4.5

Created with Sketch.
1315 reviews
82%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This was my first ever high-end foundation makeup brush. I purchased this at the height of its fame in 2008. I used it a couple of times to apply foundation and found that it was streaky. So I washed it and now only use it to apply bronzer and fell back in love with it. It has stood the test of time through countless washings and cleanings with very minimal shedding. I wouldn't repurchase since there are other brands that sell comparable brushes at the fraction of the cost but this I keep around as part of my vintage collection.

About reviewer (180 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Other

HairBlond

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I have this brush for more than 2 years and still in the best shape! The perfect one for liquid foundation. I have tried and spent a lot of money on foundations brushes till I have been in the MAC Shop and the girl almost guaranteed for this one. I never been disappointed!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I adore this brush. Gives a beautiful finish I use this to blend my foundation around the edges of my face as well as to blend a lighter colour across my T zone. Blends like a dream highly durable and easy to clean. Well worth the investment like all mac blushes. Also easy to build up natural looking coverage.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Other

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Definitely has more than one use. It's taken years for my brush to lose its quality, I still think I can get a few more months out of it. I've had it for years. Typically, I use it to apply bronzer and for stippling.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have had my 187 for a long, long time, and it is a lovely brush. It is still very soft after all of these years, and it holds its shape well after a bajillion washes. I've used it for foundation, powder, highlighter brush, cream blush, and powder blush over the centuries that I have had it, and it works well for all of those though I mainly use it for a blush brush these days. I am very fair, so sometimes I need a brush that can diffuse the blush out to avoid looking like a clown and this one does the job very well. I don't think I'd purchase another one if something happened to the one I have now, but since we have a long history together I appreciate the one I do have.

About reviewer (564 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I have so many 187 brushes I really do love them, my issue is the amount of hairs they drop it is insane! I am constantly using an eyebrow spoolie to pick all the hairs up!!!

About reviewer (64 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This is a total disappointment..the lady there convinced me to buy it and for my bad luck I didnt even try it there. The bristles are way too loose and fanned actually there arent enough of them. There seems to be a big gab between each and the hair tend to bend easily. Believe me it doesnt give airbrush finish in fact I was ended up with streaky finish. And to make the situation worse the hair started to fall all over my face. This a total waste of money.

About reviewer (112 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I bought mine in 2009 and it's still going strong. I've used it every day for seven years and only the labels have worn off and it's a tad bit more flared out at the bristles than when first bought. I will say yes, it shed like 5-7 hairs at first but it stopped after a year. Nothing too ridiculous and only slightly annoying.This is when I was just into makeup and was heavy handed and washed with dishsoap and handsoap like hardly ever. Gross- I know! But I only used this to set foundation /apply the mineralize powders from Mac, I was not even tapping into this brushes potential for five years. While at Mac one day I saw this artist using it for foundation applications and creams and was amazed. Using this as a stippling/buffing brush for studio fix, nars sheer glow, guerlain lingerie de peau, estee lauder double wear is AMAZING. But you have to delevop the proper techniques if you dot the foundation on the face first and then try and swipe or stipple or buff it...it will leave it streaky but if you first stipple the brush into foundation and start stippling into the center and then blending in soft small circles it gives a natural airbrush finish.You can't try and use this like a buffing brush it's a different technique trust me. I use this to first apply foundation -then I stipple my mineralize powder in medium with the same brush to set the foundations and or concealers and once I completely finish the makeup I use this to buff out any harsh lines and fix+ it. To me this is a must have for this reason I would of look like such an idiot if I didn't have this brush when I first started makeup. This makes any lines or harshness go away and leave natural blending just beautiful airbrush like finish. I love using this for everything I recommend this as one of the first high end brushes to buy you can use it for the whole face- in fact I only owned two brushes from there and in total for like four years when I was starting out. Now that I am a freelance makeup artist, I truly appreciate and believe this is one of the best brushes ever. I use this everyday personally and otherwise seriously. Now- since my clientele is picking up I am going to buy another set of 188 and 187 just for clients. Pro's Can be used for foundation,powder, blushes especially cream blushes, bronzer, blending and using on models face, arms,legs, back and shoulders and my favorite chest especially those who have breakouts there with Mac face and body foundation because sponges waste product and too time consuming on sets. Doesn't waste product I use this over a beauty blender. Cleans easily mine never stained on the white bristles it always washes out. Airbrush finish and good for no makeup looks Con's Embrassing to pick bristle hairs of clients ( which is why I am scared of buying and using the new ones on them ) and annoying when I was in a rush and using it. ( it stopped after a year)

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this brush! I can't say that enough. :) Normally I use a BB to apply foundation because I like the way the BB sheers out the makeup, but when I need or want extra coverage, I go for the 187 Duo Fiber brush. Let me just say that MAC brushes are an investment. I think I've had this brush for maybe 6 years or so, and it's just as good as the day I bought it. If you take care of your brushes, they will take care of you. They should last you AT LEAST 5 years, possibly 10 if you aren't rough with them. I hope and pray that MAC doesn't go the way of so many other companies and start making cheaper products just to make a few extra pennies. I can't stand it when companies cheat their loyal customers. But so far, so good with MAC and their brushes.

About reviewer (272 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

i use this for my studio fix and it works very well. distributes the perfect amount of product. occasionally when i go off my studio fix kicks i clean off the brush and use it as a blush brush....it's a very versatile blush and is aestheically pleasing IMO.

About reviewer (67 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown