pump a few pumps into my hands and massage it allover my face (and eyes). And this does take ALL of my makeup off! It also doesn't irritate my quite sensitive eyes at all. Smells fine. Wouldn't buy again, simply because I like the Clinique one better, but if you prefer oil cleansers this is really good!

About reviewer (31 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I recently bought a CC cream that reached Holy Grail status for me but it came with a slight problem - my Lancome Bifacil AND Bioderma couldn't take it off completely (the cotton pads still had cc cream coming on it after the 3rd cleanse). I went into MAC and asked for the strongest makeup remover that they have, and was recommended this. I didn't have much hope, I mean if my HG make up remover Lancome Bifacil couldn't take it off what would? But I was so wrong. I pumped two pumps into my hand and gently massaged the oil onto my face for a good minute. I then washed it off with water and my face didn't feel oily the way it does with other cleansing oils. I normally wear waterproof mascara and eyeshadow, and I was pleasantly surprised to see that this took all the eye make up off too without stinging my eyes (which the Bifacil/baby oil did). To be completely sure I saturated a cotton pad with some Bioderma and there was no cc cream left on the pad! For years I've been buying two different types of make up remover for my eye make up and face make up and this does both!! I won't need to buy cotton pads anymore either and I like that using my fingers is enough for this because that is so much gentler for the skin! The only thing is at $37aud for 150ml this isn't exactly that cheap, but I read online that with daily use it lasts most people 6 months and I'm happy to pay a bit more for something that works so well (plus I won't need to buy anything else for make up removing!). Make sure your hands and face are completely dry though - otherwise water activates the oil into that milky white water that makes it easy to wash off but probably does zero in terms of make up removal. Tl;dr Works great for both waterproof eye makeup and face makeup removal. Make sure your hands and face are not wet before use. Didn't sting or irritate eye/skin. No harsh scrubbing needed. Slight fragrance.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is the only cleansing oil I've used so far that didn't make me break out or clog my pores. It's a good product. It has a very thin, liquidy consistency, removes makeup pretty well, doesn't leave a greasy residue. My mom also used it when I visited her- liked it a lot, and bought a bottle for herself. We would both repurchase. Overall I prefer foaming cleansers, but I can use it as a first step in my cleansing routine. Only con- I used up this oil very quickly.

About reviewer (243 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've bought cleansing oils from Shu Uemura, SKII, ReVive, La Mer, Josie Maran, Amore Pacific, Laneige, Clinique, Philosophy and cleansing oils from Target, this oil from MAC is very drying (over time). It's very lightweight/runny and it'll get into your eyes, no matter how hard you close them. It will irritate and cloud your vision for a bit, even after rinsing well. Product rinses makeup and waterproof mascara away easily with a bit of circular rubbing, and seems to rinse clean. I didn't feel an oily residue. I have sensitive skin and don't like any cleansers with essential oils and fragrance in them. Over time, it irritates my skin. I think you could find something comparable at drugstores.

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I always look at makeup alley reviews before buying a product however I never left reviews. I discovered something while using this oil and I wanted to share it. My boyfriend got me the small cleanse off oil and I loved it. When I ran out I went ahead and bought a big bottle. When the weather changed my skin got really dry and flaky so one night out of frustration I used the cleanse off oil as a moisturiser. In the morning I was surprised to see a lot of my scars looked lighter and my skin looked more bright and not flaky anymore. I started using this more frequently as a moisturiser and my friends and family have been complimenting me on how good my skin looks. I used to have really bad blocked pores with little bumps like milia. After I started using this oil they cleared. I still get few pimples occasionally but they aren't as bad as before. If anyone else has had this experience I'd like to know.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I bought bc Tati raved over it. It's pretty average. I used to use baby oil way back in the day and this works basically the same. It's runny like baby oil. And after using it to remove my eye makeup I can't see for like a good 15-20 mins .... Again just like baby oil. I'll return to my ponds cold cream after using this up..

About reviewer (129 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us