3.7

Created with Sketch.
103 reviews
53%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

It's always interesting for me how others describe a fragrance. There are some that evoke certain places (countries, vacations or nature), others certain stories or characters from films, etc. And there are those, like Daim Blond that represent a certain type of woman. Daim Blond is beautiful and successful, and it's always easy for her to achieve her goals. She's lucky, we could say and really popular. She's sophisticated, elegant and extremely confident, some say she's cold, but it's just self-discipline. You can feel the repressed sexuality she only shows to her man.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen



3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Hawthorne. Cardamom, musk, heliotrope, leather. I get all of this plus incense or oud (neither of which are in the notes). I thought that I didn't get any apricot, and now I am wonder if the sweet fruitiness in the dry down could be apricot. . . .I also don't get a soft suede feeling from this. This is straight leather, feminine leaning. The fragrance could almost be unisex IMO. Less powdery and less sweet than either Fumerie Turque or Chergui.

About reviewer (517 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I am afraid that I have taken to calling this scent "Dame Bland." I do smell all of the things that people seem to love about it: the elusive whiff of soft suede from the inner pocket of an impossibly expensive handbag, the cool floral iris, the bowl of apricots sitting in a beam of afternoon sunlight. On me, however, this does not add up to anything special - just a lightly sweet, vaguely fruity scent that lingers just above my skin and doesn't seem to want to get to know me very well. Pretty much like most of my high school experience. But then again, this smells like everything I didn't like about most girls my age in high school, and honestly, probably many people who are my age now. This isn't to make a judgement about you folks who love it, of course - it takes all kinds! But it's difficult to look at something like fragrance objectively, when it conjures so many associations and memories with it. And to me, Daim Blond is starting to smell like everyone who every ignored me, and so I in turn came to the conclusion that I wouldn't want to waste my time with these boring, uninteresting people anyhow. See? Now I am making judgements. It's gone from a slightly pretty, expensive smelling scent to boring and uninteresting. Now I am in a mood where I want to say that when I think of the term "normcore", I am pretty sure the people who fall under that banner are wearing Daim Blond. Sorry, Dame Bland, I think you've caught me at a vulnerable moment.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

On my skin this smells of excessively sweet apricots and powder. It makes me crinkle my nose. I dislike it for the same reason I dislike Chanel No.5: it smells terribly old fashioned. Must be those mysterious 'aldehydes'. That said, it smells expensive and is an interesting creation. It just isn't for me. I want to smell like a powerful woman, not baby powder and fruit!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Yummy soft buttery iris on a bed of leather. Perfect for cold weather. In retrospect, makes Bottega Veneta's fragrance (which strongly "borrowed" from Serge's earlier creation) seem strident with its tangy patchouli undertone. The apricot butteriness of the initial impression quickly melts into a skin scent with overtones of iris. Sillage is beautiful and soft. Would not over-apply as the sweetness could be overwhelming, and would avoid in warm weather. One of SL's best in my book.

About reviewer (197 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Plastic leather, sort of awful, fades out to barely there iris and powdery almond-heliotrope with leather hints. Really doesn't work well on me. Certainly not worth the price. There are better leathers by far for my skin chemistry.

About reviewer (1714 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

The scent is elegant, wonderful, highest quality ingredients. Leather and peach turn to one of the best skin scents. Unfortunately the sillage and longevity is zero, nada, nil. I have to reapply ten times a day, thus the scent is extremely expensive provided that it is soon over.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

As with all SL perfumes, this one is deffinitely worth at least a try.... Honestly, when I read that Daim Blond has a subtle suede note to it, I was kinda excited, because suede is my all time favourite material as a perfume note and as a clothing/shoe material.... and since I just adore Master Ellenas leatherism he produces for Hermes, I thought, ooo wow, this could be another amazing leather....and what a leather this is....!!! first, you can detect a skinscent type of smell, a very prominent note of dried fruits (apricot) with something almondy and buttery.... it is a dry, sweet but very sophisticated scent...does it remind me of something? no!no way...this is unique and I can't compare it with anything I've smelled before (and that I can remember)....maybe, just maybe a deep sleepy drydown of...hmmm...Yvresse? in edp? maybe because of the chypre peach, maybe because of the sweet honey part which is very quiet and comfy... all in all this is amazingly aromatic, yet soft,evokes the fruityness of dried and perserved fruits (somewhat fruit which is unbound and free of all the earthy succulence,balmy fruits...), sweetened with just a drop of heliotrope.... very feminine, very expensive.....and if you like Hermes,you will learn to appreciate SL Daim Blond... for me- a masterpiece indeed... (longievity is good- 5,6, hrs, sillage-moderate....doesnt develop much but stays rich and dry all the way....<3)

About reviewer (203 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I've been wearing this for some time now and I love it. It's a soft suede and apricot scent, very elegant and chic. Staying power is amazing on my skin! I just wish it weren't so expensive.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I am head over heels for DB. There is an understated elegance to this scent -- it's not flashy or trying too hard. It wears close to the skin and the best part is that it can be layered with just about any other fragrance (that is, if you even need to give it that extra kick). The leather is the show stealer. It's warm, comfortable, luxurious, subtle, and so so sexy. I am a leather fan to begin with and this one definitely impressed me. The apricot is a touch of genius and really goes unexpectedly well with the leather to give it just a smidge of sweetness that is just barely detectable. It is so hard to find unique fragrances nowadays and DB hit home for me. The sweetness is well balanced and not too rich or cloying. It is so versatile that imo can be worn during any season and weather. I can't even fully describe in words how much I love DB. You'll just have to try it out and see for yourself!

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Olive

HairBrown

EyesBrown