3.4

Created with Sketch.
135 reviews
57%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

I’m glad I only tried this as a sample, because I don’t like it. First of all, SPF 15 is too low. Second, it isn’t fragrance free. Third, due to the low SPF, it has to be applied over sunscreen, and it feels thick and hard to spread and blend. Just not pleasant to use. I like a tinted moisturizer that disappears into your skin. This doesn’t. It feels sticky and heavy and it’s difficult to move around and the finish is kind of wet. I really love a lot of Aveda products, including their makeup....but this is a huge no for me.

About reviewer (391 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal

HairBlond

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

So far I'm liking this quite a bit. Might have purchased a shade pale for me (Beechwood), but it's fine for the winter and can be warmed up with a little bronzer on top. I have combination skin and was stuck in the Minneapolis airport for 15 hours just the other day. Needless to say, I was looking for a beauty pick-me-up so picked this up along with a few other goodies. It goes on smoothly and creates a dewy, glowy finish. It is a little bit tacky as others have noted, so would start with small amount on lightly moisturized skin. If your skin is on the oily side, you may not need this step. It doesn't oxidize however and looked really good after wearing all day. It's perfect for cold climates and outside sports. Looking forward to trying this for office days. I'm pleased!

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This tinted moisturizer is not the best, but it's not the worst. It has light-medium coverage with a dewy finish. If you have oily skin, this will not be for you! Back when my skin was very oily, I looked like a grease ball after a few hours. If you have dry skin, you might have some better luck. However, there are better tinted moisturizers out there and for better prices. I actually prefer BB and CC creams like from Smashbox and Tarte over this.

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I purchased this is the shade "Sweet Tea". I'm not a huge fan of Aveda Skin Care, although I love their hair products. To my surprise this went on like a dream, and looked like a second skin. It blended out really beautifully and just looked clean and fresh. Not my HG but I will definitely keep this on hand. I like the tube for travel. It's a great size and non breakable. I also loved that the entire application (even with blending) took about a minute!! Seemed to be quite a few shades to choose from as well. Update: Still liking this product!

About reviewer (64 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I am definitely a beauty addict and have a virtual pharmacy of cosmetics in my home so I can say that I've tried almost everything out there. I have several BB or tinted moisturizer SPF products but this one is a top favorite that I grab when wanting to look natural and glowing. I add some powder on top to set or get a more matte look. I also add some MAC strobe cream on the high planes of the face for even more glow. This product definitely gives a beautiful finish, although sheer, on the days you're feeling like the "no makeup" look!

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I bought this tinted moisturizer to try since Aveda claims to use 85% "natural" ingredients (at least that's what the salesgirl told me). I wanted to try another tinted moisturizer since Sephora doesn't carry Bobbi Brown products anymore :( (I know, so sad). Well, this was the worst product I've ever bought in my life. It was tacky, smelled weird and to top it off - after using it for 2-3 days, I got contact dermatitis!!! I FREAKED OUT!! My entire face was covered in a rash, it was red, raised and it burned. I knew immediately it was from the Aveda product because it never happened with Bobbi Brown or Laura Mercier products. I didn't wear anything on my face for a month -until the dermatitis resolved itself. Just to validate my assumption, I wore the tinted moisturizer again for one day to see if it was really the Aveda product. YUP! It definitely was! It makes me scared to buy any Aveda products now. Never again.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

After trying about 15 different samples of tinted moisturizers I feel this one just about does what I need. A little coverage, color and dewy finish. My favorite La Mer tint was taken off the market and they have not replaced it so I had to go on a search. BB or CC creams left a matte flat finish and the ones that state they leave a dewy or luminous finish are loaded with white pearl effects and look phoney. Allergic to chemicals for sunscreen other than Titamium or Zinc I had to screen out several on that score. The light medium color Sweet Tea was perfect and I sometimes touch a little moisturizer over to leave a nice finish so this is it and I am done searching.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I'm really surprised by the amount of negative reviews for this product. I have used it for years, and it saved my skin (and my pride) at a time when my skin was a dry, flaky mess. Granted I have very dry skin, and this product probably works best for those with dry-very dry skin due to its moist finish. For me, this finish was the selling point, not something to be powdered down. I have had numerous compliments on my healthy glowing skin and I always think to myself "if they only knew how dry I really am...". This is not a foundation so it does not provide a ton of coverage, but for a tinted moisturizer for those with very dry, sensitive skin in can't be beat. The mineral sunscreen is gentle and the coverage is even and neutral - yet sheer. This is my everyday go-to product; I only wish they carried a foundation version of this for days when I wanted a touch more coverage. I do have rosacea so on occassion I dab a tiny amount of full coverage foundation over my cheeks and blend in with a damp beauty blender to conceal unwanted redness, but otherwise this does the trick on it's own. I do apply a moisturizer on underneath however if your skin was normal to dry you would not need this. Not recommended for oily skin. I do wish the product costed less and was in an opaque tube to protect the ingredients from sunlight, however I store it in a dark place and will continue to shell out money time and again for a product that works for me! Thank you Aveda!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

This product is a very expensive way to cause a major reaction in a single use. It has a tacky skin feel and does not cover or tint the skin in any way. Pretty much a total loss in every way!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I worked at an Aveda salon for 3 years and became really partial to this tinted moisturizer and the dual foundation pressed powder. Let me start by saying that I have extremely acne-prone skin. I've never had a tinted moisturizer or foundation that doesn't break me out, and this stuff doesn't! I love it! I think it has just the right amount of coverage for a TM. I apply this all over and then set with the dual foundation pressed powder, also from Aveda. I'll probably go back to using this, but I'm searching for something that has a longer wear (although it doesn't make me oily--sometimes I develop a slight sheen on more hectic days, if I perspire or if my skin is just oilier that day--it only has, for me, a wear time of about 5 hours before it starts to wear off and my blemishes and acne scars start to show through). Overall, I will repurchase if I don't find something with more coverage and a longer wear life. Finding ANY product that doesn't break me out is a godsend.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us