Chanel No.5

Chanel No.5

3.6

967 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 11/15/2001 8:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Grey, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

Too "grown up" smell for me, think it's heavy and a little boring.



on 11/21/2001 3:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have always wanted to love this fragrance, because it is classic and nothing else smells like it. It's a true perfume, not like the myriad of fruity-floral-spicy concoctions that bombard department store counters. (Don't get me wrong: I do enjoy lighter scents as well, but so many fragrances smell exactly alike). About 7 years ago I tested this scent on my arm and found it too heavy. However, now I LOVE it. I find the warm, rich scent very comforting, and it wears very well on me throughout the day. I am pleased to have finally fallen madly in love with the fragrance that I've always thought of as the Dom Perignon of perfumes.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 1/14/2002 1:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this! However, I use ONLY the body oil and lotion, which give a much different scent than the EDP which I used to wear, which is where I think people are getting that "old lady smell". The oil and lotion are COMPLETELY different smelling, at least to me and to others who smell it. People always comment how great I smell when I wear the lotion, which I've started doing with all my fragrances.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Too powdery and chemical-smelling for me. The famous bottle is lovely, though. Yes, I care about things like that. :)


on 7/2/2002 11:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Christian is right on the money. Totally overrated. Aldehydic and powdery. Smells just like my grandmother! I'll stick with Cristalle and Coco!


on 8/27/2002 6:22:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I str5ongly dislike it it's heavy and very overrated, smells pungent to me,


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Ok, This is a classic. Monroe's signature fragrance. It smells awful to me. I find it very dime store hooker smelling. Reminiscent of Bug Spray.


on 10/28/2002 1:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

A true classic. According to Marilyn Monroe it was all she wore in bed. Coco Chanel selected this from 5 samples given to her by the creator, Ernest Beaux in 1921. She kept the number because 5 was her lucky number.
Classified as a floral aldehyde. Top notes are neroli, Ylang Ylang, and the dreaded aldehydes. Heart notes are jasmine, rose, iris and lily of the valley. Base notes are sandalwood, oak moss,civet, vanilla, and vetiver.
The EDT is a pretty awful fragrance. The perfume, very nice. It is one that I can wear only on occasion as I am very sensitive to aldehydes and they can make me queasy and headachy. If you try this one, I suggest getting the perfume. It is totally different and much easier to wear and the notes emerge much more softly.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 11/4/2002 6:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my first love among fragrances that I rarely wear, but would never want to be without. Smooth and creamy aldehydes melt into a beautiful floral bouquet...sweet, yet reserved...it makes me feel ultra-feminine and dressed-up. I own and like both the EDT and the parfum.


on 12/2/2002 12:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

OMG I love chance but I can not stand this . I mean who wears this perfume??? 100 year olds?? serisouly it doesn't even smell like perfume to me.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1424 Reviews
Gabrielle
Gabrielle
19 Reviews
Black Opium
Black Opium
81 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1878 Reviews
Hypnotic Poison
Hypnotic Poison
664 Reviews
Back to Top